Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Joe Martin Stage Race - NE

USA, May 9-11, 2003

Main Page     Results     Previous Stage     Next Stage

May 10: Devil's Den State Park Hill climb ITT, 2.5 miles; 900ft

Palmer-Komer a power-pedaller; Mac-Cartney time in the men's

By Kristy Scrymgeour

Lyne Gaggioli's spell in the leader's jersey was threatened by Susan Palmer-Komer (Genesis Scuba / FFCC), who powered up the hill this afternoon to take the stage win. Gaggioli did enough to keep her jersey after placing third in the TT, seven seconds behind Palmer-Komar and two seconds behind Grace Fleury (Genesis-Scuba) who took second place.

McCartney backed up his strong performance by putting another eight seconds into Wohlberg in the afternoon TT. Wohlberg finished equal with Stephen Cate (Los Malos Racing Club) in third place. McCartney will therefore take the leader's jersey into tomorrow's criterium which is a 1.6km course that the men race for 90 minutes + three laps.


1 Jason McCartney (USA) 7 Up / Maxxis Team                  8.46
2 Steven Cate (USA) Los Malos Racing Club                   0.08
2 Eric Wohlberg (Can) Saturn Cycling
4 Adam Bergman (USA) Bianci / Grand Performance             0.15
5 Adham Sbeih (USA) Sierra Nevada/Clif Bar                  0.16
6 John Lieswyn (USA) 7 Up / Maxxis Team                     0.28
7 Brice Jones (USA) 7 up / Maxxis Team                      0.29
8 Stephen Tilford (USA) Unattached                          0.31
9 Ben Brooks (Aus) Jelly Belly/Carlsbad Clothing            0.38
10 Jason Waddell (USA) Los Malos Racing Club                0.46
11 Paul Ellis (USA) Bianchi / Grand Performance             0.49
12 Jacob Rosenbarger (USA) Jittery Joe's Coffee             0.53
13 Joseph Hill (USA) Big Shark Racing                       1.02
13 Brian Jensen (USA) River City Racing Club                1.02
15 Peter Knoop (USA) Memphis Motorwerks                     1.04
16 William Stolte (USA) Heartland Road Racing Club          1.07
16 Aron Huerta (USA) Mathis Brothers
18 Jason Pratt (USA) Los Malos Racing Club                  1.12
19 Chad Cagle (USA) Team CTE (Cement Test Equipment)        1.19
20 Aaron Smathers (USA) Los Malos Racing Club               1.22
21 Troy Dunton (USA) Northwest Cycling Club                 1.25
22 Kirk Albers (USA) Jelly Belly / Carlsbad Clothing        1.27
23 Thomas Luke (USA) Kansas City Bicycle Club               1.30
23 Douglas Plumer (USA) Heartland Road Racing Club
25 Blake McMahon (USA) Team Power Train                     1.33
25 Eric Murphy (USA) Mercy Cycling Team
27 Clark Butcher (USA) Mercy Cycling Team                   1.38
28 Michael Nelson (USA) Northwest Cycling Club              1.39
29 Kurt Fletcher (USA) Dogfish Racing Team                  1.41
30 Alan Craddock (USA) River City Racing Club               1.42
30 Jeremy Sartain (USA) Bianchi / Grand Performance
32 Mathew Ankney (USA) CTE                                  1.43
33 Jason Ozenberger (USA) Dogfish                           1.46
34 Arjuna Flenner (USA) Columbia Bike Club Race Team        1.48
35 Peter Beland (USA) Velo Project                          1.51
36 Joshua Johnson (USA) Big Shark Racing                    1.54
37 Shadd Smith (USA) Bike Source                            1.55
38 Joseph Spragins (USA) Mercy Cycling Team                 2.01
39 Anuthee Huffstetter (USA) Lucky Lounge                   2.04
39 Daniel Kaukola (USA) Los Malos Racing Club
41 Zachary Lytle (USA) Mercy Cycling Team                   2.05
42 Russell Tolle (USA) River City Racing Club               2.07
43 Andrew Malcom (USA) River City Racing Club               2.11
44 Jonathan Korzekwa (USA) Mercy Cycling Team               2.12
45 Lynn Neir (USA) Kansas City Bicycle Club                 2.13
46 Christopher Johnson (USA) Whole Foods/Heartland          2.18
47 Ivan Dominguez (Cub) Saturn Cycling                      2.20
48 Barry Lee (USA) Quattro Aussie                           2.28
49 Craig Wohlschlaeger (USA) Big Shark Racing               2.49
50 Eric Warnsman (USA) Northwest Cycling Club               2.54
51 Bryce Mead (USA) Bianchi / Grand Performance             3.03
52 Charles Huff (USA) Ozark Cycling Club                    3.14
DNF Chris Fischer (USA) Jelly Belly/Carlsbad Clothing
DNF Robert Smith (USA) Big Shark Racing
DNF Jay Blankenship (USA) River City Racing Club
DNF Doug Greek (USA) Ozark Cycling Club
DNF Justin Green (USA) DLow Racing
DNF W. Shawn Harris (USA) Team Diabetic / Mapei
DNF Todd Herriott (USA) Fior Di Frutta
DNF Christopher Hulse (USA) Big Shark Racing
DNF Travis Jones (USA) TPRT
DNF Joshua Kerkhof (USA) Mercy Cycling Team
DNF Billy Kurtz (USA) Lucky Lounge
DNF Michael Lange (USA) Back Yard Burgers Cycling Club
DNF Nathan Rogut (USA) Mercy Cycling Team
DNF Russ Walker (USA) Mercy Cycling Team
1 Susan Palmer-Komer (Can) Genesis Scuba / FFCC            10.22
2 Grace Fleury (USA) Genesis Scuba / FFCC                   0.05
3 Lynn Gaggioli (USA) Velo Bella                            0.07
4 Amy Moore (USA) Saturn                                    0.34
5 Andrea Hannos (Can) RONA - Esker                          0.49
6 Joan Wilson (USA) TDS Cycling Team                        0.51
6 Sarah Tillotson (USA)
8 Catherine Walberg (USA) Jamba Juice                       0.57
9 Andrea Ratkovic (USA) Mathis Brothers                     1.05
10 Helen Kelly (Aus) TDS Cycling Team                       1.15
11 Alison McNulty (USA) St. Louis Cyclones                  1.19
12 Magen Long (USA) OBRU                                    1.20
13 Heather Brice (USA) St Louis Cyclones                    1.28
13 Sarah Faulkner (USA) United Youth Sports
15 Candice Blickem (USA) Genesis Scuba / FFCC               1.31
16 Christine White (USA) TDS Cycling Team                   1.41
17 Larssey Staley (USA) Genesis Scuba                       2.23
18 Shawn Heidgen (USA) TDS Cycling Team                     2.25
18 Jennifer Purcell (USA) Team LaS'port
20 Emily Gloeckner (USA) TDS Cycling Team                   2.34
21 Shannon Koch (USA) Team LaS'port                         2.59
22 Kelly Benjamin (USA) ABD Cycling Team                    3.31
22 Priscilla Cazer (USA) Mercy Cycling Team
24 Kristina Henne (USA) Mercy Cycling Team                  3.44
DNF Vivian Chwalinski (USA) Mercy Cycling Team
DNF Amanda Lawrence (USA) (null)
DNF Beth Leasure (USA) Team Velo Cups
DNF Amyazellie Tremelling (USA) C-4 Racing
DNF Jennifer Cooper (USA) Genesis Scuba / FFCC
DNF Megan Elliott (USA) Saturn