Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Joe Martin Stage Race - NE

USA, May 9-11, 2003

Main Page     Results     Next Stage

Stage 1 - May 9: Fayetteville-Fayetteville, 113/70 miles; 5,400ft/3,500ft climbing (M/W)

Wohlberg and Gaggioli strong in the South

By Kristy Scrymgeour

Saturn Cycling Team's Eric Wohlberg took the first stage of the Joe Martin Memorial Stage race today in Fayetteville, AK. The three day, four stage race wasted no time in providing a challenge as it opened up with a grueling 180 kilometer stage consisting of 5400 feet of climbing including the 15km climb to the top of Artists Point. It was on this climb that Wohlberg, Jason McCartney (7UP/Maxxis) and Ben Brooks (Jelly Belly) separated themselves from an initial break of 18 that had formed at the 80km mark.

Wohlberg, coming off a full week of fast criteriums down south, powered to the finish to take the win ahead of Brooks and McCartney. Cyclingnews caught up with Wohlberg after the Shelby Criterium last Saturday where he took second place behind Lieswyn, despite being exhausted from two weeks of solid racing. Wohlberg showed no fatigue today, however, with an impressive victory. Tomorrow is a double day with another difficult stage starting early in the morning, taking the riders 150km and up 1500ft, plus a 4km uphill Time Trial in the afternoon.

In the women's race, Lynn Gaggioli, last year's overall winner, took the honors over Sue Palmer-Komar (Genesis-Scuba) and Candice Blickem (Genesis-Scuba) in a 116km effort which included 3500ft of climbing. Palmer is back in the US after a successful Fleche Wallonne, where she placed second in the World Cup event. On the domestic scene, Blickem has enjoyed recent success winning the Athens Twilight Criterium and putting in strong performances throughout the Southeast last week. Like the men, the women will also tackle a difficult double stage day tomorrow. First up is a 113km Road Race, followed by the same 4km Time Trial.


1 Eric Wohlberg (Can) Saturn Cycling                   4.31.58
2 Ben Brooks (Aus) Jelly Belly/Carlsbad Clothing          0.04
3 Jason McCartney (USA) 7 Up / Maxxis Team
4 Brice Jones (USA) 7 up / Maxxis Team                    4.07
5 Eric Murphy (USA) Mercy Cycling Team
6 Steven Cate (USA) Los Malos Racing Club
7 Adam Bergman (USA) Bianci / Grand Performance
8 Kirk Albers (USA) Jelly Belly / Carlsbad Clothing       8.26
9 John Lieswyn (USA) 7 Up / Maxxis Team
10 Chris Fischer (USA) Jelly Belly/Carlsbad Clothing
11 Adham Sbeih (USA) Sierra Nevada/Clif Bar
12 Peter Knoop (USA) Memphis Motorwerks
13 Chad Cagle (USA) Team CTE (Cement Test Equipment)
14 Jason Waddell (USA) Los Malos Racing Club
15 Joseph Hill (USA) Big Shark Racing
16 Arjuna Flenner (USA) Columbia Bike Club Race Team
17 Mathew Ankney (USA) CTE
18 Brian Jensen (USA) River City Racing Club
19 Aron Huerta (USA) Mathis Brothers                      8.37
20 Russ Walker (USA) Mercy Cycling Team
21 William Stolte (USA) Heartland Road Racing Club
22 Michael Nelson (USA) Northwest Cycling Club
23 Jeremy Sartain (USA) Bianchi / Grand Performance      13.36
24 Shadd Smith (USA) Bike Source                         15.03
25 Thomas Luke (USA) Kansas City Bicycle Club
26 Zachary Lytle (USA) Mercy Cycling Team
27 Alan Craddock (USA) River City Racing Club
28 Aaron Smathers (USA) Los Malos Racing Club
29 Blake McMahon (USA) Team Power Train
30 Jason Pratt (USA) Los Malos Racing Club
31 Peter Beland (USA) Velo Project
32 Ivan Dominguez (Cub) Saturn Cycling
33 Stephen Tilford (USA) Unattached                      16.50
34 Kurt Fletcher (USA) Dogfish Racing Team
35 Troy Dunton (USA) Northwest Cycling Club
36 Joseph Spragins (USA) Mercy Cycling Team              22.06
37 Clark Butcher (USA) Mercy Cycling Team
38 Andrew Malcom (USA) River City Racing Club
39 Nathan Rogut (USA) Mercy Cycling Team
40 Craig Wohlschlaeger (USA) Big Shark Racing
41 Jacob Rosenbarger (USA) Jittery Joe's Coffee
42 Barry Lee (USA) Quattro Aussie
43 Anuthee Huffstetter (USA) Lucky Lounge
44 Daniel Kaukola (USA) Los Malos Racing Club
45 Lynn Neir (USA) Kansas City Bicycle Club
46 Christopher Johnson (USA) Whole Foods/Heartland
47 Joshua Kerkhof (USA) Mercy Cycling Team               23.36
48 Christopher Hulse (USA) Big Shark Racing              23.50
49 Joshua Johnson (USA) Big Shark Racing                 29.41
50 Billy Kurtz (USA) Lucky Lounge
51 Robert Smith (USA) Big Shark Racing                   30.05
52 Charles Huff (USA) Ozark Cycling Club
53 Jason Ozenberger (USA) Dogfish                      1.03.06
54 Jay Blankenship (USA) River City Racing Club        1.03.14
55 Russell Tolle (USA) River City Racing Club
56 Eric Warnsman (USA) Northwest Cycling Club          1.05.20
57 Jonathan Korzekwa (USA) Mercy Cycling Team          1.08.40
DNF Paul Ellis (USA) Bianchi / Grand Performance
DNF Doug Greek (USA) Ozark Cycling Club
DNF Justin Green (USA) DLow Racing
DNF W. Shawn Harris (USA) Team Diabetic / Mapei
DNF Todd Herriott (USA) Fior Di Frutta
DNF Travis Jones (USA) TPRT
DNF Michael Lange (USA) Back Yard Burgers Cycling Club
DNF Bryce Mead (USA) Bianchi / Grand Performance
DNF Douglas Plumer (USA) Heartland Road Racing Club

1 Lynn Gaggioli (USA) Velo Bella                       2.58.36
2 Susan Palmer-Komer (Can) Genesis Scuba / FFCC
3 Candice Blickem (USA) Genesis Scuba / FFCC              2.52
4 Amy Moore (USA) Saturn
5 Helen Kelly (Aus) TDS Cycling Team
6 Magen Long (USA) OBRU
7 Catherine Walberg (USA) Jamba Juice
8 Heather Brice (USA) St Louis Cyclones
9 Andrea Hannos (Can) RONA - Esker
10 Grace Fleury (USA) Genesis Scuba / FFCC
11 Sarah Tillotson (USA)
12 Joan Wilson (USA) TDS Cycling Team
13 Sarah Faulkner (USA) United Youth Sports
14 Larssey Staley (USA) Genesis Scuba                     6.39
15 Alison McNulty (USA) St. Louis Cyclones
16 Andrea Ratkovic (USA) Mathis Brothers
17 Shawn Heidgen (USA) TDS Cycling Team                  12.37
18 Christine White (USA) TDS Cycling Team
19 Emily Gloeckner (USA) TDS Cycling Team
20 Megan Elliott (USA) Saturn
21 Jennifer Purcell (USA) Team LaS'port
22 Kelly Benjamin (USA) ABD Cycling Team                 21.06
23 Shannon Koch (USA) Team LaS'port                      21.14
24 Priscilla (Liz) Cazer (USA) Mercy Cycling Team        23.08
25 Kristina Henne (USA) Mercy Cycling Team               39.55
26 Vivian Chwalinski (USA) Mercy Cycling Team            43.42
DNF Amanda Lawrence (USA) (null)
DNF Beth Leasure (USA) Team Velo Cups
DNF Amyazellie Tremelling (USA) C-4 Racing
DNF Jennifer Cooper (USA) Genesis Scuba / FFCC