Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Ecology Center Classic - NE

Missoula, Montana, USA, May 23-26, 2003

Main Page    Results    Previous Stage  

Stage 5 - May 26: Bonner Park Criterium

No changes overall on final day of Ecology Center Classic

Guay, Shaffer win Bonner Park Criterium, Swindlehurst, Broeder win overall

The 2003 Ecology Center Classic wrapped up today with the Stage 5 Bonner Park Criterium. Though there weren't any major changes in the overall standings, the day did see results in the Men Pro/1/2 and Women Open events that were very much team results, as Ryan Guay (Navigators) and Joy Shaffer (Los Gatos Women's Racing Club) emerged victorious.

Unlike most race-closing criteriums, which turn out to be little more than processionals, the Bonner Park race has had a major impact on the race in years past. Due to its unique 'miss-and-out' format, in which the last rider is eliminated each lap until just five remain, the chances of making up - or losing - significant time due to bonuses is much greater than the typical criterium. In fact, in 2002, Broadmark Capital's Jonny Sundt ended up making up a seemingly insurmountable deficit - with the help of his teammates - to overtake and pass Navigators' rider Brian Sheedy as the overall winner.

However, this time around, Navigators was taking no chances, said team member Ryan Guay: "Today, our goal was to keep the leader's jersey, and secondarily to get the stage." Thanks to the hard work of Guay and his three Navigators teammates, both goals were achievable. Jeff Louder and Glen Mitchell set a blistering tempo at the front through the early going, guaranteeing that Swindlehurst would keep the overall lead; eventually all but five riders- Navigators' Guay and Glen Mitchell, plus 5280/Subaru Development leader Colby Pearce, David Richter (Recycled Cycles Racing), and Jonathan Baker (Pro Peloton Velo). The final two laps went slowly, as the two Navigators pros planned their strategy for the finish; going into the last turn, Guay attacked and held it to the finish, making it a perfect four days for the team- one win per team member, plus the overall victory. Not surprisingly, Guay said afterwards that "the team really enjoyed the race, and have already said they'll be back next year." The Navigators team next competes in the new CapTech Classic National Racing Calendar event in Richmond, Virginia.

The Women's event likewise ended with a team tour-de-force, as the Los Gatos Bicycle Racing Club's Joy Shaffer came up with the victory in large part thanks to her mates. With more riders than any other of the teams in the race, Los Gatos kept the tempo hard early, and then launched Shaffer off the front with just a few remaining to solo in to victory while teammate Katheryn Curi covered the remaining four riders in the chase group. It was a succesful strategy, as no serious changes took places overall: Becky Broeder (Intermountain Cycling) retained first place overall over teammate Liza Rachetto and Eva Karau (Team Stampede/Five Valley Velo).


Men Pro/1/2
1 Ryan Guay (Navigators)                         1.06.03
2 David Richter (Recycled Cycles Racing)
3 Colby Pearce (5280/Subaru Development)
4 Jonathan Baker (Pro Peloton Velo)
5 Glen Mitchell (Navigators)
6 Rusty Beall (Health Net)                          0.02
7 Angetti Sheldrake (5280/Subaru Development)       0.04
8 Burke Swindlehurst (Navigators)                   0.06
9 Jim Rucker (Saturn for Seattle)                   0.08
10 Marc Bomhof (Ciclismo/Headwinds)                 0.10
11 Mikkel Bossen (Team Oregon)                      0.12
12 Eric Pardyjak (First Endurance/Contend)          0.14
13 Jeff Louder (Navigators)                         0.16
14 Frank Overton (Pro Peloton Velo)                 0.18
15 Ian MacGregor (Duane Duggan ReMax/Paketa)        0.20
16 Christian Johnson (First Endurance/Contend)      0.22
17 Rankin Holmes (Northern Rockies)                 0.24
18 Joel Biederman (Share the Roads Racing)          0.26
19 Eric Flynn (First Endurance/Contend)             0.28
20 Jason Bethel (Aurora Cycling Club)               0.30
Final General Classification, Men Pro/1/2
1 Burke Swindlehurst (Navigators)                8.05.10
2 Colby Pearce (5280/Subaru Development)            0.43
3 Rusty Beall (Health Net)                          1.59
4 Ryan Guay (Navigators)                            2.08
5 Marc Bomhof (Ciclismo/Headwinds)                  2.34
6 Andrew Minier (Share the Roads Racing)            4.15
7 Zak Grabowski (Hot Tubes Cycling Team)            4.25
8 Scott Herzig (Montana Velo)                       6.15
9 Jonathan Baker (Pro Peloton Velo)                 6.20
10 Frank Overton (Pro Peloton Velo)                 7.17
11 Jim Rucker (Saturn for Seattle)                  7.39
12 Jeff Louder (Navigators)                         8.39
13 Ian MacGregor (Duane Duggan ReMax/Paketa)        9.12
14 Angetti Sheldrake (5280/Subaru Development)     10.17
15 Glen Mitchell (Navigators)                      11.03
16 Tom Crawford (Broadmark Capital)                13.03
17 Eric Pardyjak (First Endurance/Contend)         13.31
18 Robert Veroba (Bicicsport Calgary)              14.05
19 Cameron McKnight (Edmonton Road and Track)      14.13
20 Eric Flynn (First Endurance/Contend)            15.35
Women Open
1 Joy Shaffer (Los Gatos Bicycle Racing Club)    4.21.00
2 Liza Rachetto (Intermountain Cycling)             0.20
3 Katheryn Curi (Los Gatos Bicycle Racing Club)
4 Allison Beall (             
5 Becky Broeder (Intermountain Cycling)        
6 Renee Eastman (Vitamin Cottage Cycling)           0.22
7 Sima Trapp (Team Goldy's)                         0.24
8 Eva Karau (Team Stampede/Five Valley Velo)        0.26
9 Mary Kneeland (Intermountain Cycling)             0.28
10 Eryn Hanna (Los Gatos Bicycle Racing Club)       0.30
11 Heidi Stamm (Intermountain Cycling)              0.32
12 Marianne Holt (Nalley Automotive Group)          0.34
13 Martha Meyer (Vitamin Cottage Cycling)           0.36
14 Carolyn Eller (Recycled Cycles Racing)           0.38
15 Troy Watson (Cycle Couriers of San Francisco)    0.40
16 Suz Weldon (Ashmead/King)                        0.42
17 Kim Sawyer (Nalley Automotive Group)             0.44
18 Kathleen Jones (Intermountain Cycling)           0.46
DNF Margie Legg (Team Stampede/Five Valley Velo)
DNF Elizabeth Nettles (Recycled Cycles Racing)
Final General Classification
1 Becky Broeder (Intermountain Cycling)          6.18.47
2 Liza Rachetto (Intermountain Cycling)             2.32
3 Eva Karau (Team Stampede/Five Valley Velo)        3.54
4 Katheryn Curi (Los Gatos Bicycle Racing Club)     4.13
5 Mary Kneeland (Intermountain Cycling)             4.59
6 Sima Trapp (Team Goldy's)                         5.17
7 Suz Weldon (Ashmead/King)                         5.50
8 Joy Shaffer (Los Gatos Bicycle Racing Club)       6.25
9 Eryn Hanna (Los Gatos Bicycle Racing Club)        7.41
10 Renee Eastman (Vitamin Cottage Cycling)         10.24
11 Kim Sawyer (Nalley Automotive Group)            12.59
12 Heidi Stamm (Intermountain Cycling)             14.01
13 Allison Beall (                   15.00
14 Carolyn Eller (Recycled Cycles Racing)          15.23
15 Marianne Holt (Nalley Automotive Group)         21.58
16 Kathleen Jones (Intermountain Cycling)          25.43
17 Martha Meyer (Vitamin Cottage Cycling)          25.52
18 Troy Watson (Cycle Couriers of San Francisco)   41.16