Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Five Valleys Premier Calendar Road Race - NE

Great Britain, June 15, 2003

2002 Results   Results    Past winners

Lovatt claims Five Valleys

Mark Lovatt (Life Repair Team) beat Nalco Elliot (Pinarello RT) and John Tanner (Life Repair Team) to win the Five Valleys road race, a British Premier Calendar event.

An early break of Mark Lovatt, David McCann and James Flanagan (Team Milton Keynes) went away after 13 miles. They were joined by Rory Wyley and then Huw Pritchard (Angliasport) got across to the break coming down the Swansea Valley after 56 miles but got dropped with James Flanagan on the climb of the Rhigos.

A regrouping occurred descending the Afan Valley with a group of ten riders at the front including Nalco Elliott, Matt Stephens and local rider George Rose, This group increased in size on the first of five laps of the finishing circuit at Cwmavon with David McCann still at the head of affairs for the next two laps, only to be caught by a small group containing both John Tanner & Mark Lovatt from Life Repair. On the final ascent of Ynysygwas, Mark Lovatt attacked and quickly got a gap. Although being chased by Nalco Elliot and John Tanner, Lovatt held on for his second victory in this prestigious event.


1 Mark Lovatt (Life Repair Team)     4.43.22
2 Malcolm Elliot (Pinarello RT)         0.14
3 John Tanner (Life Repair Team)        
4 Martin Ford (Artic Shorter)           0.23
5 David McCann (Team Endurasport)       
6 Danny Axford (Parrot Print)           
7 Roy Chamberlain (Team Milton Keynes)  
8 Matthew Stephens (Sigma Sport)        
9 Andy Collis (Team Litchfield)         2.01
10 Shaun Snoddin (JE James)             
11 Mat Watch (Angliasport)              3.47
12 Dave Worthington (    
13 Gavin Poupart (Parrot Print)         
14 George Rose (Plan B Racing)          
15 Ben Greenwood (Life Repair)          
16 Rory Wyley (London Irish)            
17 Gary Dodd (Sigma Sport)              6.58
18 Adam Broyad (Artic)                  8.21
19 David Berkley (Sigma Sport)          
20 Steve Lampier (Team Cycle Logic)     9.14

1 David McCann (Team
2 Mark Lovatt (Life Repair
3 Rory Wyley (London Irish

Past winners

2002 John Tanner