Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

International Cycling Classic/Superweek - NE

Eastern Wisconsin, USA, July 11-27, 2003

Main Page    Results    Previous Day     Next Day

Day 3 - July 13: First National Bank Maritime Bay Bike Classic

O'Donnell pulls off surprise victory

Reporting by Superweek

Patrick O'Donnell of the West Virginia Pro Cycling Team pulled off a surprise victory at the First National Bank Maritime Bay Bike Classic on a beautiful evening in Manitowoc, Wisconsin. An enthusiastic crowd of over 12,000 was on-hand to see the race contested on a classic flat, four-cornered criterium course.

O'Donnell was a member in an unlikely 19-man breakaway that developed half-way through this 90-lap race. The break built leads as high as 30 seconds until the main field took up the chase in earnest with 20 laps remaining. The gap to the leaders was quickly whittled down from 29 to 15 seconds over the span of five laps. This development was not lost on the members of the breakaway and the smooth coordination that had enabled them to hold their lead began to break down.

With 10 laps remaining six riders dropped their breakaway companions, leaving the remaining riders to be caught by the main field. Harm Jansen, winner of last night's International Cycling Classic race in Menasha, was among the lead group and seemed well-positioned for his second consecutive win. However, on the last lap O'Donnell powered away to the win and a jubilant celebration. Belgian Karel Vereecke (Soenens Germond) crossed the line in 2nd place ahead of Jansen.

Viktor Rapinski (Saturn) spent much of the day working at the front of the field and won the final sprint to take 7th place and retain the overall lead and the yellow jersey. Frank Pipp (Athletes By Design) of Madison retained the red jersey as the leader in the sprint points competition.


1 Patrick O'Donnell (USA) West Virginia
2 Karel Vereecke (Bel) Soenens-Germond
3 Harm Jansen (Ned)
4 Frank Dierking (USA) Athletes by Design
5 Carlos Vargas (USA) Saturn Development
6 Nick Reistad (USA) IS Corp
7 Viktor Rapinski (Blr) Saturn
8 Frank Pipp (USA) Athletes By Design
9 Chris Baumann (USA) Sierra Nevada - Clif Bar
10 Julien Smink (Ned)
11 Jim Baldesare (USA) West Virginia Pro Cycling
12 Paul Martin (USA) Gomart
13 Kurt Rees (USA) Athletes By Design
14 Marco Aledia (USA) Lemond Fitness/Captain CRA-Z Soap
15 Robin Veen (Ned)
16 Brian Shanning (USA) Saturn Development
17 Phillip Vereecke (Bel) Soenens-Germond
18 Nathan Snyder (USA)
19 Gustavo Carillo (USA) Bianchi/Grand Performance
20 Kasper Larsen (Den) Glud & Marstrand Horsens
21 Robert Polski (USA) KB Home
22 Filiberto Herrera (Mex) Impresionas Posadas
23 Dave Fuentes (USA) Sierra Nevada - Clif Bar
24 Alex Robles (USA) Jimmy D. Racing
25 Colin Beardsley (USA) McGuire/SF Cycle Couriers