Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

International Cycling Classic/Superweek - NE

Eastern Wisconsin, USA, July 11-27, 2003

Main Page    Results    Previous Day     Next Day

Day 14 - July 24: Aurora Heritage Square Criterium

In't Ven takes crash-marred Heritage Square crit

Belgian Danny In't Ven won the Aurora Heritage Square Criterium on July 23 in a race that was marred by a bad crash just as the bell rang for the last lap. It was In't Ven's second win at the 2003 International Cycling Classic. Because of the nature of the crash, race officials were forced to neutralize the race before the final sprint. None of the injuries were thought to be life-threatening.

The crash marked a somber end to what had been a dramatic race in front of an estimated 16,000 enthusiastic spectators in Sheboygan. New Zealand's Gordon McCauley (Schroeder Iron) put on a gutsy performance that started with a two-man break with Tim Larkin (Ofoto-Lombardi). The two riders held off the field for more than 25 laps, but when the field caught them McCauley immediately jumped into a four-man break with Adam Bergman, In't Ven, and Kasper Klostergaard Larsen of Denmark. This foursome rode away and had nearly lapped the field by the finish although McCauley was suffering from his incredible effort. At the finish, McCauley was credited with third place.

Viktor Rapinski finished seventh to clinch his second-consecutive overall title. Frank Pipp also retains a stranglehold on the sprint points competition and will wear the red jersey at tomorrow's race in Kenosha, Bank One Food Folks & Spokes.


1 Danny In't Ven (Bel) ICSA
2 Kasper Larsen (De) Glud & Marstrand Horsens
3 Gordon McCauley (NZl) Schroeder Iron
4 Adam Bergman (USA) Jelly Belly-Carlsbad Clothing
5 Igor Abakoumov (Bel) Van Hemert Cycling
6 Philip Vereecke (Bel) Soenens-Germond
7 Viktor Rapinski (Blr) Saturn
8 Jurgen Van Loocke (Bel) St. Martinuss Cycling Team
9 Tim Lefebvre (Can) Jet Fuel Coffee
10 Jason Waddell (USA) Mathis Bros.