Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

International Cycling Classic/Superweek - NE

Eastern Wisconsin, USA, July 11-27, 2003

Main Page    Results    Next Day

Day 1 - July 11: NetVizion-Hewlett Packard Beverly Hills Cycling Classic

By Andy Garrison

Rapinski drives the winning break
Photo: © Superweek

The 2003 International Cycling Classic kicked off with a dominant performance by three veterans of the event at the inaugural NetVizion-Hewlett Packard Beverly Hills Cycling Classic. On a beautiful evening for racing, an estimated crowd of 12,000 saw the 2001 overall winner at Superweek, Jonas Carney (Prime Alliance), and last year's champion, Viktor Rapinski (Saturn), join with Andy Crater (Lemond Fitness/Captin CRA-Z Soap) to establish an early break from the field.

Despite a hard chase from the field, the three riders powered away to gain a lap by the midway point of the race. All other action in the field was controlled by the Saturn and Lemond Fitness teams who had representatives in nearly all other chase attempts. Carlos Vargas (Saturn Development) and Bill Innes (Lemond Fitness) mounted a late break to claim 4th and 5th places, respectively, but it was Carney winning the field sprint over Rapinski to take the win.


1 Jonas Carney (Prime Alliance)
2 Viktor Rapinski (Saturn)
3 Andy Crater (Lemond Fitness/Captain CRA-Z Soap)
4 Carlos Vargas (Saturn Development)
5 Bill Innes (Lemond Fitness/Captain CRA-Z Soap)
6 Robbie Ventura (United States Postal Service)
7 Marco Aledia (Lemond Fitness/Captain CRA-Z Soap)
8 Robert Polski (KB Home)
9 Gustavo Carillo (Bianchi/Grand Performance)
10 Dave Fuentes (Sierra Nevada - Clif Bar)
11 Patrick Briggs (SRM)
12 Chad Gibson (Cycles de Oro)
14 Josh Kerkoff (Mercy Cycling)
15 Conor Hurley (West Virginia)
16 Paul Martin (Gomart)
17 Alex Robles (Jimmy D. Racing)
18 David Wenger (West Virginia)
19 TBC
20 Josh Carter (Spin City Cycles)
21 Josh Seldeman
22 Eric Tomlinson (Grove Dental)
23 TBC
24 Ben Early (Carolina VW)
25 Nick Reistad (IS Corp)
1 Adam Biwan (USA) 
2 John Eggebrecht (USA) IS Corp 
3 Ulric de Young (USA) Trek-VW Midwest 
4 Jason Carr (USA) Nova Cycle Sport 
5 Chris Goettig (USA) IS Corp 
6 Joshua Nagode (USA) PCW 
7 Logan Onken (USA) Hammergel 
8 Eric Hardrath (USA) Oschner