Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

40th Tour of Kansas City - NE

Kansas, USA, August 9-10, 2003

Main Page    Results    Previous Stage  

Stage 2 - August 10: Overland Park Grand Prix, Criterium

Images by Kim Morris/

If 7-Up riders Dan Schmatz, Brice Jones and John Lieswin were expecting an easy roll, they were in for a surprise.
Photo ©: Kim Morris
Schmatz and his teammates learned early on that where they went, a Mathis Brothers jersey was ready to respond.
Photo ©: Kim Morris
Throughout two days of racing, Lieswyn and his teammates repeatedly attacked in an effort to escape...
Photo ©: Kim Morris
...only to be chased down by Steve Cates and Jason Waddell from Norman, Oklahoma-based Mathis Brothers..
Photo ©: Kim Morris
Will Ross (Peloton) finished 6th in Sunday’s OP Crit, the highest placed non-7-UP or Mathis rider.
Photo ©: Kim Morris
In the end, a first and third place finish gave Jones the points necessary to claim the overall Tour of Kansas City crown.
Photo ©: Kim Morris
Megan Long (The Bicycle Store) contributed to a fine showing from Sooner State riders with two first place finishes on the women’s side.
Photo ©: Kim Morris


1 John Lieswyn (7-Up/Maxxis)
2 Brice Jones (7-Up/Maxxis)
3 Dan Schmatz (7-Up/Maxxis)
4 Jason Waddell (Mathis Brothers)
5 Steve Cate (Mathis Brothers)
6 Will Ross (Peloton)
7 Shadd Smith (Bike Source)
8 Matt Gates (Flat City Cycling)
9 Brian Jensen (Bike Source / Heartland)
10 Jeremy Sartain (St Paul Bike Racing)
11 Dale Sedgwick (St Paul Bicycling)
12 William Stolte (Bike Source / Heartland)
13 Joe Hill (Big Shark)
14 Charlie Weisel (Unattached)
15 Aaron Smathers (Mathis Brothers)
16 Brad Huff (Ozark)
17 Jeff Hartman (Big Shark)
18 Frank Jakofcich (KCBC)
19 Michael Lange (Back Yard Burger)
20 Phil Gronniger (KCBC)
Cat 3
1 Wes Hartman (Iowa State)
2 Roger Lomshek (Tailwind Cycling)
3 Stephen Rouff (Team X)
4 Gergory Saunders (Cte)
5 Steven Muhle (Unattached)
6 Tosh Yoshino (St Louis Cycling)
7 Thad Whalen (KCOI)
8 Lance Suzlen (Team X)
9 Aaron Pool (Trek High Gear)
10 Tim Way (Unattached)
11 Eric Prim (Unattached)
12 Jon Nelson (Unattached)
Cat 4/5
1 James Pirtle (Dogfish)
2 Phil Mann (Depaw Uninversity)
3 Aaron Bolton (Unattached)
4 Jon Randell (Ahamo Cycling)
5 Arian O'Hara (KCOI Racing)
6 Jeremy Stitt (Tulsa Wheelmen)
7 Michah Newell (Unattached)
8 Rick Barrett (Husker Road)
9 Jeff Seese (KCOI Racing)
10 Aaron Johnson (Big Shark)
11 Rob Ravencamp (Midwest & Boulevard)
12 Matt Cunningham (Midwest & Boulevard)
Masters 40+
1 Bruce Tanner (KCBC)
2 Peter Erdoes (Mathis Brothers)
3 Richard Hostert (RCRC)
4 Timothy Carrigg (Tulsa Wheelman)
5 Janne Hamalainen (Tulsa Wheelman)
6 Lonnie Kennedy (Dogfish)
Masters 50+
1 Dean Parker (Team X)
2 Jim Mcdonald (Columbia Bike Team)
3 John Ashton (River City Racing)
4 Raymond Sapp (Columbia Bike Club)
Women 1/2/3
1 Magen Long (The Bicycle Store)
2 Stacey Bertsch (Ozark Cycling Club)
3 Ali Mcnulty (St Louis Cyclones)
4 Heather Brice (St Louis Cyclones)
5 Sarah Bickerstaff (Penn State U Cycling)
6 Merrill Sapp (Zia Vell)
7 Liz Cuzer (Mercy)
8 Elizabeth Morse (The Bicycle Store)
9 Trina Brock (Rcrc)
10 Katie Arehart (Dogfish)
Women 4
1 Jill Thole (Bikes & Boards)
2 Kim Sheldon (Oz Cycling)
3 Megan Hottman (Defined Fitness)
Beginner Men
1 Jim Livingston (Unattached)
2 Craig Hoppe (Unattached)
3 Michael Turner (Bikes & Board)
Beginner Women
1 Leslie Robertson (Unattached)
2 Sarah Burnett (Unattached)
3 Amber Greek (Ozark Cycling)
Final General Classification
1 Brice Jones (7-Up/Maxxis)
2 John Lieswyn (7-Up/Maxxis)
3 Steve Cate (Mathis Brothers)
4 Dan Schmatz (7-Up/Maxxis)
5 Jason Waddell (Mathis Brothers)