Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

32nd Gran Premio Capodarco - 1.6

Italy, August 16, 2003


Australian Team Report

By Brian Stephens, AIS U23 manager

The AIS Mapei Aqua Australian team raced in the Marche region of Italy at a well known, tough race at Capodarco. This race always attracts huge crowds and this year was no exception with another very hot day setting the scene.

The course consists of five flat laps along the beach, followed by seven laps making eight times up the 3km Capodarco climb, with the final ascent being the finish.

Our sprinters went after the sprint classification early with Aaron Kemps winning two and Nic Sanderson one, eventually running 2nd and 3rd in this competition. On the hard circuit, Lee Godfrey went with an early break but was bought back with five laps remaining. Gene Bates and Dave Betts joined the action until two laps to go when Gene cracked. A group of nine went clear on the 2nd last climb with Dave trying to bridge but being caught by the bunch.

The nine stayed clear with Mexican, Moses Chavez Aldape, winning for his Italian team, Calzatura. Dave came in in the next chase group to run 25th.

Results - 182 km

1 Moises Aldape Chavez (Mex) Rivieva Adriatica Centri Della Calzatura 4.27.00 (40.9 km/h)
2 David Garbelli (Ita) Bergamasca For 3 - Cremasca                       0.10
3 Davide Torosantucci (Ita) Monturano Civitanova Cascinare
4 Stefano Boggia (Ita) Olio Vezza Brunero Boeris
5 Mikhail Teteryuk (Kaz) Nippon Hodo                                     0.15
6 Maurizio Varini (Ita) Dellese Feralpi                                  0.20
7 Valery Korzbarenko (Ukr) Caffè Lunik                                   0.25
8 Vicente Elvira (Spa) Cropusa Ciclobrurgos                              0.30
9 Antonio D'Aniello (Ita) Italfine Podenzano                             0.45
10 Nicola Peccolo (Ita) Marchiol Site Frezza Famila T 2000
11 Davide Silvestri (Ita) Bassano 1892 Parolin
12 Josè Adrian Bonila (Crc) Cropusa Ciclobrurgos
13 Luca Bompadre (Ita) Nippon Hodo
14 Vladimir Efimkin (Rus) Dellese Feralpi
15 Robert Nagy (Svk) P.Nivo Benonetexpres
16 Marco Bicelli (Ita) Alto Adige Sud Tirol As2
17 Ruslan Pidgorgyy (Ukr) Marchiol Site Frezza Famila T 2000
18 Stelvio Michero (Ita) Rivieva Adriatica Centri Della Calzatura
19 Anatoliy Varvaruk (Ukr) Kamen Cremcaffè Kavaimpex
20 Andrey Karpachev (Rus) Viris Vigevano Lomellina
21 Giacomo Cariulo (Ita) Grassi Colnago Vannucci
22 Alessandro Del Fatti (Ita) Vezza Brunero Boeris
23 Luigi Buonfrate (Ita) Marchiol Site Frezza Famila T 2000
24 Stefan Sulser (Swi) Hadimec.Com
25 David Betts (Aus) Australian National Team

Starters: 171
Classified: 57

Courtesy of