Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

25th Vuelta a Burgos - 2.1

Spain, August 11-15, 2003

2002 results     Stage List     Preview    Start List     Past winners

The Stages

  • Stage 1 - August 11: Burgos - Miranda de Ebro, 175 km
  • Stage 2 - August 12: Briviesca - Altotero, 169 km
  • Stage 3 - August 13: Huerta del Rey - Lagunas de Neila, 162 km
  • Stage 4 - August 14: Medina de Pomar - Medina de Pomar ITT, 14.4 km
  • Stage 5 - August 15: Aranda de Duero - Burgos, 150 km

Burgos offers Vuelta a España preparation

2002 Podium
Photo: © AFP

Fine tuning and preparations for the upcoming Vuelta a España (September 6-28) begin this week with the five-day, five-stage Vuelta a Burgos (UCI 2.1). The race begins Monday , August 11 with an opening road stage from Burgos to Miranda de Ebro, and works its way back to Burgos on Friday, August 15th, offering stages for the climbers, sprinters, and fast men against the clock.

Prior to the the 14.4 kilometre individual time trial (stage 4), the time gains will likely be made on the two mountaintop finishes. Stage 2 finishes atop the Cat. 1 Altotero, followed by stage 3 and the hors catégorie finish at Lagunas de Neila.

Last year's race provided a Spanish podium sweep, with top honours taken by's Francisco Mancebo ahead of José Luis Rubiera (US Postal Service-Berry Floor) and Mikel Zarrabeitia (ONCE-Eroski). This year a similar list of contenders will be present, including US Postal's Roberto Heras, hoping to turn his luck around after a difficult Tour de France, and preparing to tackle the Vuelta a España. Heras will face defending champion Mancebo, as well as fellow Vuelta winners Aitor Gonzalez (Fassa Bortolo) and Angel Casero. Eighteen teams of eight riders each will be present.

Start list
Team Bianchi
Costa Almeria-Paternina
Domina Vacanze-Elitron
Fassa Bortolo
Kelme-Costa Blanca
Labarca 2-Café Baque
Phonak Hearing Systems
Team Telekom
US Postal Service-Berry Floor
Vlaanderen T-Interim

Past winners

2002 Francisco Mancebo (Spa) 
2001 Juan Miguel Mercado (Spa) 
2000 Leonardo Piepoli (Ita) Banesto
1999 Abraham Olano (Spa) ONCE-Deutsche Bank
1998 Abraham Olano (Spa) Banesto
1997 Laurent Jalabert (Fra) ONCE
1996 Tony Rominger (Swi) Mapei
1995 Laurent Dufaux (Swi) Festina
1994 Armand De las Cuevas (Fra) Castorama
1993 Laudelino Cubino (Spa)
1992 Alex Zülle (Swi) ONCE
1991 Pedro Delgado (Spa) Banesto
1990 Marino Lejarreta (Spa) ONCE
1989 Francisco Antequera (Spa) BH
1988 Marino Lejarreta (Spa) Caja Rural
1987 Marino Lejarreta (Spa) Orbea
1986 Marino Lejarreta (Spa) Seat Orbea
1985 José Recio (Spa) Kelme
1984 Federico Echavé (Spa) Teka
1983 Angel De las Heras (Spa) Kelme
1982 José Laguia (Spa) Ciudad Real
1981 Faustino Ruperez (Spa) Zor-Helios Novostil
Past winners by Mario Stiehl,