Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

New Zealand Masters Road Championships

Te Awamutu, April 6, 2003


Bricklebank best in New Zealand Masters Road Championships

By Alan Messenger

Tom Bricklebank made sure there was no loafing in the 60 - 64 Age Category race at the New Zealand Masters Road Championships at te Awamutu yesterday (Sunday). The Aucklander who had finished fifth overall in the Rotorua to Taupo 100k Flyer the previous day broke the field up on the Paterangi Hill only one kilometer from the start. At the finish he crossed the line two minutes clear of John Sunde (Wanganui) with another gap back to a top rider of the sixties, Bob Wilson (New Plymouth). Wayne Hudson, an Auckland Lawyer is set to become Cycling New Zealand's next President and he showed that he's a good cyclist as well, winning the 50-55 Age group race.


Men 35-39, 108km
1 J Burger (Whakatane)             2.45.11
2 G Summers (Tauranga)
3 R Thorley (Morrinsville)
Men 40-44, 108km
1 B Roberts (Auck)                 2.46.07
2 G Westerman (Whakatane)
3 B Van der Griend (Auck)
Men 45-49, 108km
1 B Cowie (Auck)                   2.57.42
2 D Buchanan (Te Awamutu)
3 N Ashcroft (New Plymouth)
Men 54-54  81km
1 W Hudson (Auck)                  2.07.13
2 B Gilliland (Auck)
3 J Badger (Hamilton)
Men 55-59, 81km
1 K McComb (Whakatane)             2.14.03
2 H Donker (Hamilton)
3 A Guyton (Rotorua)
Men 60-64, 54km
1 T Bricklebank (Auck)             1.22.51
2 L Sunde (Wanganui)
3 B Wilson (New Plymouth)
Men 65-69, 54km
1 P Van der Hulst (Hamilton)       1.31.27
2 B McCarthy (Auckland)
3 D Lindesay (Auck)
Men 70-74, 27km
1 G Wright (New Plym)                49.21
Men 75 -79, 27km
1 R Boocock (New Plym)               49.21
2 D Murray (New Plym) 
Men 80 plus, 27km
1 B Christopher (Auck)               57.32 
Women 35 -39, 108km
1 S Fraser (Tauranga)              2.07.00
Women 45-49, 54km
1 D Michels (Auck)                 1.23.38
2 C Taylor (Te Puke)
3 L Goldsack (Taupo)
Women 50-54, 54km
1 G Finnemore (Auck)               1.33.03 
2 E Speak (New Plym  
Women 55-59, 54km
1 D Reynolds (Hamilton)            1.49.14
Women 60-64, 27km
1 M Eager (Auck)                     49.21