Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Tour de Berne - 1.9.2

Switzerland, April 27, 2003

2002 Results   Results    Past winners

Australian team report

By Olivia Gollan

Another great day at the office for the A.I.S. Australian Women's team! After a battle with crosswinds, steep climbs and two very strong Prato riders, I won my first road race in Europe!

Tour de Berne in Switzerland saw 120 elite women start a challenging 112 km course - 4 laps of a 28 km circuit that included a debilitating 1 km climb and lots of gutter action in severe crosswinds. Each lap saw the field splinter over the climb but with some awesome power from Emma James in the second lap to drive us hard onto the climb, a lead group went out to 25 secs very quickly, without local race favourite Nicole Brändli. Oenone Wood, myself, Margaret Hemsley (Nürnberger), Alison Wright (Road Runner), Zoulia Martissova (Prato), Svetlana Boubnenkova (Prato), and three members of the T-Mobile team from the USA were away over the climb.

This group of 10 played around too much and were caught after about 10 km. About 5 km before the same climb on the third lap, Boubnenkova attacked and Oenone was right with her. Kim Anderson (T-Mobile) bridged across to the two climbers and manage to scramble back on after being dropped over the top of the climb.

After winning this race in 2002, Nicole Brändli was keen for a result on home-soil, so with me in tow, she attacked the chase group hard over the climb the 2nd last time and we bridged the gap to the three leaders. So - the winning break was established - two Prato, two Aussies and a T-Mobile.

The bunch were hovering at about the 35sec mark for nearly 40 km, after some stop-start chasing from Nürnberger, Vlaanderen, and some of the smaller teams who missed the break, and T-Mobile who were trying to get another rider up to the break. The chase group was being well controlled by Aussie team-mates Emily Williams and Lorian Graham, and the remainder of the Prato team, who had made the select group of 30.

Brändli, Boubnenkova, Oenone and I were swapping off comfortably. Anderson sat on sensibly, with two riders from two opposing teams there to potentially work her over in the final kilometres. Over the final climb Boubnenkova attacked again and Oenone followed her designated rider. I was keeping all eyes on Brändli.

As the K.O.M. approached, Brändli attacked with me in behind, and we bridged up to Oenone and Boubnenkova, with Anderson struggling about 100 metres behind. I sprinted to the top to claim the K.O.M. prize for the race. Oenone was now falling behind, and chasing a 50 metre gap to try and get the two Prato riders and myself back. I knew I had them covered in the sprint but was a bit edgy, with the usual counter-attacking going non-stop in the final 7 km. I could hear James [Victor, team director] encouraging Oenone to try and get back to us, but I knew she had done an awesome job covering lots of moves. It was going to be up to me now.

The Prato riders had tried every move in the book to get one of them clear. I managed to cover everything and with a block headwind into the 400 metre finish straight, I was able to hold back until the final 100 metres and come off Brändli and take my victory salute.

An awesome time trial from Oenone over the last 10 km saw her hang onto 4th place. But my smile for the win wasn't nearly as grand as Emily Williams' when she gapped the chase group over the final few kilometres and came in for 6th place, with the hard chasing group only 30 metres behind.

I feel like a broken record, but I have to say it again - this A.I.S. Aussie team is working as well, if not better than all of the 'Pro' teams and others in the peloton. Today we won the Mountain prize, Sprints prize and the Race. NICE! Not a bad job we have!

I'm off to the Czech Republic as a guest rider with the Aussie contingent in the Italian professional team 'Road Runner/Guercotti', whilst the Novellara based A.I.S. group use the next three weeks to prepare for the all important Tour de l'Aude, France in May, which is the first real test of tour racing for the season.



1 Olivia Gollan (Aus) Australian national team               2.57.21 (37.891km/h)
2 Nicole Brändli (Swi) Prato Marathon Bike
3 Svetlana Boubnenkova (Rus) Prato Marathon Bike
4 Oenone Wood (Aus) Australian national team                    0.41
5 Kimberly Anderson (USA) Team T-Mobile                         1.00
6 Emily Williams (Aus) Australian national team                 1.56
7 Amber Neben (USA) Team T-Mobile
8 Catherine Marsal (Fra) SBE
9 Debby Mansveld (Ned) Vlaanderen - T Interim Ladies Team
10 Olga Slioussareva (Rus) VEL                                  1.24
11 Corine Hierckens (Bel) WAL
12 Silvia Parietti (Ita) Prato Bike - Aki
13 Serena Cavicchi (Ita) Prato Bike - Aki
14 Barbara Lancioni (Ita) Road Runner - Guerciotti Cycling
15 Zoulia Martissova (Rus) Prato Marathon Bike
16 Lorian Graham (Aus) Australian national team
17 Tanja Hennes (Ger) Team Next 125
18 Volha Haieva (Blr) VEL
19 Sarah Grab (Swi) ZOL
20 Kristin Armstrong (USA) Team T-Mobile
21 Valentina Polkhanova (Rus) VEL
22 Birgit Söllner (Ger) Nürnberger Versicherung
23 Margaret Hemsley (Aus) Nürnberger Versicherung
24 Cindy Pieters (Bel) Vlaanderen - T Interim Ladies Team
25 Barbara Heeb (Swi) Swiss national team
26 Kimberly Bruckner (USA) Team T-Mobile
27 Teodora Ruano Sanchon (Spa) Prato Marathon Bike
28 Karin Thürig (Swi) SBE
29 Alexandra Bähler (Swi) GS Mazza                              4.07
30 Alison Wright (Aus) Road Runner - Guerciotti Cycling
31 Ine Wannijn (Bel) Vlaanderen - T Interim Ladies Team
32 Diana Rast (Swi) GS Mazza                                    6.20
33 Annette Beutler (Swi) Swiss national team                    7.30
34 Nicole Hofer (Swi) CHM
35 Denise Baumann (Swi) ZOL
36 Caroline Payot-Podevin (Fra) GS Mazza
37 Bettina Kuhn (Swi) Swiss national team
38 Liane Bahler (Ger) Nürnberger Versicherung
39 Irene Hostettler (Swi) Team Next 125
40 Claudia Stumpf (Ger) HAM
41 Anja Nobus (Bel) WAL
42 Laure Werner (Bel) Vlaanderen - T Interim Ladies Team
43 Youlia Razenkova (Rus) VEL
44 Kerstin Scheitle (Ger) Nürnberger Versicherung
45 Olga Zabelinskaya (Rus) VEL
46 Andrea Knecht (Swi) Swiss national team
47 Christine Riakos (Aus) Australian national team
48 Hayley Rutherford (Aus) Road Runner - Guerciotti Cycling
49 Natalie Bates (Aus) Australian national team
50 Sigrid Corneo (Ita) Road Runner - Guerciotti Cycling
51 Aline Camboulive (Fra) GS Mazza
52 Emma James (Aus) Australian national team
53 Rosalisa Lapomarda (Ita) Prato Marathon Bike                 7.40
54 Gabi Büchel (Swi) RSS                                       11.04
55 Katrin Helmcke (Ger) Stuttgart                              11.06
56 Catherine Marsal (Fra) SBE                                  11.58
57 Kerstin Sosnowski (Ger) HAM
58 Alexandra Born (Swi) ZOL                                    14.41
59 Julie Hutsebaut (Can) Team Next 125
60 Salome Reist (Swi) GS Mazza                                 15.34
61 Sandra Helbling (Swi) ZOL
62 Lea Hilty (Swi) ZOL
63 Cornelia Steger (Swi) RSS
64 Shannon Steiner (Swi) ZOL
65 Anja Ritter (Ger) STU                                       17.50
66 Sara Schläpfer (Swi) RSS

Past winners


2002 Priska Doppmann (Swi) GS Mazza Cipret / Schweiz Rot Comp
2001 Vera Hohlfeld (Ger) Acca Due O