Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

GP Industria & Commercio di Prato - 1.2

Italy, September 24, 2002

2001 Results    Results    Photos    Past winners

Duma wins GP Prato win bunch sprint

Duma and Ferrigato post-race.
Photo: © Sirotti
Click for larger image

Ukrainian Vladimir Duma (Panaria) has won the GP Industria & Commercio di Prato in a bunch sprint, beating a good quality field including those vying for Italian World's selection. After a very attacking race, things came together with 2 km to go with Duma having the quicker legs over Alessio's Andrea Ferrigato and Stefano Casagranda.

The 200 km race was contested over several circuits around Prato, with the 350m climb of San Baronto coming after 52 km on the big circuit, then four climbs of Carmignano (190 m) on the four finishing circuits, with the last 15 km from the finish line in Prato.

The race got off to a bad start for Andrea Tafi, who crashed at km 11 with Michele Gobbi (De Nardi), Manuel Quinziato (Lampre) and Marc Lotz (Rabobank). Tafi was the worst hurt, suffering a broken cheekbone and having to have 10 stitches to his chin. On the San Baronto climb, Michele Bartoli (Fassa Bortolo) attacked, and was chased and caught by Yaroslav Popovych (Landbouwkrediet-Colnago), Max Sciandri (Lampre) and Rafael Perez (Colpack). The peloton had also split on the climb, with several large groups chasing each other on the descent.

The leading break grew to 10 riders, as Jan Bratkowski (Cage Maglierie), Roberto Petito (Fassa Bortolo), Lorenzo Bernucci (Landbouwkrediet-Colnago), Luca Scinto (Mapei-Quick Step), Massimiliano Mori (Mercatone Uno), Leonardo Giordani (Colpack) bridged up to them. At 114 km they had 2'14 to the peloton, which had regrouped somewhat.

The first time up the Carmignano (km 136) saw another attack by Bartoli, and only Luca Scinto, Max Sciandri, Lorenzo Bernucci, Mateos Perez and Jan Bratkowski could go with him. 10 km later it was Sciandri leading the way over the top, but the peloton was getting closer courtesy of a strong Index-Alexia chase. On the third time up the climb, Bartoli put on the pressure and Sciandri was dropped, leaving just five leaders in front: Bartoli, Bernucci, Perez, Bratkowski and Scinto.

By the time they reached the final ascent of Carmignano with 15 km to race, their lead had dwindled to just 40 seconds, as the peloton steadily bore down on them. A strong Laurent Jalabert led the charge behind the break, and the peloton caught them at the top of the climb.

Ivan Basso (Fassa Bortolo) and Ludo Dierckxsens (Lampre) countered, but the peloton was moving too quickly for them to escape. The bunch was together with 5 km to go, when Dierckxsens tried another unsuccessful attack. With 3 km to go, Luca Paolini and Devis Miorin gambled their chances, to no avail. The bunch sprint was won by Duma - his first victory for two years, and his sixth career win. Second and third places went to Alessio pair Ferrigato and Casagranda.


Images by

Results - 199.5 km

1 Vladimir Duma (Ukr) Ceramiche Panaria - Fiordo    4.25.14
2 Andrea Ferrigato (Ita) Alessio
3 Stefano Casagranda (Ita) Alessio
4 Fabiano Fontanelli (Ita) Mercatone Uno
5 Serge Baguet (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
6 Paolo Bettini (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step
7 Dmitri Konyshev (Rus) Fassa Bortolo
8 Sergei Lelekin (Rus) Cage Maglierie
9 Vladimir Smirnov (Ltu) Colpack
10 Gabriele Missaglia (Ita) Lampre - Daikin

Past winners

2001 Davide Rebellin (Ita)
2000 Sergio Barbero (Ita)
1999 Alessandro Baronti
1998 Felice Puttini (Sui)
1997 Mariano Piccoli (Ita)
1996 Fabrizio Guidi (Ita)
1995 Fabrizio Bontempi (Ita)
1994 Marco Saligari (Ita)
1992 Léonardo Sierra (Ven)
1991 Enrico Galleschi (Ita)
1990 Stefan Joho (Sui)
1989 (2) Pierino Gavazzi (Ita)
1988 Maurizio Fondriest (Ita)
1987 Daniele Caroli (Ita)
1986 Harald Maier (Aut)
1985 Ezio Moroni (Ita)
1984 Pierino Gavazzi (Ita)
1983 Luciano Rabbottini (Ita)
1982 (2) Moreno Argentin (Ita)
1981 Moreno Argentin (Ita)
1980 Silvano Contini (Ita)
1979 (2) Bernt Johansson (Swe)
1978 Bernt Johansson (Swe)
1977 Claudio Bortolotto (Ita)
1976 Walter Riccomi (Ita)
1975 (2) Costantino Conti (Ita)
1974 (2) Fabrizio Fabbri (Ita)
1973 Fabrizio Fabbri (Ita)
1972 Costantino Conti (Ita)
1971 Franco Bitossi (Ita)
1970 Marcello Bergamo (Ita)
1969 Alberto Della-Torre (Ita)
1968 Adriano Durante (Ita)
1967 (3) Michele Dancelli (Ita)
1966 Italo Zilioli (Ita)
1965 (2) Michele Dancelli (Ita)
1964 Michele Dancelli (Ita)
1963 Vendramino Bariviera (Ita)
1962 Bruno Mealli (Ita)
1961 Gilbert Desmet (Bel)
1960 Alfredo Sabbadin (Ita)
1959 Giuseppe Fallerini (Ita)
1958 Ercole Baldini (Ita)
1957 Silvano Ciampi (Ita)
1956 (2) Danilo Barozzi (Ita)
1955 Aldo Moser (Ita)
1954 Danilo Barozzi (Ita)
1953 Rino Benedetti (Ita)
1952 (2) Luciano Maggini (Ita)
1951 Arrigo Padovan (Ita)
1950 Ferdinand Kübler (Sui)
1949 Luciano Maggini (Ita)
1948 Giulio Bresci (Ita)
1947 Sergio Maggini (Ita)
1946 Nedo Logli (Ita)

Past winners by Mario Stiehl,