Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Tour of the Ballarat Goldfields - Tattersall's Cup #1 - NE

Australia, July 31, 2002

2001 Results   Results 

Thuaux kicks off series with Goldfields win

By Matt Conn

New South Wales rider, Phil Thuaux has opened the 2002 Tattersall's Cup series with a solo win in yesterday's Tour of the Ballarat Goldfields. Thuaux was also the winner of the final round of last year's series, when he won the Tour of the Tamar in Launceston.

Thuaux showed his that he is in top form for the five race series, breaking away after 50km with fellow NSW riders Nathan Russell and Peter Milostic. Together the three built up a solid lead, sharing the KOM and sprint points along the route.

When the race encountered strong cross winds after 80km, the main group was split into three smaller bunches following a crash. The front group of riders reeled in the breakaways and at 10 km to go, the remnants of the second group also rejoined the front of the race.

Attacks were the order of the final kilometres, with many riders trying their hand at moving clear of the sprinters. Despite the efforts expended earlier in the race, Thuaux broke clear of the bunch to finish alone.

Victorians Ashley Baines and Christopher Carr finished 12 seconds behind Thuaux after breaking clear themselves. Tasmania's Gareth Atkins lead home more than 20 riders and just failed to catch Carr on the line.

Peter Milostic, a former National Series winner, finished on the tail of the front group in 26th place and will wear the King of the Mountains jersey in round two.

Milostic paid tribute to Thuaux and the honest way he rode the race, saying that the NSWIS rider didn't miss a turn in the breakaway and showed his class by still having the strength to win the event.

Thuaux is now the leader of the series, as well as gaining enough points on his breakaway to lead the sprint competition.

Round two of the Tattersall's Cup will be the Tour of the Goulburn Valley on Wednesday August 7.

Provisional results

1 Phillip Thuaux             3.10.40
2 Ashley Baines                 0.12
3 Christopher Carr              0.13
4 Gareth Atkins
5 Leigh Egan
6 Matthew Goold
7 Christopher Tymms
8 Eddie Salas
9 Nathan Russell
10 Andy Stewart
11 Jonathon Cantwell
12 Andrew Torney
13 Tim Decker
14 Garry Parsons
15 Andrew Graham
16 Peter Cottam
17 Jai Crawford
18 Glenn Stojanow
19 Simon Walker
20 Nicholas Wood
21 Anthony Challinor
22 Karl Menzies
23 John Flood
24 Bernard Sulzberger
25 Joel Pearson
26 Peter Milostic
27 Tim Buchanan                 0.29
28 Jon Townsend                 0.35
29 James Taylor                 0.39
30 Peter Trigar
31 Christopher Fry              0.44
32 Daniel Nelms                 0.52
33 Bradley Bullock
34 Herbert Donovan
35 Graham Rootes                0.59
36 Bradley Edmunds              3.19
37 Nathan Jones
38 Brent Skippen
39 Shayne Kirby
40 Guy Green
41 Carl Cubitt
42 Steve Aitken
43 Matthew Conn
44 Aaron Dalton
45 Trent Stevenson              3.41
46 Peter O’Callaghan            8.06
47 Lee Godfrey                  8.10
48 Bruce McIntosh
49 Benjamin Jackson             9.57
50 Anthony Comino              12.20
51 Patrick Varas               12.29
52 Christopher Newman          12.46
53 Ashley Hyat
54 Michael Johnson
55 Samuel Rix
56 Heath Jackson               13.43
57 Garry Polack                13.48
58 Matt Miller                 14.54
59 Aaron Wilson
60 Christopher D’Amelio
61 Paul Kenny
62 Cameron Carlyle
63 Anthony Di Battista
64 Rodney Mason
65 Todd Wilksch
66 Richard England
67 Shaun Boschert
68 Warren Nelson
69 Rhys Smith
70 Mikkeli Godfree
71 Robert Young
72 Steve Martin
73 Damien Ladd
74 Simon Bone
75 Ian Chandler
76 William Murray
77 Mark Roach
78 Craig McCartney
79 Julian Blackwell
80 Bradley Simpson
81 Kristjan Snorrason
82 Michael Kennedy             23.54
DNF Robert Bell
DNF Domenic Gatto
DNF James Hannam
DNF Heath Riley
DNF Joseph Schibeci
DNF Dean Smith
DNF Andrew Steele
DNF Ben Vanderkamp
Sprint Leader: Phillip Thuaux
King Of The Mountains Leader: Peter Milostic
Sid Patterson Rider Of The Future Leader: Ashley Baines

Courtesy of Caribou Publications

Past winners

2001 Caleb Manion (Tasmania)
2000 Leigh Egan (Shepparton)