Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Karlsruhe Versicherungs GP - 1.2

Germany, August 3, 2002

2001 Results    Results    Past winners

Michael Rich and Uwe Peschel too strong in Karlsruhe

Gerolsteiner's powerful time trialing combination Michael Rich and Uwe Peschel have won the Karlsruhe Versicherungs GP, a two man time trial raced over six laps of a 12 km course. The two Germans covered the distance in 1:23:02 (52.03 km/h), finishing 1'35 ahead of the Jalabert brothers, Laurent and Nicolas (CSC-Tiscali), with ONCE pair Joseba Beloki and Igor Gonzalez de Galdeano in third.

34 year old Peschel won the event in 1996, riding with Chris Boardman, while Rich, 32, won it in 2000 with Thorsten Schmidt.

The race also featured Tour de France winner Lance Armstrong (USPS), who rode together with Floyd Landis, but the pair could only manage 8th place, 4'13 behind the winners. Armstrong said today that he was "tired, more mentally than physically". Since winning the Tour last Sunday, Armstrong has ridden three criteriums in Holland and Germany, the last of which (City-Nacht Rhede) was held last night. He now flies out to New York to compete in the New York City Cycling Championship tomorrow.

Armstrong was also awarded the prize for "fair play" by the Confederacy of German Journalists, after his sportsmanship displayed during the 2001 Tour de France, when he waited for Jan Ullrich who had ridden into off the road on a descent.


Images by Byron Hukee

Results - 72 km

1 Michael Rich/Uwe Pechsel (Ger) Gerolsteiner                 1.23.02 (52.03 km/h)
2 Laurent Jalabert/Nicolas Jalabert (Fra) CSC-Tiscali            1.35
3 Joseba Beloki/Igor Gonzalez de Galdeano (Spa) ONCE-Eroski      2.25
4 Rubens Bertogliati/Raivis Belohvochiks (Swi/Lat) Lampre-Daikin 2.31
5 Marc Wauters/Beat Zberg (Bel/Swi) Rabobank                     2.57
6 Christophe Moreau/Jens Voigt (Fra/Ger) Credit Agricole         3.04
7 Bobby Julich/Kevin Livingston (USA) Telekom                    3.58
8 Lance Armstrong/Floyd Landis (USA) US Postal Service           4.13
9 David Millar/Inigo Cuesta (GBr/Spa) Cofidis                    5.53
10 Alex Zulle/Aitor Garmendia (Swi/Spa) Team Coast               6.43

Past winners


 1 Christophe Moreau (Fra)/Florent Brard (Fra) Festina    72 kms in 1.25.22
 2 Jens Lehmann (Ger)/Thomas Liese (Ger) Team Nürnberger
 3 Vjatcheslav Ekimov (Rus)/Victor Hugo Pena (Col) US Postal Service


 1 Michael Rich (Ger/Torsten Schmidt (Ger)                72 kms in 1.24.39
 2 Oscar Camenzind (Swi)/Robert Hunter (RSA) Lampre
 3 Marc Wauters (Bel)/Erik Dekker (Ned) Rabobank

 1 Chris Boardman (GB)/Jens Voigt (Ger)                   72 kms in 1.24.37
 2 Laurent Jalabert (Fra)/Abraham Olano (Spa)
 3 Michael Boogerd (Ned)/Erik Dekker (Ned)

 1 Udo Bölts-Christian Henn (Ger) Telekom	              84 kms in 1.39.42
 2 Jan Ullrich/Rolf Aldag (Ger) Telekom-ARD
 3 Erik Zabel/Jens Heppner (Ger) Telekom-ARD


 1 Johan Museeuw (Bel)/Oskar Camenzind (Swi)	          84 kms in 1.39.19
 2 Eddy Seigneur (Fra)/Andrea Peron (Ita)
 3 Jan Ullrich (Ger)/Rolf Aldag (Ger)


 1 Chris Boardman (GB)/Uwe Peschel (Ger)                  84 kms in 1.36.35
 2 Olaf Ludwig (Ger)/Rolf Aldag (Ger)
 3 Bjarne Rijs (Den)/Jan Ullrich (Ger)

Past winners by Mario Stiehl,