Giro del Lago Maggiore "GP Knorr" - 1.5

Switzerland, March 10, 2002

2001 results    Results    Past winners

Filippo Pozzato wins Giro del Lago Maggiore

Just a few days after his success at the Vuelta Cuba, Filippo Pozzato (Mapei) won today the Giro del Lago Maggiore "G.P. Knorr". The race was 185 kilometres long and finished at Brissago.

The decisive part of the race came at about 30 kilometres from the end when, thanks to pace setting by Gian Paolo Cheula (Mapei), a small 8 man group was formed. Cheula, Pozzato and Bernhard Eisel were there for Mapei, as well as Piotr Przyzdial (CCC-Mat) and Bostian Mervar (KRKA) and three others.

On the penultimate climb of the race Filippo Pozzato made his final attack. The only rider who could follow him was Piotr Przydzial. The Polish rider wasn't able to keep up with Pozzato with 10 km to go, and Pozzato finished alone in front of Przydzial and Mervar.


1 Filippo Pozzato (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step
2 Piotr Przyzdial (Pol) CCC-Mat
3 Bostian Mervar (Slo) KRKA-Telekom

Past winners

2001 Paolo Bossoni (Ita) Tacconi Sport-Vini Caldirola 
2000 Tobias Steinhauser (Ger)
1999 Gabriele Balducci (Ita)
1998 Luca Mazzanti (Ita)
1997 Endrio Léoni (Ita)
1996 Armin Meier (Swi)
1995 Karl Kählin (Amateur)
1994 Gianvito Martinelli (Ita)
1993 Zbigniew Piatek (Pol) (Amateur)
1992 Thomas Wegmüller (Swi)
1991 Bruno Risi (Swi) Amateur
1990 a) Andrea Guidotti (Ita)
     b) Andrea Guidotti (Ita)
1989 Heinz Imboden (Swi)
1988 Richard Trinkler (Swi)
1987 Daniel Gisiger (Swi)
1986 Kurt Steinmann (Amateur)
1985 Guido Winterberg (Swi)
1983 Peter Wollenmann (Amateur)

Past winners by Mario Stiehl, Berlin