Kuurne-Bruxelles-Kuurne - 1.2

Belgium, March 3, 2002

2001 results    Results    Past winners  

Soloist Kirsipuu wins K-B-K

Jaan Kirsipuu (Ag2r) has claimed victory in the 55th Kuurne-Brussel-Kuurne, held on the day following Het Volk. The Estonian, renowned as a sprinter but also a handy time trialist, won the race alone with a small gap to Lotto's Serge Baguet, who came very close to taking his first victory of the season. Third place went to Domo's Enrico Cassani who led the next group home.

After an early breakaway containing Frederic Guesdon (FDJ) was caught on the Oude Kwaremont, the race came alive. Paolo Bettini and Serge Baguet forced the pace on the Kluisberg with 60 km to go, and this cut the group down to 15 riders, including Kirsipuu.

Kirsipuu had the luxury of being the best sprinter in the group, but he was also one of the strongest riders. He chose not to leave it to chance and attacked with 10 kilometres to go on the finishing laps in Kuurne. The remainder of the group were taken by surprise and could not close the gap, although Baguet made a trademark late move to clinch second place.

It was Kirsipuu's 95th career victory, and he considered it the best in a one day race. "I was the best sprinter in the group - therefore at the finish everyone would have been looking at me," he said. "Perhaps that would have ruined it for me. That was the reason I attacked."

"The final kilometres were very, very hard. But it was worth the effort. This was the most beautiful victory I have achieved in a one day race."

Serge Baguet commented that "I wanted to make the race hard. That is typical Kirsipuu - he sprints well but he can also go it alone if necessary."


Images by Fotoreporter Sirotti

Images by AFP

Images by Daniel Schamps

Results - 188 km

1 Jan Kirsipuu (Est) Ag2r-Prevoyance            4.31.00
2 Serge Baguet (Bel) Lotto-Adecco                  0.06
3 Enrico Cassani (Ita) Domo-Farm Frites            0.08
4 Lars Michaelsen (Den) Team Coast
5 Chris Peers (Bel) Cofidis                         
6 Hendrik Van Dijck (Bel) Collstrop-Palmans
7 Tom Boonen (Bel) US Postal                     
8 Tristan Hoffman (Ned) CSC-Tiscali
9 Kim Kirchen (Lux) Fassa Bortolo
10 Roberto Lochowski (Ger) Team fakta
11 Paolo Bettini (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step
12 Bert de Waele (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago
13 Andreas Klier (Ger) Telekom
14 Peter Farazijn (Bel) Cofidis
15 Baden Cooke (Aus) La Francoise des Jeux
16 Rob McEwan (Aus) Lotto-Adecco                   0.22
17 Nico Eeckhout (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
18 Jimmy Casper (Fra) La Francaise des Jeux
19 Stefan van Dijck (Ned) Lotto-Adecco 
20 Olaf Pollack (Ger) Gerolsteiner
21 Fabio Baldato (Ita) Fassa Bortolo
22 Steven de Jongh (Ned) Rabobank
23 Danilo Hondo (Ger) Telekom
24 Tom Steels (Bel) Mapei-Quick Step
25 Michel van Haecke (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago
26 Jan Kuyckx (Bel) Vlaanderen - T Interim
27 Cedric Vasseur (Fra) Cofidis
28 Gerben Lowik (Ned) Bankgiroloterij-Batavus
29 Christophe Mengin (Fra) La Francaise des Jeux
30 Tom Desmet (Bel) Marlux-Ville de Charleroi
31 Saulius Ruskys (Lit) Gerolsteiner        
32 Yoeri Beyens (Bel) Vlaanderen - T Interim
33 Andy Flickinger (Fra) Ag2r-Prevoyance
34 Lenaic Olivier (Fra) Jean Delatour
35 Oscar Cavagnis (Ita) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago
36 Nicola Loda (Ita) Fassa Bortolo
37 Stefan Adamsson (Swe) Team Coast
38 Kurt Asle Arvesen (Nor) Teak fakta
39 Servais Knaven (Ned) Domo-Farm Frites
40 Rudi Kemna (Ned) Bankgiroloterij-Batavus
41 Thor Hushovd (Nor) Credit Agricole
42 Magnus Backstedt (Swe) Team fakta
43 Wilfried Cretskens (Bel) Domo-Farm Frites
44 Malte Urban (Ger) Team Coast
45 Remco van der Ven (Ned) Vankgiroloterij-Batavus
46 Bobbie Traksel (Ned) Rabobank
47 Nicolas Jalabert (Fra) CSC-Tiscali
48 Sebastian Hinault (Fra) Credit Agricole
49 Franck Renier (Fra) Bonjour
50 Nico Mattan (Bel) Cofidis
51 Roy Sentjes (Ned) Rabobank
52 Allan Johansen (Den) Team fakta
53 Franck Pencole (Fra) La Francaise des Jeux
54 Wim Vansevenant (Bel) Palmans-Collstrop
55 Bjorn Leukemans (Bel) Palmans-Collstrop
56 Christophe Agnolutto (Fra) Ag2r-Prevoyance
57 Johan Museeuw (Bel) Domo-Farm Frites
58 Gorik Gardeyn (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
59 Leif Hoste (Bel) Domo-Farm Frites
60 Paolo Bossini (Ita) Taccone Sport-Vini Caldirola
61 Wim Vanhuffel (Bel) Vlaanderen - T Interim
62 Stuart O'Grady (Aus) Credit Agricole
63 Matthe Pronk (Ned) Rabobank
64 Gabrielle Balducci (Ita) Taccone Sport-Vini Caldirola
65 Fabien de Waele (Bel) Mapei-Quick Step
66 Ronald Mutsaers (Ned) Rabobank
67 Mauro Gerosa (Ita) Taccone Sport-Vini Caldirola
68 Frank Hoj (Den) Team Coast
69 Marcel Duijn (Ned) Rabobank
70 Paul van Hyfte (Bel) CSC-Tiscali
71 Laurent Brochard (Fra) Jean Delatour
72 Emmanuel Magnien (Fra) Bonjour
73 Geert van Bondt (Bel) CSC-Tiscali
74 Ludo Dierckxsens (Bel) Lampre-Daikin
75 Bert Hiemstra (Ned) Bankgiroloterij-Batavus
76 Andrei Tschmill (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
77 Laszlo Bodrogi (Hon) Mapei-Quick Step
78 Aart Vierhouten (Ned) Lotto- Adecco
79 Rolf Sorensen (Den) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago
80 Pavel Padrnos (Tsj) US Postal
81 Andrej Hauptman (Slo) Taccone Sport-Vini Caldirola
82 Martin Hvastia (Slo) Alessio
83 Stefano Zanini (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step 
84 Jo Planckaert (Bel) Cofidis
85 Roberto Petito (Bel) Fasso Bortolo
86 Gianlucca Bortolami (Ita) Taccone Sport-Vini Caldirola
87 Marco Milesi (Ita) Domo-Farm Frites
88 Karl Hundertmarck (Ger) Telekom
89 Peter Wrolich (Aut) Gerolsteiner
90 Frederic Guesdon (Fra) La Francaise des Jeux
91 Marc Wauters (Bel) Rabobank
92 Rolf Aldag (Ger) Telekom
93 Zbigniew Spruch (Pol) Lampre-Daikin
94 Christopher Jenner (NZl) Credit Agricole
95 Bram Schmitz (Bel) Bankgiroloterij-Batavus
96 Raphael Schweda (Ger) Team Coast
97 Davide Bramati (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step
98 Kevin Hulsmans (Bel) Mapei-Quick Step
99 Ludovic Capelle (Bel) Ag2r-Prevoyance             2.00
100 Benoit Joachim (Lux) US Postal                   2.21
Courtesy of Ronald Schipper

Past winners

2001  Peter Van Petegem (Bel) Mercury    188 kms in 4.20.00
2000  Andrei Tchmil (Bel) Lotto-Adecco   197 kms in 4.47.06
1999  Jo Planckaert (Bel) Lotto-Mobistar 188 kms in 4.38.45
1998  Andrei Tchmil (Bel) Lotto-Mobistar 197 kms in 4.56.00
1997  Johan Musseuw (Bel)
1996  Rolf Sörensen (Den)
1995  Frédéric Moncassin (FRA)
1994  Johan Museeuw (Bel)
1992  Olaf Ludwig (Ger)
1991  Johnny Dauwe (Bel)
1990  Hendrik Redant (Bel)
1989  Edwig Van Hooydonck (Bel)
1988  Hendrik Redant (Bel)
1987  Ludo Peeters (Bel)
1985  William Tackaert (Bel)
1984  Joseph Lammertink (Ned)
1983  Jan Raas (Ned)
1982  Gregor Braun (Ger)
1981  Joseph Jacobs (Bel)
1980  Jan Raas (Ned)
1979  Walter Planckaert (Bel)
1978  Patrick Lefevere (Bel)
1977  Patrick Sercu (Bel)
1976  Frans Verhaegen (Bel)
1975  Frans Verhaegen (Bel)
1974  Wilfried Wesemael (Bel)
1973  Walter Planckaert (Bel)
1972  Gustaaf Van Roosbroeck (Bel)
1971  Roger De Vlaeminck (Bel)
1970  Roger De Vlaeminck (Bel)
1969  Freddy Decloedt (Bel)
1968  Eric Leman (Bel)
1967  Daniel Van Rijckeghem (Bel)
1966  Gustave Desmet (Bel)
1965  Guido Reybrouck (Bel)
1964  Arthur De Cabooter (Bel)
1963  Noél Fore (Bel)
1962  Piet Rentmeester (Ned)
1961  Alfred De Bruyne (Bel) - Leon Van Daele (Bel)
1960  Joseph Planckaert (Bel)
1959  Gentiel Saelens (Bel)
1958  Gilbert Desmet (Bel)
1957  Joseph Verhelts (Bel)
1956  Henri Denijs (Bel)
1955  Joseph Planckaert (Bel)
1954  Leon Van Daele (Bel)
1953  Leopold De Graeveleyn (Bel)
1952  André Maelbrancke (Bel)
1951  André Declerck (Bel)
1950  Valére Ollivier (Bel)
1949  Albert Decin (Bel)
1948  Achiel Buysse (Bel)
1947  André Pieters (Bel)
1946  Henri Delmuyle (Bel)
Past Winners by Mario Stiehl, Berlin