Sydney Cup on Wheels - IM

Dunc Gray Velodrome, Sydney, Australia, January 19, 2002


Sydney Wheelrace

Saturday's Sydney Cup on Wheels Track Cycling Carnival at the Bass Hill Dunc Gray Velodrome lived up to all expectations with a night of action packed cycling. With Australia and New Zealand's best cyclists in action the crowd was in for a bonanza of top level racing with the feature race being the 2002 Sydney Cup on Wheels Wheel-race.

Pre-race favourite and Australia's well-known cyclist, Shane Kelly was the rider to watch starting from the scratch mark. With 220 meters to make up before he would see the head of the field, Kelly took off as the gun went and quickly joined a group of 4 riders in hot pursuit of the leaders. Sitting in 4th wheel, Kelly used the speed of fellow back markers Sydney's Warren Doyle, New Zealand's Anthony Peden, and Dubbo Junior Andrew Taylor to get him within striking distance.

A lap and a half to go Kelly was on his own to chase down the leaders. Bicisport rider, David Brown and Trek's Danny Rutherford were the ones digging deep with one to go. Kelly was in full flight and even as they came into the final bend it was still unsure who would be first over the line. The 2000 Olympic medallist gave it everything failing by inches to catch Brown and Rutherford. It was the biggest win of his career for Brown who is coached by former Olympian Lionel Cox.

Men's Keirin

The Keirin event is one of the most aggressive events in Track Cycling, and the 2002 Invitational Keirin event at the Sydney Cup on Wheels demonstrated why this is. On the start line were Olympians Shane Kelly, Sean Eadie and Anthony Peden, current World Champions Ryan Bailey and Kial Stewart and State representative David Short.

As riders jostled for their positions Peden and Eadie were already rubbing shoulders as they fought for the same wheel. Eadie held his position as Peden persisted to "steal" the wheel off Eadie. With both riders jostling for position Eadie drifted into the rider in front causing him to lose control and hit the boards.

Peden won the battle but the war was to continue. Current World Olympic Sprint Champion Kial Stewart was next on Peden's menu. In the same manner Stewart and Peden went literally head to head with Kial coming off second best as did Eadie falling heavily onto the track. Both Kelly and Bailey were sitting further back watching the action unfold, hoping they would stay upright for the finish. The Derny pacer left the track at two laps to go leaving the four remaining riders to fight it out to the finish.

Peden (NZ) proved too fast in the finish winning from Kelly and Ryan Bailey, but this result did not to stand for long as Peden was disqualified for dangerous riding, elevating Kelly to first place.


2002 Sydney Cup On Wheels Wheelrace Final
1 David Brown (Bicisport)
2 Danny Rutherford (Bankstown)
3 Shane Kelly (Victoria)
Invitational Keirin 2000m - 8 Laps Final
1 S Kelly (Victoria)
2 R Bailey (WA)
3 D Short (St George)
Australian Derny Challenge Final
1 B Dawson (Dubbo)
2 J Davis (St George)
3 C Sutton (St George)
Aces Sprint Derby 1500m (6 Laps)
1 S Eadie (Bankstown)
2 A Peden (NZ)
3 S Kelly (Victoria)
NSW Masters Scratch Race Championships  
NSW Masters Men Divs. 3 Scr. C'Ship 5000m
1 D Willmott (St George)
2 W Thorley (Hunter)
3 R Stephen (Bathurst(58))
NSW Masters Men Divs. 4 Scr. C'Ship 5000m
1 R Hampshire (St George)
2 W Cox (Hunter)
3 S Dixon (Turramurra)
12 - U19W, Womens Wheelrace 2000m - 8 Laps 
1 R Gilmour (Bankstown)
2 C Bailey (WA)
3 L Stewart (ACT)