Results and Reports for January 12-13, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Randwick Botany Cycling Club

January 12, 2002

Racing returns to Heffron Park

By Tony Horneman

Criterium racing returned to Heffron Park on Saturday after the Christmas and New Year break. Eleven A and B Grade riders combined to provide some entertaining riding around the tight 2km circuit. Tom Brook from the Parramatta club made some big efforts during the race to test the stamina of the other riders. Randwick Botany U17 Chris Jenkins attacked on several occasions. The group was together for the final sprint to the finish line with David Stewart from Eastern Suburbs club crossing first followed by Tom Brook. Sydney 2000 Olympian, and Yeti Pearl Izumi MTB racing team member Paul Rowney was placed third.

Twenty C Grade competitors participated in a 28km criterium race. John Buckton made a number of breakaways and on lap 5 established a 100m lead. Tony Horneman bridged the gap, with the assistance of a tail wind across the rear of the track, to bring the bunch back together. In a hectic final sprint, 5 riders where line abreast across the track close to the finish line. It was not easy for the judges to pick the first three place getters - Andrew Best, Brad Lane and John Buckton.

Sixteen D and E Grade riders completed a 16km event, with Joseph Sorby finishing first in D Grade, followed by Phillip Chippendale and Ron Sproule. E Grade placing were Andrew Young, Julia Guinan and David Calleja.

Thirteen junior riders participated in 4 events starting with the 6km Time Trail, which was won by Thomas Murdoch in a time of 10min 58sec, second was Michael Murdoch 11min 12sec and third was Keegan Aitchison 11min 16sec. The A Grade Scratch Race placings were Luke Cridland first, Keegan Aitchison second and Chris Young third. The B Grade Scratch Race was taken out by Pita Vea, followed by Andrew Young with Jonathon Cridland and Thom Richards equal third. The C Grade Scratch Race was won by Tayla Aitchison followed by Adriano Maradini.

In open junior racing results, Randwick Botany U13 rider Luke Davison joined eleven other U13 riders at the annual Trackpower 2002 event at Goulburn NSW. Davison finished first in the U13 Boys 4-lap Scratch Race, first in the U13 Boys 10-lap Elimination Race, second in the U13 2-lap Combined Handicap, second in the U13 2-lap Combined Sprint and first in the U13 Boys 4-lap Scratch Race. Over 100 riders in all ages attended the event.

Randwick Botany Cycling Club conducts club racing every Saturday at Heffron Park, Maroubra NSW. Juniors start at 1.30pm and Seniors 2.30pm. For more information please contact the club secretary Helen Vella on 02 9667 3307 or website



A Grade
1 David Stewart (Eastern Suburbs)
2 Tom Brook (Parramatta)
3 Paul Rowney (Eastern Suburbs)
B Grade
1 Clive Hammerson (RBCC)
2 Chris Jenkins (RBCC)
3 Robert Cater (RBCC)
C Grade
1 Andrew Best (RBCC)
2 Brad Lane (RBCC)
3 John Buckton (RBCC)
D Grade
1 Joseph Sorby (RBCC)
2 Phillip Chippendale (RBCC)
3 Ron Sproule (RBCC)
E Grade
1 Andrew Young (RBCC)
2 Julia Guinan (RBCC)
3 David Calleja (RBCC)


6km Time Trail
1 Thomas Murdoch            10.58
2 Michael Murdoch           11.12
3 Keegan Aitchison          11.16
A Grade Scratch Race
1 Luke Cridland
2 Keegan Aitchison
3 Chris Young
B Grade Scratch Race
1 Pita Vea
2 Andrew Young
3 Jonathon Cridland 
3 Thom Richards
C Grade Scratch Race
1 Tayla Aitchison
2 Adriano Maradini

Previous Australian Results