9th Classic Haribo - 1.3

France, February 24, 2002

2001 results     Results    Past winners

Kirsipuu pips Hincapie for Haribo

Click for larger image
Jaan Kirsipuu
Photo ©: AFP

Estonian Jaan Kirsipuu has triumphed in the ninth edition of the Classic Haribo, his second win after taking it in 2000. The Ag2r sprinter finished just ahead of US Postal's George Hincapie, with Domo's Enrico Cassani taking third, with all the leading riders being part of a five man breakaway.

The 203 kilometre race took place between Uzès and Marseilles in fine conditions. After only 10 kilometres, a group of 40 detached itself from the peloton and rode away. The race deciding move came at 127 kilometres, when Kirsipuu, Hincapie, Cassani, Johan Museeuw (Domo) and Ludo Dierckxsens (Lampre) escaped. It was an interesting move given the composition of the break, and these riders should feature in the early season classics.

The five could not be brought back over the next 75 km and finished with nearly a six minute lead. Cassani put in an attack with 19 kilometres to go, but was quickly recaptured by the others. The break stayed together after that which suited Kirsipuu, who was the favourite to take the sprint. He was pushed right to the line by Hincapie, but managed to hold off the American to take the win.

Together with Tour du Haut Var winner Laurent Jalabert, Kirsipuu is now the joint leader of the season long Coupe du France series with both riders on 50 points.


Results - 203 km

1 Jaan Kirsipuu (Est) Ag2r                             4.33.46
2 George Hincapie (USA) US Postal
3 Enrico Cassani (Ita) Domo-Farm Frites
4 Ludo Dierckxsens (Bel) Lampre-Daikin
5 Johan Museeuw (Bel) Domo-Farm Frites
6 Tom Boonen (Bel) US Postal                               5.49
7 Davide Bramati (Ita) Mapei-Quickstep                     5.53
8 Jimmy Casper (Fra) La Française des Jeux
9 Nicolas Jalabert (Fra) CSC-Tiscali
10 Laurent Brochard (Fra) Jean Delatour
11 Alexis Rodriguez Hernandez (Spa) Kelme-Costa Blanca
12 Goryk Gardeyn (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
13 Saulius Rauskys (Ltu) Gerolsteiner
14 Nico Eeckhout (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
15 Anthony Langella (Fra) Crédit Agricole
16 Matthew Wilson (Aus) La Française des Jeux
17 Wilfried Cretskens (Bel) Domo-Farm Frites
18 Walter Beneteau (Fra) Bonjour
19 Ralf Grabsch (Ger) Team Telekom
20 Servais Knaven (Ned) Domo-Farm Frites
21 Rolf Huser (Swi) Team Coast
22 Danilo Hondo (Ger) Team Telekom
23 Steffen Weigold (Ger) Gerolsteiner                      7.00
24 Ludovic Auger (Fra) Big Mat-Auber 93                    7.06
25 Emmanuel Magnien (Fra) Bonjour
26 Cyril Dessel (Fra) Jean Delatour                        8.21
27 Fabrice Gougot (Fra) Phonak
28 Jurgen Van Goolen (Bel) Domo-Farm Frites
29 Jérôme Neuville (Fra) Cofidis
30 Pavela Brutt (Rus) Itera
31 Stefan Adamsson (Swe) Team Coast
32 Eddy Lembo (Fra) Oktos-St-Quentin                       8.29
33 Christophe Mengin (Fra) La Française des Jeux
34 Robert Bartko (Ger) Team Telekom                        8.37
35 Tom Steels (Bel) Mapei-Quickstep
36 Eddy Serri (Fra) Index-Alexia                           8.43
37 Michael Reihs (Ger) Phonak
38 Robbie McEwen (Aus) Lotto-Adecco                        8.57
39 Innar Mandoja (Est) Ag2r                               10.40
40 Ludovic Capelle (Bel) Ag2r                             12.20
41 Anthony Morin (Fra) Crédit Agricole
42 Stive Vermaut (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
43 Andy Flickinger (Fra) Ag2r
44 Paolo Fornaciari (Ita) Mapei-Quickstep
45 David Kopp (Ger) Team Telekom                          14.36

Coupe de France standings after round 2

1 Laurent Jalabert (Fra) CSC-Tiscali            50 pts
1 Jaan Kirsipuu (Est) Ag2r-Prevoyance           50
3 Alexandre Botcharov Rus) Ag2r-Prevoyance      14
4 David Mancoutié (Fra) Cofidis                 12
4 Jimmy Casper (Fra) La Francaise des Jeux      12
6 Nicolas Jalabert (Fra) CSC-Tiscali            10

Results courtesy of velomania.net

Past winners

2001 Hans De Clercq (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
2000 Jaan Kirsipuu (Est) Ag2R-Prevoyance
1999 Stuart O'Grady (Aus) Credit Agricole
1998 Lauri Aus (Est) Casino
1997 Frédréric Guesdon (Fra)
1996 Laurent Jalabert (Fra)
1995 Giuseppe Citterio (Ita)
1994 Erik Zabel (Ger)

Past Winners by Mario Stiehl, Berlin