Results and Reports for February 9 - 10, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Notts And Derby League

February 9, 2002

Dan Alexander has retained his title as Notts and Derbys cyclo-cross champion despite pulling out after three laps in last Saturday's final race at Bramcote. He admitted to "feeling not right" during the warm-up session, and although he need not have ridden because he had already built up an unassailable points lead, said he felt that he ought to make the effort to ride and support the other riders, officials and the league in general.

The final league table has not yet been worked out, but behind Alexander are Vin Cox ( and Julian Gould (Ace RT) who look to have the same number of points and therefore will share second place. Winner of the race was Ace RT's Daniel Booth who finished in 52 mins 38 sec and over two minutes ahead of Vin Cox with Ben Eedy (Bradgate RC) third.

Category winners were: senior Daniel Booth, junior Philip Dougall (Ashfield RC), veteran Bob Wood-Anderson (Matlock CC), grand vet Andy Nelson (Heanor Clarion), senior vet Dave Smith (Derby Tri Club), master vet Terry Taylor (Matlock CC), super vet John Dowell (Gainsborough Aegir) Winner of the youth race was Matlock's Sam Thorne in 30 mins 55 secs and almost a minute ahead of Kyle Graham (ASICS/TFN) Third place and first under-14 was Tom Last (Matlock CC) The under-12s race winner was Scott Thwaites (Team Marie Curie), with Lawrence Frost (Ashfield RC) second and William Verney (Chevin Chasers) third.