Results and Reports for February 9 - 10, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Eastern Suburbs Summer Criterium Series, Round 5

Heffron Park, 12 February 2002

After last week's race got washed out along with the rest of Sydney, it was back to racing with a vengeance this week as another record number of 96 riders turned up to contest Round 5 of the Summer Series.

All 3 grades were evenly numbered with just over 30 riders in each bunch and as often occurs when there is a strong southerly blowing across the circuit, A grade appeared to look favourites for an overall win, especially with British time trial specialist Stuart Dangerfield maintaining a punishing pace in the opening laps.

Meanwhile, B grade were getting down to business and despite the lack of riders willing to do a turn, the pace was consistent enough to maintain a reasonable gap approaching the 5 laps to go mark, thanks mainly to Saturn riders Kristy Scrymgeour and Cathy Marsal.

With the 3 laps to go sprint out of the way it was just a matter of B grade picking up C grade to claim overall honours as A grade were not going to lead the charge tonight. Former Australian Road champion, Matt Bazzano making his return to racing through B grade looked impressive as he led out the final lap, however it was Charlie Topfer who once again used his sprinting ability to claim the race.

Laurie Vignes showed yet again you can't keep a good master's rider down with an impressive finish to claim A grade and Clive Hammerson backed up another place at Heffron with 1st C Grade.


1 Charlie Topfer (Parramatta)
2 Brent Jenkins (Northern Suburbs)
3 Peter Carscadden (Sutherland)
4 David Gowty (St George)
5 Tony Iannacito (Harlequin)
A Grade
1 Laurie Vignes (Norther Suburbs)
C Grade
1 Clive Hammerson (Randwick Botany)
Summer Criterium Series, standings after Round 5
1 Anthony Spurgeon (A Grade)        15 pts
2 Steve Woodridge (A Grade)         7
3 Luke Picton (C Grade)             7
4 Dave Stewart (Easts)              7
5 Charlie Topfer (B Grade)          7
6 Peter Carscadden (B Grade)        6
7 Jose Rodriguez (A Grade)          5
8 Liam Kelly (A Grade)              5
9 Brent Jenkins (B Grade)           5
10 Alan Bozunovic (C Grade)         4
11 Mark Renshaw (A Grade)           4
12 Nathan Russell (A Grade)         4
13 Antonio Iannacito (B Grade)      2
14 David Gowty (B Grade)            2
15 Campbell Kerr (A Grade)          1
16 Brent Dawson (A Grade)           1
17 Tony Iannacito (B Grade)         1

Previous Australian Results