Results and Reports for February 9 - 10, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Carnegie Caulfield Tuesday Night Criterium

AFL Park, Mulgrave, February 12, 2002

Another rare warm sunny day this season brought riders out of the woodwork to contest the midweek racing at the testing 2km AFL Park circuit. As is often the case the B and C Grade fields were huge, but the promise of prize money down to sixth place for the Elite riders for the first time saw a few make the leap up to mix it with the big boys.

It wasn't long before the A Grade field started to split up, with James Taylor (ACR), who has had an unusually quiet season due to illness, on the attack with Schroeder Iron's new signing Hilton Clarke. Clarke has won so many races from breakaways this season the bunch knows it is madness to allow him away early, and the race was briefly back together at the 15 minute mark.

Robert Tighello (ACR), who has won most of the other races that Clarke hasn't, was in the next move, with Leigh De Luca, young Jonny Clarke (VIS/Promotion Cycles) and New Zealander Matt Yates. This group would stay clear past he half way mark before Tighello decided to have a go on his own.

The winning move went clear at the 40 minute mark, with Hilton and Jonny Clarke joined by Tighello, Yates, Tom Leaper (Navigators) and Matt Chessum (Fitzroy Cycles). The chase behind kept the main filed in contact, with Doug Garley (Terry Hammond Cycles) and Taylor prominent and De Luca noisily encouraging tiring riders to do their fair share!

With about ten minutes remaining, keen observers noticed some tactical riding develop in the lead group, as Jonny Clarke started to leave a few gaps behind his elder brother and Tighello, forcing the other three out of a comfortable rhythm to jump past him. Eventually, his tactics paid off, and the break split, with only Leaper able to stay with Clarke and Tighello.

Leaper, in his last local race before heading to the US to join his Navigators team, worked tirelessly to keep the group away, while Clarke was happy to sit on. The three riders would fight out the finish together, with Tighello leading out from the final corner. Clarke came round for another win, with Leaper forced to accept third.

The main bunch behind had picked up Chessum and Jonny Clarke, with only Yates surviving in no mans land. He would claim fourth place, while Thaddeus Roos (Bicycle Superstore) lead the bunch home ahead of James Taylor, and Leigh De Luca.

The B Grade field stayed largely together for the duration of their race; after successful breaks for the past few weeks, more riders are taking an interest in what's happening up the pointy end and not letting the known strong men clear.

Ken Mayberry and visiting Irish rider Finton McCormick both tried solo efforts midway through the race, but the race always looked like coming down to a bunch finish. David Sturt (Terry Hammond Cycles) had other ideas, and with two laps to go was charging clear with training partner Bruce Will riding at three quarter pace at the head of the field in support. The move didn't pay off, and the full field was together into the final corner.

The sprint was started too early into the headwind, and Luke French (Grand Prix Cycles) took advantage by biding his time and holding his effort till the final 100 meters to win by a bike length from Paul Richards, Sturt and Grant Jamieson. Liz Taddich was again the best placed lady, ahead of the consistent Priska Doppmann.

C Grade looked headed for a sprint, with the big bunch staying together until the call of three to go. Triathlete Tony McGarrigle was clear next time around, and held off the bunch for a good win and will try B Grade next time round. Leon Melven lead the bunch home ahead of Jack Lumby and Hayden Marcollo. Louisa Hamilton White (SBR) took out the women's event ahead of Rachel Rademaker, and will contest the B Grade event with the Elite women next week.

Big Marcus Hall will make the move to D Grade after streeting the D Grade field in the final sprint, with Matt Boyd leading young Alex Smyth and Gerrard Hurley over for the minor placings. Tess Downing lead the girls home just out of the placings, with Audrey Quick not far behind.


A Grade - 1 hour + 3 laps
1 Hilton Clarke (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
2 Robert Tighello (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
3 Tom Leaper (Navigators)
4 Matt Yates (New Zealand)
5 Thaddeus Roos (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
6 James Taylor (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
B Grade - 55 minutes + 3 laps
1 Luke French (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
2 Paul Richards (Latrobe Valley CC)
3 David Stuurt (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
4 Grant Jamieson (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
Unplaced Women:
1 Liz Taddich (Shepparton)
2 Priska Doppmann (Switzerland)
C Grade - 50 minutes + 3 laps
1 Tony McGarrigle (Noble Park-Dandenong CC)
2 Leon Melven (SK CC)
3 Jack Lumby (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
4 Hayden Marcollo (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
1st Women: Louisa Hamilton White (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
D Grade - 50 minutes + 3 laps
1 Marcus Hall (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
2 Matt Boyd (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
3 Alex Smyth (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
4 Gerard Hurley (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
1st Women: Tess Downing (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
E Grade - 40 minutes + 3 laps
1 Dale Reith (Blackburn CC)
2 Karim McCoy (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
3 Tim Sonellie (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)

Previous Australian Results