Results and Reports for February 2 - 3, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Randwick Botany Cycling Club

Heffron Park, February 3, 2002

West Australian rider, Nathan Jones 19, registered in A Grade for the weekly Randwick Botany Cycling Club criterium race at Heffron Park, Maroubra on Saturday 2 February 2002. Jones, from the Southern Districts Cycling Club in Perth competed in the Skilled Geelong Bay Classic stage race in Victoria during January and has been in Sydney for ten days training and racing. His next major race is The Tour Of Tasmania later in February.

Jones joined 17 other riders in the combined A/B Grade Handicap race over 40km. B Grade had a two minute head start, but was caught by A Grade at the half way mark. `A' Grader Dave Stewart, from the Eastern Suburbs Club, clipped a pedal on a tight corner late in the race, but recovered to power away for a comfortable win with a margin of 150m. Second across the line was Tom Brook from the Parramatta Club followed by Todd Sinclair. The first B Grader to finish was Randwick Botany's Clive Hammerson.

Fifteen riders competed in the C Grade event over 32km. Hans Visch made a strong breakaway with 20 km to go, and was joined by Tony Caruana and Tony Horneman for a short time. The bunch reformed and maintained a demanding pace to the final sprint. Caruana proved too strong, finishing first, losely followed by John Droz, Shaun Ballesty and Tony Horneman.

New Randwick Botany member William Gray 18, from Neutral Bay, won his first race in D Grade at Heffron Park. Janelle Lindsay benefited from her recent training sessions in the Snowy Mountains and rode strongly as did Julie Avakian and Anna Murray from Sydney Cycling Club. Regular rider Ron Sproule finished second and Phillip Chippendale third. Eighteen D Grade riders competed in the race. The E Grade race was conducted over 14km and was won by David Calleja with Luke Davison second and Julia Guinan third.

In Junior racing, the A Grade 6km scratch race was won by Keegan Aitchison followed by Chris Young, Thom Murdoch, Michael Murdoch. The first B Grade Handicap race over 4km was won by Max Gueniev followed by Thom Richards and Andrew Young. The second B Grade Handicap race was won by newcomer Andy Powell with Pita Vea second and Thom Richards third. The C Grade 4km scratch race was won by Adriano Maradini followed by Tayla Aitchison and Nicholas Mellick.

Randwick Botany Cycling Club conducts racing at Heffron Park, Maroubra NSW each Saturday throughout the year. Juniors start at 1.30pm and Seniors 2.30pm. The club also arranges training rides during the week and on the weekend. For more information please contact the club secretary Helen Vella on 02 9667 3307 or website


A/B Grade Handicap - 40km
1 David Stewart (Eastern Suburbs)
2 Tom Brook (Parramatta)
3 Todd Sinclair 
First B Grader: Clive Hammerson
C Grade - 32km
1 Tony Caruana
2 John Droz
3 Shaun Ballesty
4 Tony Horneman
D Grade - 20km
1 William Gray
2 Ron Sproule
3 Phillip Chippendale
E Grade - 14km
1 David Calleja
2 Luke Davison
3 Julia Guinan
F Grade - 14km
1 Kevin Blanchfield
Junior A Grade - 6km
1 Keegan Aitchison
2 Chris Young
3 Thom Murdoch
4 Michael Murdoch
Junior B Grade Handicap Race 1 - 4km
1 Max Gueniev
2 Thom Richards
3 Andrew Young
Junior B Grade Handicap Race 2 - 4km
1 Andy Powell
2 Pita Vea
3 Thom Richards
Junior C Grade - 4km
1 Adriano Maradini
2 Tayla Aitchison
3 Nicholas Mellick
Results courtesy Tony Horneman, Communication Officer, Randwick Botany Cycling Club

Previous Australian Results