Results and Reports for February 2 - 3, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Illawarra Cycle Club - Warilla Criterium

February 3, 2002

Due to the unfavourable weather conditions only the few die hards rode out to Warilla for last weekends criterium.

With only nine starters it was decided to have an 'all in' race over a shorter period of time. Even though they were all in the one race the starter graded the riders into A & B.

Steve Hunter was the top A grader present and soon after the start he made his presence felt. He put the pressure on and caused a big split in the field. Three other riders were able to temporarily stay with him but Adam Hotchkis was the only rider able to keep with him to the finish.

At the finish it was a formality and well deserved win for Hunter. Hotchkis was second with the quickly improving Tony Pulo third.

B grade went to a new rider Neil Midgeley from Lionel Covington and Peter Evans.

Next week's race is a 37.5km scratch race with group 8 providing the marshals. Members please note that the Club presentation will take place following a 27.5km scratch race on Sunday morning March 17.


A Grade - 15 Minutes + 3 Laps
1 Steve Hunter
2 Adam Hotchkis
3 Tony Pulo
4 Joe Pereira
5 Kerry Moroz
B Grade - 15 Minutes + 3 Laps
1 Neil Midgeley
2 Lionel Covington
3 Peter Evans
4 Dylan Forbes

Previous Australian Results