Results and Reports for February 2 - 3, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Carnegie Caulfield Tuesday Night Crit

AFL Park, Mulgrave, February 5, 2002

Very windy conditions didn't affect the start list for this evenings racing, with the second successive midweek field of over 150 riders preparing to slug it out around the tough, windswept AFL Park circuit.

The Elite A Grade race finished up a near duplicate of last week, with the strongest riders going off the front early. Last week the three escapees were brothers Hilton (SBR) and Jonny Clarke (ProMotion Cycles/VIS) and Robert Tighello (ACR). When the same trio launched an attack ten minutes in this week, the bunch knew what to expect, and initially the group also included riders of the caliber of Chris Carr (SBR) and Leongatha Wheelrace winner Nick Sanderson.

One by one the lead group was reduced until just the familiar three remained. Their lead grew towards the two minute mark by the end of the race, and the bunch was in danger of being lapped by the smooth pedaling trio. The willing legs of Guy Green, Doug Garley (Terry Hammond Cycles), Matt Chessum and Tom Leaper (Navigators) in the bunch prevented the capture, but the final result was never in doubt.

Hilton Clarke didn't take out the race for once, as he was forced to lead out the dash to the line, allowing Tighello to come round him for the win. Tom Leaper left the bunch round the back of the circuit to claim fourth place ahead of the remnants of the bunch what seemed like hours later to the spectators braving the winds at the finish line!

The results of the A Grade races may be starting to sound a little monotonous, thanks to the form of Clarke and Tighello. In an attempt to keep the enthusiasm of the A Grade bunch high, next week the prize list will extend to 6th place, with a Masters prize a possibility if the finish line judges can deal with the pressure!

B Grade saw a race blown apart by the undisputed strongman of the bunch, Grant 'Bricky' Matthews. Never scared to set the pace or go off the front, the windy conditions suited him perfectly as he joined the early move of seven riders, along with Simon Hurren (Le Tour Cycles - riding a borrowed bike after snapping a gear cable riding to the circuit), Shane Mills (O'Mara Cycles), Ken Ford, Michael Bailey, Jason Wakelin and (Dr) Russell Newnham.

With Bricky doing the lions share of the pace, and many riders in the bunch finding the gusting winds to hard to handle, another small group got together in pursuit. With Bruce Will, Justin Davis (O'Mara Cycles), Paul Kennedy, Gary Trowell and David Sturt contributing to the chase, a pursuit race developed for the final 20 minutes of the race, with the main field well out of contention. Coming up to three laps to go it looked like the groups would merge, but a strong solo bridging effort from Sturt saw him join the leading group, and the others lost momentum and looked out of it.

The Bricky turned on the afterburners on the last lap, and crossed the line alone for a great win, with Wakelin and Hurren following shortly after. Newnham looked to have fourth sown up, but ran out of steam in the closing meters to have Bailey sneak away with the prize money.

The C Grade race also saw a small group go clear and hold off the large bunch. Tony Dean, Ross Edwards, Tony McGarrigle and Andrew Beasley cleared off at the 28 minute mark and comfortably held off the chasers to cross the line in that order. Andy Cameron showed he still has a good turn of speed in leading the bunch home, and again it appeared that many of the C Graders did not realize that all the prize money was up the road!

Rachel Rademacher will certainly move back to C Grade, after taking out the final sprint in the D Grade event, ahead of up and coming juniors Peter Johnstone and Alex Smythe. Gerard Hurley took the final place for the second week in a row in a tight finish.

Liz Taddich turned the tables on Priska Doppmann from last week, taking the prestigious Women's prize in B Grade. The two women were the only ladies to complete the distance from a classy start list of Elite riders racing with the B Grade men. Japanese rider Miyoko Karami may well join the B Grade starters next week. In Melbourne training for the upcoming Tour de Snowy and World Cup races, she acquitted herself well by taking the Women's prize in C Grade. Under 15 star Tess Downing once again took the unplaced women's prize in D Grade, fresh from a clean sweep of the Junior events at the Leongatha Track Carnival.


A Grade - 1 hour+ 3 laps
1 Robert Tighello (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
2 Hilton Clarke (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
3 Jonny Clarke (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
4 Tom Leaper (Navigators)
B Grade - 55 minutes + 3 laps
1 Grant Matthews (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
2 Jason Wakelin (Knox CC)
3 Simon Hurren (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
4 Michael Bailey (Dirt Riders CC)
1st woman: Liz Taddich (Shepparton)
2nd woman: Priska Doppmann (Switzerland)
C Grade - 50 minutes + 3 laps
1 Tony Dean (Blackburn CC)
2 Cam Winn (Dirt Riders CC)
3 Tony McGarrigle (Noble Park-Dandenong CC)
4 Andrew Beasley (Noble Park-Dandenong CC)
1st woman: Miyoko Karami (Japan)
D Grade - 50 minutes + 3 laps
1 Rachel Rademacher (Blackburn CC)
2 Peter Johnstone (Chelsea & Peninsula CC)
3 Alex Smyth (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
4 Gerard Hurley (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)
1st woman: Tess Downing (Balance Carnegie Caulfield CC)

Previous Australian Results