106th Melbourne - Warrnambool - 1.5

Australia, October 13, 2001

2000 Results    Past winners

McKenzie wins Warny for the first time

Courtesy of Brian Farrell and Brendan Rowbotham

Victorian David McKenzie has continued his successful domestic season, beating Peter Milostic again to take his first ever Melbourne-Warrnambool, Australia's longest classic at 275 kilometres. McKenzie put an almighty attack on McDonalds Hill with approximately two kilometres to go, to solo in for the win.

On the podium McKenzie said he was wrapt in the win as he had ridden six Warrnambools but never placed. Now he will concentrate of the Sun Tour and hopefully get a team for next year.

The race was characterised by a break with about 10 riders, including McKenzie, Milostic and Eugen Wacker (Mroz) starting at Werribee, which was eventually reduced to 8 riders. All the points and KOM's were contested by the group of 8 with Eugen Wacker taking the overall prize for this category.

As they reached Camperdown, a front came in then more heavy gusts and heavy squalls of rain. After this, the group worked well to hold of a group of 15 chasers at about 3 minutes. The chasing group was reduced in size and could not bridge the gap. McKenzie, who last month won the prestigious Grafton to Inverell classic, kept his cool before launching the race winning move with two kilometres to go.

In the Veteran's Camperdown-Warrnambool, the winner was M Pell (Central Vets, Div 5) riding off 24 minutes. The fastest time was scratch marker David Lunn (Colac) for the third time in succession. It was a very fast race with an early tailwind which changed to a crosswind, but finished before the rain.

Results - 275 km

1 David McKenzie (Aus) Vic              7.01.55
2 Peter Milostic (Aus) Penrith Panthers
3 Eugen Wacker (Kza) Mroz
4 Alexandre Chouffe (Fra)
5 Corey Sweet SA
6 Andrew Torney (Aus) Vic
7 Brendan Rowbotham (Aus) Vic (B Grade)
8 David Pell (Aus) (Aus) Vic
9 Henk Vogels (Aus) WA
9 Remigius Lupeikis (Ltu)

Henk Vogels and Remigius Lupeikis awarded equal 9th.

B Grade
1 Brendan Rowbotham (Aus) Vic

C Grade
Robert Orr (Aus) Vic
D Grade
Chris Carr (Aus) Vic

Courtesy of Caribou Publications

Past winners

2000 Hilton Clarke (Aus) Carnegie
1999 Jamie Drew (Aus)
1998 Bart Heirewegh (Bel)
1997 Daniel Schnider (Swi)
1996 Chris White (Aus)
1995 Brendan McAuliffe (Aus)
1994 Gavin Parsonage (Aus)
1993 Dean Woods (Aus)
1992 Peter Besanko (Aus)
1991 Andrew Stirling (Aus)
1990 Robert Jordan (Aus)

Past winners by Mario Stiehl, Berlin