44th GP E3-Harelbeke - 1.1

Belgium, March 31, 2001

2000 Results    Results    Past winners

Tchmil makes it two in a row

Andrei Tchmil has overcome his early season physical problems to win the 44th edition of the GP E3-Harelbeke for the second time. The Belgian Lotto rider attacked with 19 kilometres to go to beat German Steffen Wesemann (Telekom) and Slovenian Martin Hvastja (Alessio) by over a minute. Jo Planckaert (Cofidis) led what was left of the bunch home for 4th place.

The final selection in the race was made at Oude Kwaremont with 40 kilometres to go. Many of the favourites were in this group, including Tchmil, Wesemannm Hoffman (CSC), Zberg (Rabobank), Vainsteins (Domo) and Mattan (Cofidis). However, Tchmil launched his final attack on the Tiegemberg, with 19 kilometres to go and no-one could follow.

With just one week to go before the Ronde van Vlaanderen, the defending champion is looking in good form. "I was not sure I could win it if it came to a sprint," said Tchmil afterwards. "Therefore I attacked on the last climb. I gritted my teeth and went for it."

"I am happy with this victory, even though I am concerned about my back. I was in a lot of pain today but I hope it will get better during the course of the week."


1 Andrej Tchmil (Bel) Lotto-Adecco                   5.08.49 (40.41 km/h)
2 Steffen Wesemann (Ger) Deutsche Telekom               1.08
3 Martin Hvastija (Slo) Alessio                         1.10
4 Jo Planckaert (Bel) Cofidis                           1.16
5 Tristan Hoffman (Ned) CSC-Worldonline
6 Gabriele Balducci (Ita) Tacconi Sport-Vini Caldirola
7 Andrej Hauptman (Slo) Tacconi Sport-Vini Caldirola
8 Chris Peers (Bel) Cofidis
9 Davide Casarotto (Ita) Alessio
10 Markus Zberg (Swi) Rabobank
11 Aart Vierhouten (Ned) Rabobank
12 Marco Serpellini (Ita) Lampre-Daikin
13 Nico Mattan (Bel) Cofidis
14 Romans Vainsteins (Lat) Domo-Farm Frites
15 Daniele Nardello (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step               3.05
16 Hans De Clercq (Bel) Lotto-Adecco                     4.40
17 Tom Desmet (Bel) Bankgiroloterij-Batavus              4.52
18 Servais Knaven (Ned) Domo-Farm Frites                 5.05
19 Philippe Gaumont (Fra) Cofidis
20 Mauro Gerosa (Ita) Tacconi Sport-Vini Caldirola
21 Arvis Piziks (Lat) CSC-World Online
22 Alberto Vinale (Ita) Alessio
23 Thierry Marichal (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
24 Matteo Tosatto (Ita) Fassa Bortolo
25 Peter Farazijn (Bel) Cofidis
26 Maarten Den Bakker (Ned) Rabobank
27 Andreas Klier (Ger) Team Deutsche Telekom
28 Andrei Tcherviakov (Rus) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago
29 Kristof Trouve (Bel) Collstrop-Palmans                8.05
30 Koen Beeckman (Bel) CSC-World Online                 13.45 

Outside time limit:

31 Gianluca Bortolami (Ita) Tacconi Sport-Vini Caldirola
32 Fabrizio Guidi (Ita) Mercury-Viatel
33 Tjarco Cuppens (Ned) Flanders-Prefetex
34 Miquel Van Kessel (Ned) Team Gerolsteiner
35 Danilo Hondo (Ger) Team Deutsche Telekom
36 Plamen Stoianov (Bul) Mercury-Viatel
37 Jacob Moe Rasmussen (Den) CSC-World Online
38 James Vanlandschoot (Bel) Vlaanderen-T Interim
39 Lars Michaelsen (Den) Team Coast
40 Ralf Grabsch (Ger) Team Deutsche Telekom
41 Jay Sweet (Aus) Bigmat-Auber 93
42 Remco Van Der Ven (Ned) Bankgiroloterij-Batavus
43 Raphael Schweda (Ger) Team Coast
44 Paul Van Hyfte (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
45 Stefano Casagranda (Ita) Alessio
46 Stephan Schreck (Ger) Deutsche Telekom 
47 Sven Nys (Bel) Rabobank
48 Diego Ferrari (Ita) Tacconi Sport-Vini Caldirola
49 Mariano Piccoli (Ita) Lampre-Daikin
50 Martin Van Steen (Ned) Bankgiroloterij-Batavus
51 Scott Sunderland (Aus) Team Fakta
52 Davide Bramati (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step
53 Hendrik Van Dyck (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
54 Eric De Clercq (Bel) Collstrop-Palmans
55 Fabian De Waele (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
56 Jurgen Guns (Bel) Vlaanderen-T Interim
57 Paolo Bossoni (Ita) Tacconi Sport-Vini Caldirola
58 Zoran Klemencic (Slo) Tacconi Sport-Vini Caldirola
59 Nicolas Jalabert (Fra) CSC-World Online
60 Marco Milesi (Ita) Domo-Farm Frites
61 Nico Eeckhout (Bel) Lotto-Adecco

Past winners

2000  Serguei Ivanov (Rus) Farm Frites         209 kms in 5.13.00 (40.06 km/h)
1999  Peter Van Petegem (Bel) TVM-Farm Frites  206 kms in 4.39.10 (44.301 km/h)
1998  Johan Museeuw (Bel) Mapei-Bricobi        201 kms in 4.48.00
1997  Hendrik Van Dyck (Bel)
1996  Carlo Bomans (Bel)
1995  Bart Leysen (Bel)
1994  Andrej Tchmil (Mda)
1993  Mario Cipollini (Ita)
1992  Johan Museeuw (Bel)
1991  Olaf Ludwig (Ger)
1990  Sören Lilholt (DÄN)
1989  Eddy Planckaert (Bel)
1988  Guido Bontempi (Ita)
1987  Eddy Planckaert (Bel)
1986  Eric Vanderaerden (Bel)
1985  Phil Anderson (AUS)
1984  Bert Oosterbosch (Ned)
1983  Willy Tackaert (Bel)
1982  Jean Bogaert (Bel)
1981  Jan Raas (Ned)
1980  Jan Raas (Ned)
1979  Jan Raas (Ned)
1978  Freddy Maertens (Bel)
1977  Dietrich Thurau (Ger)
1976  Walter Planckaert (Bel)
1975  Frans Verbeeck (Bel)
1974  Herman Vanspringel (Bel)
1973  Willy In'T'Ven (Bel)
1972  Hubert Hutsebaut (Bel)
1971  Roger De Vlaeminck (Bel)
1970  Daniel Van Ryckegem (Bel)
1969  Rik Van Looy (Bel)
1968  Jacques De Boever (Bel)
1967  Willy Bocklant (Bel)
1966  Rik Van Looy (Bel)
1965  Rik Van Looy (Bel)
1964  Rik Van Looy (Bel)
1963  Noél Fore (Bel)
1962  André Messelis (Bel)
1961  Arthur De Carbooter (Bel)
1960  Daniel Doom (Bel)
1959  Norbert Kerckhove (Bel)
1958  Armand Desmet (Bel)

Past winners by Mario Stiehl, Berlin