Irish National Championships - CN

Dundrod, Ireland, July 1, 2001

2000 Results

McCann is Irish Champion

By Tommy Campbell, Irish Independent/Evening Herald/Sunday Independent

David McCann proved to all and sundry that he was a worthy winner of Irish Cycling Road Championship. Yesterday he stole the show when he literally blitzed his breakaway companions in the final three miles of the 97-mile event held on the Dunrod Circuit on the outskirts of Belfast.

McCann is a professional with the CCC Mat team in Poland, and his racing in Europe showed, as he was definitely the fittest man in the peloton.

Of the 110 starters only 50 finished the fairly hilly course, which indicates the pace of the event as it was held in otherwise perfect conditions. Lap 2, of the 15 lap race, saw a breakaway group of 17, including McCann take control of the race.

As the championships entered the last three laps, 7 moved forward with David the commander-in-chief of the group. On the penultimate lap, Eugene Moriarty was the first to lose contact because of the incessant pressure that was being applied in particular by David and the eventual runner-up, Mark Scanlon. Going through the bell it looked as though the crowd were going to be treated to a sprint finish. However, with three miles to go, as the group approached the final climb of the day, McCann accelerated out of Irelands Corner and in the blink of an eye had opened a substantial gap. By the finish McCann was over a minute up on the other riders.

Former world junior champion Mark Scanlon edged out Paddy Moriarty for the runner-up's spot.

As the first back-to-back winners of the championship, David was full of admiration for the organisation, "I have to say, I regard as it one of the best victories of my career. Better than last years win in Cork. I came as favourite, but inwardly the pressure was enormous because it was my former club Phoenix Road CC who organised the championships and as you know I'm a local. Now I can celebrate with family and friends," said David.

In the team prize, Cycleways proved best with Eugene Moriarty being compensated with a team medal along with Philip Cassidy and Adrian Heddermann.

In the ladies event, Geraldine Gill dictated the pace and eventually was an easy winner from a field of 11 starters.

McCann Wins Road Champs

By Jim Trainor,

David McCann became the first rider since the great Shay Elliott (1954/55) to win back-to-back Irish Senior Road Race Championships when he won the Phoenic CC promotion, sponsored by Lisburn Borough Council, on the Dundrod circuit yesterday. In the Ladies championship it was also a double for Geraldine Gill (VC Lanion) who also came back from the continent to successfully defend the title she won Hilltown a year ago.

McCann, a professional with the Polish CCC-Mat team, is a member of the Phoenix club who put a tremendous amount of work into the promotion, part of their 50th anniversary celebrations. A big crowd turned out both the Pits and the top of the Deers Leap to watch the 97 miles race.

The start was delayed by 40 minutes because of a car crash just past the start. Immediately after the start a 17 man group went away which contained most of the race favourites. Notable absentee was Tommy Evans (VC La Pome) who went in putsuit with John Bann Lavery (VC Mayenne), Greg Swinnard (USher IRC) and Brendan Doherty (Provision) but although they held the leaders around a minute for most of the race there was too much firepower up front. Evans eventually came through to finish 11th.

The 17 leaders were down to 14 by the fifth of thirteen 7.4 mile laps when they had a lead of 1.10 on the Evans group with a further 17 man chasing group another minute behind with the big bunch behind starting to split in two. At the start of lap 8 Phillip Cassidy (Cycleways) attacked and went 20 seconds clear with Dave McDonald (Orwell). When they were caught McCann attacked and was joined by six others as Cassidy, McDonald, Denis Easton (Maryland Whs.), Gary McQuaid (Emerald) and Ciaran Power (St. Quentin) lost contact with the leaders.

With three laps to go McCann tested the water with an attack which saw him hold a 20 second lead for most of a lap before a chase, mainly led by Mark Scanlon (VC La Pomme) brought him back. On the final lap McCann went again as Eugene Moriarty (Cycleways) had cramp and dropped out of the break. The defending champion inexorably extended his lead and coming into the long final straight, 1.2 miles from the finish he had over 30 seconds which he stretched to 1.12 over the long final drag into the wind.

Scanlon used his well-known sprinting powers to take silver ahead of Paddy Moriarty, Paul Griffin (unatt.), David Peelo (Usher IRC) and Ray Clarke (Classic Walls). Cycleways goot the team with 54 points to the 62 of Usher IRC.

In the ladies event Geraldine Gill went from the first laps and stayed out in front in spite of the best effrorts of Susan O'meara (Team Letchworth) who eventually finished over 3 minutes back. Norther Dave Kane girls Debbie Booth and Lisa Rodgers fought out the bronze which went to Booth.

Elite Men Road Race - 155 km

1 David McCann (CCC-Mat)              3.51.17
2 Mark Scanlon (VC La Pomme)             1.12
2 Paddy Moriarty (Dublinb Skip)
4 Paul Griffin (unatt.)
5 David Peelo (Usher IRC)
6 Ray Clarke (Classic Walls)
7 Ciaran Power (St. Quentin-Oktos)       7.41
8 G. McQuaid (Emerald CC)                7.42
9 D. Easton (Maryland Whs.)
10 Eugene Moriarty (Cycleways)           7.57
11 T. Evans (VC La Pomme)               11.50
12 D. McDonald (Bell Orwell)            13.44
13 P. Cassidy (Cycleways)               15.42
14 G. Cranston (Northern Dave Kane)     15.44
15 M. O'Loughlin (Carrick Cidona)

Starters: 115
Finishers: 39 


1 Cycleways (E. Moriarty P. Cassidy A. Hedderman)    54 pts
2 Usher IRC (D. Peelo, P. Healion G. Swinard)        62 pts

Elite Women Road Race - 60 km

1 Geraldine Gill (VC Lanion)           1.45.59
2 Susan O'meara (Team Letchworth)         3.07
3 Debbie Booth (Northern Dave kane)       5.06
4 Lisa Rodgers (Northern Dave Kane)       5.44
5 M. Crinnion (Usher IRC)                 9.45
6 L. Moriarty (Dublin Skip)              10.16

Time Trial championship (40 km)


1 Gary McKeegan (Team Madigan)           55.01
2 B. Morrow (East Antrim Audi)            1.24
3 J. Boone (South Derry Whs.)             2.42
4 T. Wilson (Ballymena Scott RC)          3.10
5 S. Lindsay (West Down Whs.)             4.11
6 R. Bankhead (Ballymena Scott RC)        4.17
7 W. Morrow (East Antrim Audi)            4.49
8 B. Campbell (Kings Moss)                4.59
9 W. hamilton (Whitline West Down Whs.)   5.00
10 M. Smyth (unatt.)                      5.02


East Antrim Audi (B. Morrow, W. Morrow, A. Cranston)    2.56.29
Junior Men
1 Shaun Turner (Ballymena Scott RC)      1.02.53
2 R. Connor (Ballymena Scott RC)            1.38
3 P. Hanna (Ballymena Scott RC)             4.17


Ballymena Scott RC                  3.14.41

First Lady

1 Mary Boyd (Roe Valley)