81st Volta a Catalunya - 2.HC

Spain, June 21- 28, 2001

Main page    Results

Stage 1 - June 21: Sabadell - Sabadell TTT, 24.4 km

Team TT puts ONCE in the driving seat

Click for larger image
Photo: © AFP

In an unconventional start to the Tour of Catalonia, the ONCE team powered to victory in the first stage's team time trial over a deceptive course that included false flat sections. As the first member of the team across the line Marcos Serrano becomes nominal race leader, but his team-mates Jorg Jaksche and Joseba Beloki are stronger tips for the overall win, and it's their 47 second advantage over the field that ONCE will be defending over the next several days.

For some of the favourites, the weakness of their team in today's race of truth could mean the race is over before it really gets started. It's hard to see how Roberto Heras (US Postal) and Pavel Tonkov (Mercury-Viatel) can come back from deficits of 1:51 and three minutes respectively against a confident and powerful ONCE.

That said, this race will be decided in the mountains. Friday's 173.5km stage from Sabadell to Blanes starts the climbing action with two first category and two second category climbs.


1 Marcos A. Serrano (Spa) O.N.C.E.-Eroski                  25.13
2 Santos Gonzalez (Spa) O.N.C.E.-Eroski
3 Jorg Jaksche (Ger) O.N.C.E.-Eroski
4 Joseba Beloki (Spa) O.N.C.E.-Eroski
5 Igor Gonzalez (Spa) O.N.C.E.-Eroski
6 Angel Luis Casero (Spa) Festina                           0.47
7 Jaime Javie Hernandez (Spa) Festina
8 Felix M. Garcia (Spa) Festina
9 Sven Teutenberg (Ger) Festina
10 Luis Perez (Spa) Festina
11 Oscar Sevilla (Spa) Kelme-Costa Blanca                   0.53
12 Javi Pascual Llorente (Spa) Kelme-Costa Blanca
13 Felix Rafael Cardenas (Col) Kelme-Costa Blanca
14 Santiago Botero (Col) Kelme-Costa Blanca
15 Jose Enriqu Gutierrez (Spa) Kelme-Costa Blanca
16 Aitor Gonzalez (Spa) Kelme-Costa Blanca
17 Jos‚ Maria Jimenez (Spa) Ibanesto.Com                    0.58
18 Jav Pascual Rodriguez (Spa) Ibanesto.Com
19 Aitor Osa (Spa) Ibanesto.Com
20 Eladio Jimenez (Spa) Ibanesto.Com
21 Santiago Blanco (Spa) Ibanesto.Com
22 Jose V. Garcia Acosta (Spa) Ibanesto.Com
23 Unai Osa (Spa) Ibanesto.Com
24 Marzio Bruseghin (Ita) Ibanesto.Com
25 Danilo Hondo (Ger) Telekom                               1.08
26  Heppner,Jens (Ger) Telekom
27 Kai Hundertmark (Ger) Telekom
28 Andreas Kloden (Ger) Telekom
29 Stephan Schreck (Ger) Telekom
30  Flecha,Juan Antonio (Spa) Col.Relax-Fuenlabrada         1.10
31 David Vazquez (Spa) Col.Relax-Fuenlabrada
32 Oscar Laguna (Spa) Col.Relax-Fuenlabrada
33 Benjamin Noval (Spa) Col.Relax-Fuenlabrada
34 Jose Manuel Vazquez (Spa) Col.Relax-Fuenlabrada
35 Jonathan Vaughters (USA) Credit-Agricole                 1.13
36 Bobby Julich (USA) Credit-Agricole
37 Pierrick Fedrigo (Fra) Credit-Agricole
38 Ludovic Martin (Fra) Credit-Agricole
39 Stuart O'grady (Aus) Credit-Agricole
40 Fabrice Gougot (Fra) Credit-Agricole
41 Angel Castresana (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi                 1.18
42 Haimar Zubeldia (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
43 Igor Flores (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
44 Ruben Diaz De Cerio (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
45 Roberto Laiseka (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
46 Alber Lopez De Munain (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
47 Jose Ivan Gutierrez (Spa) O.N.C.E.-Eroski                1.21
48 Ivan Ramiro Parra (Col) O.N.C.E.-Eroski
49 Rafael Diaz (Spa) O.N.C.E.-Eroski
50 Marco Velo (Ita) Mercatone-Albacom                       1.28
51 Daniele De Paoli (Ita) Mercatone-Albacom
52 Daniel Clavero (Spa) Mercatone-Albacom
53 Maurizio Caravaggio (Ita) Mercatone-Albacom
54 Massimo Podenzana (Ita) Mercatone-Albacom
55 Max Van Heeswijk (Ned) Domo-Farm Frites                  1.29
56 Romans Vainsteins (Lat) Domo-Farm Frites
57 Fred Rodriguez (USA) Domo-Farm Frites
58 Marco Milesi (Ita) Domo-Farm Frites
59 Enrico Cassani (Ita) Domo-Farm Frites
60 Koos Moerenhout (Ned) Domo-Farm Frites
61 Miguel A M.Perdiguero (Spa) Cantina Tollo                1.34
62 Massimo Giunti (Ita) Cantina Tollo
63 Serguei Yakovlev (Kaz) Cantina Tollo
64 Roberto Conti (Ita) Cantina Tollo
65 Massimiliano Gentili (Ita) Cantina Tollo
66 Raphael Schweda (Ger) Team Coast                         1.35
67 Fernando Escartin (Spa) Team Coast
68 Aitor Garmendia (Spa) Team Coast
69 Frank Hoj (Den) Team Coast
70 Edouard Gritsoun (Rus) Team Coast
71 Gianpaolo Mondini (Ita) Mercatone-Albacom                1.35
72 Alessandro Bertolini (Ita) Alessio                       1.40
73 Pietro Caucchioli (Ita) Alessio
74 Mauro Zanetti (Ita) Alessio
75 Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Alessio
76 Ivan Gotti (Ita) Alessio
77 Marco Pinotti (Ita) Lampre-Daikin                        1.48
78 Ludo Dierckxsens (Bel) Lampre-Daikin
79 Matteo Frutti (Ita) Lampre-Daikin
80 Jan Svorada (Cze) Lampre-Daikin
81 Gabriele Missaglia (Ita) Lampre-Daikin
82 Marco Serpellini (Ita) Lampre-Daikin
83 Levy Leipheimer (USA) U.S. Postal Service                1.51
84 Victor Hugo Peña (Col) U.S. Postal Service
85 Antonio Cruz (USA) U.S. Postal Service
86 Roberto Heras (Spa) U.S. Postal Service
87 Benoit Joachim (Lux) U.S. Postal Service
88 Juan Carlos Vicario (Spa) Festina                        2.08
89 Iban Sastre (Spa) Festina
90 Rafael Casero (Spa) Festina
91 Magnus Backstedt (Swe) Credit-Agricole                   2.11
92 Carlos Torrent (Spa) Jazztel-Costa Almeria               2.24
93 Serguei Smetanine (Rus) Jazztel-Costa Almeria
94 Aitor Kintana (Spa) Jazztel-Costa Almeria
95 Eleuterio Anguita (Spa) Jazztel-Costa Almeria
96 Fabio Testi (Ita) Jazztel-Costa Almeria
97 Torsten Hiekmann (Ger) Telekom                           2.27
98 Ralf Grabsch (Ger) Telekom
99 Giovanni Lombardi (Ita) Telekom
100 Jose Angel Vidal (Spa) Kelme-Costa Blanca               2.36
101 Antonio Tauler (Spa) Kelme-Costa Blanca
102 Johan Verstrepen (Bel) Lampre-Daikin
103 Mikel Artetxe (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi                   2.39
104 Josu Silloniz (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
105 David Fernandez (Spa) Col.Relax-Fuenlabrada             2.40
106 Carlos Ramon Golbano (Spa) Jazztel-Costa Almeria        2.47
107 Lars Michaelsen (Den) Team Coast
108 Malte Urban (Ger) Team Coast
109 Fabiano Fontanelli (Ita) Mercatone-Albacom              2.57
110 Alessandr Spezialetti (Ita) Cantina Tollo               3.00
111 Karel Vereecke (Bel) Domo-Farm Frites
112 Steve De Wolf (Bel) Domo-Farm Frites
113 Paolo Valoti (Ita) Alessio
114 Pavel Tonkov (Rus) Mercury-Viatel
115 Fabrizio Guidi (Ita) Mercury-Viatel
116 Jamie Drew (Aus) Mercury-Viatel
117 Leon Van Bon (Ned) Mercury-Viatel
118 Chann Mcrae (USA) Mercury-Viatel
119 Andrea Ferrigato (Ita) Alessio
120 Raffaele Ferrara (Ita) Alessio
121 German Nieto (Spa) Col.Relax-Fuenlabrada
122 C‚Sar Garcia (Spa) Col.Relax-Fuenlabrada
123 Thorsten Rund (Ger) Team Coast
124 Anthony Langella (Fra) Credit-Agricole
125 Zbigniew Spruch (Pol) Lampre-Daikin
126 Fabio Roscioli (Ita) Jazztel-Costa Almeria
127 Juan Carlos Guillamon (Spa) Jazztel-Costa Almeria
128 Roberto Savoldi (Ita) Mercatone-Albacom
129 Cristian Gasperoni (Ita) Cantina Tollo
130 Simone Masciarelli (Ita) Cantina Tollo
131 Julian Dean (NZl) U.S. Postal Service
Teams classification
1 O.N.C.E.-Eroski               1.15.39
2 Festina                          2.21
3 Kelme-Costa Blanca               2.39
4 Ibanesto.Com                     2.54
5 Deutsche Telekom                 3.24
6 Col.Relax-Fuenlabrada            3.30
7 Credit-Agricole                  3.39
8 Euskaltel-Euskadi                3.54
9 Mercatone-Albacom                4.24
10 Domo-Farm Frites                4.27
11 Cantina Tollo                   4.42
12 Team Coast                      4.45
13 Alessio                         5.00
14 Lampre-Daikin                   5.24
15 U.S. Postal Service             5.33
16 Jazztel-Costa Almeria           7.12
17 Mercury-Viatel                  9.33