12th Giro d'Italia Femminile - 2.9.1

Italy, July 1-15, 2001

Main Page    Results    Previous stage

Stage 2b - July 3: Cantania - Cantania, 56 km

Gilmore wins the sprint in Catania

Rochelle Gilmore of the Australian national team has won the scond half-stage in Catania, a 55.2 km circuit stage along the same roads used for the 1994 world time trial championships. The Australian rider beat Olga Slioussareva of Russia who rides for the Carpe Diem Itera team and the Italian national champion Greta Zocca of the Gas Sport Team who won yesterday in Milazzo.

The Catania half-stage did not change the overall standings of this morning's semi-stage to Adrano. Zinaida Stahurskaia is still the race leader.

Tomorrow the third stage from Biancavilla-Messina over 126 km is the last stage in Sicily before the transfer to the Italian mainland. However after only two days of racing, the Giro seems to have a clear shape and a definitive list of possible winners. The Gas Sport Team looks especially strong with two stage wins and three jerseys.

"I felt good after taking it steady this morning and so I told my teammates to set me up for the sprint," said Gilmore afterwards. "They did a great job and lead me out with three kilometres to go. I was boxed in by the Acca Due O team who were marking me but I managed to get through. I was third wheel in the sprint and went past Stahurskaia and Slioussereva to win."

"This is my first year on the road. I've raced on the track for two years. I won a place on the Australian national squad and so I'm living in Europe for six months. I'm only 19 and it's hard being away from home but I'm enjoying it. I rode the track world cup at the weekend, finishing second in the points race. Straight after I flew to Sicily to start the Giro."

"This is a great win for me. I finished third in the Canberra World Cup race earlier this year and I've had several placings in Italian races but this is a great first win. I hope I can get some more."

Courtesy of www.girodonne.com


1 Rochelle Gilmore (Aus) Australia                    1.15.38 (44.43 km/h)
2 Olga Slioussareva (Rus) Carpe Diem Itera
3 Greta Zocca (Ita) Gas Sport Team
4 Diana Ziliute (Ltu) Accadueo Lorena
5 Monica Valen (Nor) Team Sponsor Service
6 Barbara Cazzaniga (Ita) Chirio Forno d'Asolo
7 Mirjam Melchers (Ned) Accadueo Lorena
8 Katia Longhin (Ita) Accadueo Lorena
9 Sara Felloni (Ita) Team Alfa Lum
10 Anna Skawinska (Pol) Ciegi Professional Cycling Team

General classification after stage 2b

1 Zinaida Stahurskaia (Blr) GAS Sprort Team            7.19.20
2 Diana Ziliute (Ltu) Accadueo Lorena                     0.10
3 Nicole Brandli (Swi) Edilsavino Anusca 
4 Rosalisa Lapomarda (Ita) Rosa dei Venti 
5 Fabiana Luperini (Ita) Edilsavino Anusca
6 Alessandra Cappellotto (Ita) Gas Sport Team             0.23
7 Edita Pucinskaite (Ltu) Alfa Lum Aurora                 0.26
8 Joane Somarriba (Spa) Alfa Lum Aurora                   0.33
9 Susanne Ljungkog (Swe) Vlaanderen T-Interim             1.05
10 Cindy Pieters (Bel) Vlaanderen T-Interim               1.13
11 Severine Desbouys (Fra) Gas Sport Team
12 Mirjam Melchers (Ned) G.S. Acca Due O - H.P. Lorena    2.19
13 Simona Parente (Ita) G.S.Edilsavino Anusca             2.56
14 Mari Holden (USA) Team Alfa Lum Aurora R.S.M.
15 Roberta Bonanomi (Ita) Gas Sport Team                  4.12
16 Priska Doppmann (Swi) G.S. Acca Due O - H.P. Lorena    5.38
17 Zita Urbonaite (Ltu) G.S. Acca Due O - H.P. Lorena     6.06
18 Olga Zabelinskaja (Rus) Carpe Diem Itera Cycling Team
19 Tatiana Stiajkina (Ukr) Team Alfa Lum Aurora R.S.M.
20 Marianna Lorenzoni (Ita) G.S. Team Aliverti
21 Marcia Eicher (Swi) Carpe Diem Itera Cycling Team
22 Kym Shirley (Aus) A.I.E. Australia National Team
23 Fatima Blazquez Lozano (Spa) S.C. Michela Fanini Record Rox
24 Daniela Veronesi (Ita) Team Alfa Lum Aurora R.S.M.     7.06
25 Fany Lecourtois (Fra) Team Alfa Lum Aurora R.S.M.      7.48