12th Giro d'Italia Femminile - 2.9.1

Italy, July 1-15, 2001

Main Page    Results    Previous stage

Stage 10 - July 12: Trento - Belluno, 131 km

Brandli wins in Nevegal but Stahurskaia still leads

A spectacular stage after the police raids

Swiss rider Nicole Brandli won the first important race of her career in Nevegal, the tenth stage of the Girodonne. The 22 year-old Edilsavino rider beat Rosalisa La Pomarda and race leader Zinaida Stahurskaia after the three broke away in the final 5 kilometres of the stage. The final climb to the finish created a battle between the first three riders in the overall classification, which finished in a sprint.

"The finish was similar to yesterday's stage," Brandli said. "When the road started to climb we dropped the bunch. Fortunately I managed to win the sprint today and so take my first big win of my career. I think I deserved this win and gave it everything to get it."

The stage was cheered by huge crowds in the mountains and helped calm the riders after the the disturbing police raid of Wednesday night by the Italian drugs police.

After a surprise early break by Fabiana Luperini - who opened a gap of 2:20, the stage was decided on the final climb. Rosalisa La Pomarda deserves a special mention after her two second places in two days. She again showed huge courage and is a name for the future. Race leader Zinaida Stahurskaia was obviously pleased to stay in the pink jersey. She also put more time into her rivals Ziliute and Cappellotto before the decisive time trial on Sunday from Cornuda to Valdobbiadene.

"The final stage is my only real worry now," she said. "Even if I can't forget the finish to Paularo, especially if there's bad weather like today."

Tomorrow the Girodonne arrives in the Fruili region with the start and finish of the stage in Paularo. It is a difficult stage with a KOM sprint at 1010m at Ligosullo with just 8km from the finish. The stage starts at 12:00 and finishes at 2:40 after 89.5km of racing.

Report courtesy of girodonne.com


1 Nicole Brandli (Swi) Edilsavino Anusca       3.52.41 (33.780 km/h)
2 Rosalisa Lapomarda (Ita)                   
3 Zinaida Stahurskaia (Blr)
4 Diana Ziliute (Ltu)                             1.12
5 Fabiana Luperini (Ita)                          1.15
6 Mirjam Melchers (Ned)                           1.18
7 Alessandra Cappellotto (Ita)                    1.37
8 Olga Zabrlinskaja (Rus)                         1.51
9 Susanne Ljungskog (Swe)                         2.04
10 Edita Pucinskaite (Ltu)
11 Joanne Somarriba (Spa)                         2.18
12 Cindy Pieters (Bel)                            2.23
13 Tatiana Stiajkina (Ukr)                        2.50
14 Svetlana Boubnenkova (Rus)                     3.18
15 Simona Parente (Ita)                           3.27
16 Fatima Blazquez Lozano (Spa)                   3.38
17 Valentina Karpenko (Ukr)                       4.18
18 Marianna Lorenzoni (Ita)
19 Priska Doppmann (Swi)                          4.21
20 Jorunn Kvalo (Nor)
21 Mari Holden (USA)
22 Marcia Eicher (Swi)
23 Tetyana Andrusmchenko (Ukr)
24 Gunn Rita Dhale (Nor)
25 Lara Ruthven (USA)

General classification after stage 10

1 Zinaida Stahurskaia (Blr) Gas Sport Team    33.06.51 (36.542 km/h)
2 Nicole Brandli (Swi)                            0.20
3 Rosalisa Lapomarda (Ita)                        0.58
4 Alessandra Cappellotto (Ita)                    3.04
5 Edita Pucinskaite (Ltu)                         4.30
6 Fabiana Luperini (Ita)                          4.32
7 Diana Ziliute (Ltu)                             5.05
8 Joanne Somarriba (Spa)                          6.54
9 Cindy Pieters (Bel)                             9.00
10 Simona Parente (Ita)                          10.30
11 Mirjam Melchers (Ned)                         10.47
12 Olga Zabrlinskaja (Rus)                       12.11
13 Susanne Ljungskog (Swe)                       12.18
14 Mari Holden (USA)                             18.29
15 Marianna Lorenzoni (Ita)                      23.14
16 Marcia Eicher (Swi)                           23.24
17 Priska Doppmann (Swi)                         26.42
18 Tetyana Andrusmchenko (Ukr)                   26.51
19 Zita Urbonaite (Ltu)                          28.08
20 Daniela Veronesi (Ita)                        28.51
21 Valentina Karpenko (Ukr)                      30.40
22 Tatiana Stiajkina (Ukr)                       31.29
23 Roberta Bonanomi (Ita)                        31.57
24 Fatima Blazquez Lozano (Spa)                  32.27
25 Gunn Rita Dhale (Nor)                         36.41