Etoile de Besseges - 2.4

France, February 7-11, 2001

Main Page    Results    Previous stage

Stage 2 - February 8: Septémes les Vallons - Miramas, 150 km

Neo pro strikes in stage 2

Click for larger image
Steffen Radochla
Photo: © AFP

Festina's young German signig, Steffen Radochla, managed to beat the likes of Jaan Kirsipuu and Nico Eeckhout to take the first win of his short professional career. Radochla triumphed at the end of stage two, from Septémes les Vallons to Miramas (150 km), but Eeckhout still retained the leader's jersey.

A flurry of attacks in the first hour saw 45 kilometres being covered, but the 127 rider bunch remained intact. Jean Delatour's Christophe Edaleine saw an opportunity after 60 kilometres, and rode away by himself from the peloton. He took at most 2.10 as the race entered hillier terrain, and won both mountain primes before being caught at kilometre 105.

The attacking continued after that, with Big Mat riders Alexei Sivakov and Domenique Rault prominent, along with several others. Another neo, David Debremaeker (Ville de Charleroi) tried his chance and managed a half minute with 25 kilometres to go before he too was reeled in by the pack.

Everyone was watching Kirsipuu and Jo Planckaert for the sprint, but the young German Radochla attacked on the opposite side of the road to take a surprising win in front of Kirsipuu.

Lotto's Nico Eeckhout finished third, and therefore still leads the race by 8 seconds from Jakob Piil (CSC) and Chris Peers (Cofidis).


1 Steffen Radochla (Ger) Festina              3.26.50
2 Jaan Kirsipuu (Est) Ag2r Prévoyance
3 Nico Eeckhout (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
4 Jo Planckaert (Bel) Cofidis
5 Lénaïc Olivier (Fra) Jean Delatour
6 Jimmy Casper (Fra) La Française des Jeux
7 Fabien De Waele (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
8 Christophe Detilloux (Bel) Collstrop-Palmans
9 Nicolas Jalabert (Fra) CSC World Online
10 Laurent Brochard (Fra) Jean Delatour
11 Roger Hammond (GBr) Collstrop-Palmans
12 Damien Nazon (Fra) Bonjour
13 Michel Vanhaecke (Bel) Team Landbouwkrediet
14 Paul Van Hyfte (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
15 James Vanlandschoot (Bel) Vlaanderen T Interim
16 Thor Hushovd (Nor) Crédit Agricole
17 Chris Peers (Bel) Cofidis
18 Jakob Piil (Den) CSC World Online
19 Ludovic Auger (Fra) Big Mat-Auber 93
20 Sébastien Talabardon (Fra) Big Mat-Auber 93
21 Guennadi Mikhailov (Rus) Lotto-Adecco
22 Stuart O'Grady (Aus) Crédit Agricole
23 Koen Beeckman (Bel) CSC World Online
24 Tom Flammang (Lux) Cofidis
25 Jan Svorada (Cze) Lampre-Daikin
26 Nico Mattan (Bel) Cofidis
27 Raphaël Jeune (Fra) CSC World Online
28 Jurgen Vermeersch (Bel) Team Landbouwkrediet
29 Alexandre Botcharov (Rus) Ag2r Prévoyance
30 Peter Farazijn (Swi) Cofidis
31 Christophe Bassons (Fra) Jean Delatour
32 Didier Rous (Fra) Bonjour
33 Patrick D'Hondt (Bel) La Française des Jeux
34 Jay Sweet (Aus) Big Mat-Auber 93
35 Andrei Tchmil (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
36 Daniel Schnider (Swi) La Française des Jeux
37 Christophe Moreau (Fra) Festina
38 Jonathan Vaughters (USA) Crédit Agricole
39 Bradley McGee (Aus) La Française des Jeux
40 Frédéric Bessy (Fra) Crédit Agricole
41 Nicolaj Bo Larsen (Den) CSC World Online
42 Jurgen Vandewalle (Bel) Team Landbouwkrediet
43 Zbigniew Spruch (Pol) Lampre-Daikin
44 Ludovic Capelle (Bel) Ag2r Prévoyance
45 Thierry Gouvenou (Fra) Big Mat-Auber 93
46 Arvis Piziks (Lat) CSC World Online
47 Frédéric Mainguenaud (Fra) Bonjour
48 Wesley Theunis (Fra) Vlaanderen T Interim
49 Bruno Thibout (Fra) Jean Delatour
50 Bert Scheirlinckx (Bel) Collstrop-Palmans
51 Samuel Plouhinec (Fra) Jean Delatour
52 Geert Omloop (Bel) Collstrop-Palmans
53 Grégory Faghel (Fra) Saint-Quentin-Oktos
54 Kristof Trouve (Bel) Collstrop-Palmans
55 Florent Brard (Fra) Festina
56 Hans De Clercq (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
57 Loïc Lamouller (Fra) Big Mat-Auber 93
58 Régis Lhuillier (Fra) La Française des Jeux
59 Thierry Marichal (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
60 Bobby Julich (USA) Crédit Agricole
61 Benoît Poilvet (Fra) Crédit Agricole
62 Sébastien Demarbaix (Bel) Ag2r Prévoyance
63 Nicolas Reynaud (Fra) Festina
64 Cyril Dessel (Fra) Jean Delatour
65 Yoeri Beyens (Bel) Vlaanderen T Interim
66 Mickael Steen Nielsen (Den) CSC World Online
67 Anthony Morin (Fra) Crédit Agricole
68 Raivis Belohvosciks (Lat) Lampre-Daikin
69 Vincent Cali (Fra) Collstrop-Palmans          0.12
70 Franck Bouyer (Fra) Bonjour                   0.17
71 Andy Flickinger (Fra) Festina
72 Jurgen Landrie (Bel) Ville de Charleroi       0.20
73 Oleg Kozlitine (Kaz) Saint-Quentin-Oktos
74 Vincent Templier (Fra) Saint-Quentin-Oktos
75 Laurent Paumier (Fra) Saint-Quentin-Oktos
76 Michel Klinger (Swi) Festina
77 Jérôme Bernard (Fra) Jean Delatour
78 Arnaud Pretot (Fra) Festina
79 Andy Vidts (Bel) Vlaanderen T Interim
80 Benoît Salmon (Fra) Ag2r Prévoyance
81 Jehudi Schoonacker (Bel) Vlaanderen T Interim
82 Andrei Tcherviakov (Rus) Team Landbouwkrediet
83 Stéphane Auge (Fra) Festina
84 Nico Sijmens (Bel) Vlaanderen T Interim
85 Peter Wuyts (Bel) Collstrop-Palmans
86 Frédéric Lecrosnier (Fra) Saint-Quentin-Oktos
87 Alexei Sivakov (Rus) Big Mat-Auber 93
88 Philippe Gaumont (Fra) Cofidis
89 Robert Sassone (Fra) Cofidis
90 Christophe Capelle (Fra) Big Mat-Auber 93
91 Pascal Derame (Fra) Bonjour
92 Christophe Edaleine (Fra) Jean Delatour
93 Simone Bertoletti (Ita) Lampre-Daikin
94 Arturas Trumpauskas (Ltu) Saint-Quentin-Oktos
95 Bert Dewaele (Bel) Team Landbouwkrediet
96 Lauri Aus (Est) Ag2r Prévoyance               0.53
97 Fabrice Gougot (Fra) Crédit Agricole
98 Renaud Boxus (Bel) Ville de Charleroi
99 Gilles Maignan (Fra) Ag2r Prévoyance
100 Danny Van Cappellen (Bel) Vlaanderen T Interim
DNF Matthew Gilmore (Bel) Vlaanderen T Interim

General classification after stage 2

1 Nico Eeckhout (Bel) Lotto-Adecco              6.55.23 
2 Jakob Pill (Den) CSC-World on Line               0.08 
3 Chris Peers (Bel) Cofidis                        0.11 
4 Christophe Bassons (Fra) Jean Delatour           0.14 
5 Nicolas Reynaud (Fra) Festina                    0.17 
6 Nicolas Jalabert (Fra) CSC-World on Line         0.23 
7 Steffen Radochla (Ger) Festina                   0.29 
8 Jaan Kirsipuu (Est) AG2r Prevoyance              0.32 
9 Raphaël Jeune (Fra) CSC-World on Line            0.38 
10 Hendrijk Van Dijk (Bel) Lotto-Adecco            0.39 

Points classification

1 Nico Eeckhout (Bel) Lotto-Adecco

Climbers classification

1 Christophe Edaleine (Fra) Jean Delatour

Intermediate sprints classification

1 Nicolas Reynaud (Fra) Festina

Courtesy of