Results and Reports for August 4-5, 2001


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Nestor's Keirin Cup
Bannock street Criterium

Nestor's Keirin Cup

August 3, 2001

Local racers victorious in Nestor's Keirin Cup

Amidst an international field of riders on tap for Nestor's Keirin Cup on August 3, 2001, T-Town native Marty Nothstein and Quakertown's Becky Quinn won the honour of being 2001 Keirin Cup Champions.

In the women's Keirin Cup Final Liz Williams of New Zealand took a close second and Graciela Martinez of Argentina placed 3rd. Jeff Hopkins of Australia finished 2nd in the men's final with Argentina's Sebastian Alexandre in 3rd place.

In other racing action, Ashley Kimmet of Bethlehem made her mark as a first year senior rider. Kimmet finished 1st in the Women's Race, the Women's Miss-and-Out, and was also the Women's Omnium winner. Nothstein continued to shine after his Keirin win as the winner of the Men's Omnium.


Pro-Am Men Miss-and-Out 

1 Marty Nothstein 
2 Jeff Hopkins 
3 Greg Henderson 

Women 12-Lap Tempo Race 

1 Graciela Martinez              10 pts
2 Ashley Kimmet                   9
3 Kiersten Johnson                6

Women 20-Lap  Race 

1 Ashley Kimmet                  18 pts
2 Jo Kiesanowski                 13
3 Becky Quinn                    11

Pro-Am Men 15-Lap Tempo Race 

1 Marty Nothstein                17 pts
2 Graeme Miller                  13
3  Ryan Oelkers                  6

Women Nestor's Keirin Cup Final 

1 Becky Quinn 
2 Liz Williams 
3 Graciela Martinez 

Pro-Am Men Nestor's Keirin Cup Final

1 Marty Nothstein 
2 Jeff Hopkins 
3 Sebastian Alexandre 

Women Miss-and-Out 

1 Ashley Kimmet 
2 Jo Kiesanowski 
3 Angie Vargas 

Pro-Am Men 40-Lap Prime Race 

1 Greg Henderson 
2 Graeme Miller 
3 Shane Melrose 

Women's Omnium 

1 Ashley Kimmet                   19 pts
2 Jo Kiesanowski                  11
3 Graciela Martinez               8

Men's Omnium 

1 Marty Nothstein                 16 pts
2 Greg Henderson                  12
3 Graeme Miller                   11

Bannock street Criterium

Denver, CO, August 5, 2001


By Vince Belizario, Mercury Cycling Team

The Mercury team of Cooke, Wherry, Moninger, Frischkorn, and Zajicek took on the Bannock street criterium on Sunday. The field was well represented by Saturn and Prime Alliance, but the Mercury team felt confident about its chances with sprinting ace Baden Cooke, who was in town for some high altitude training.

The Mercury men were very aggressive early on and forced many small breaks, including a solo effort by Chris Wherry that lasted nearly a third of the race. Chris was caught late in the race, thanks mostly to the solo efforts of Credit Agricole's Jonathan Vaughters.

As the field prepared for a mass sprint, Wherry still had enough gas in his tank to drive the front of the train on the final lap, where Moninger took over and lead Cooke through the last quarter lap. As they came through the last corner, it was Moninger, Cooke, and Jonas Carney of Prime Alliance lined up in that order. Cooke shot around Moninger just as Carney blew a tire and hit the deck hard! This left the door wide open for Cooke to cruise in for the victory. Moninger nearly made it a 1-2 finish but was passed just before the line and finished 3rd. Baden's victory is the team's 74th of the year.


1 Baden Cooke (Aus) Mercury 
2 Chris Fisher (USA) Saturn         
3 Scott Moninger (USA) Mercury 
4 Soren Petersen (Den) Saturn