16th Veenendaal-Veenendaal - 1.2

Netherlands, April 19, 2001

2000 Results    Results    Past winners

De Jongh wins for the second time

Rabobank's Steven de Jongh has won the 209 kilometre Veenendaal-Veenendaal classic for the second time in a row, escaping from an 11 man top group in the final kilometre. Rudi Kemna (Bankgiroloterij-Batavus) took the bunch sprint.

The organisers had to use a slightly modified parcours due to the Foot and Mouth crisis, but the race still went ahead, unlike others in the Netherlands that have been cancelled. The weather conditions weren't great though, with wind, hail and snow accompanying the riders during the 209 kilometre race. As such only 30 of the 170 starters actually finished.

Three riders, Steven de De Jongh (Rabobank), Bart Voskamp (Batavus) and Paul van Schalen (Cologne) attacked out of the leading group, gaining a maximum of 30 seconds. They were caught, a little at a time, by another 9 riders. De Jongh attacked again shortly before the finish, and came in 3 seconds in front of Rudi Kemna (Batavus), with Roger Hammond (Collstrop) taking third.

Results - 209 km

1 Steven De Jongh (Ned) Rabobank                     4.45.48 (43.919 km/h)
2 Rudi Kemna (Ned) Bankgiroloterij-Batavus              0.03
3 Roger Hammond (GBr) Collstrop-Palman
4 Aart Vierhouten (Ned) Rabobank           
5 Jan Boven (Ned) Rabobank
6 Paul Van Schalen (Ned) Team Cologne
7 Martin Van Steen (Ned) Bankgiroloterij-Batavus
8 Gerben Löwik (Ned) Rabobank
9 Vladimir Miholjevic (Cro) KRKA-Telekom Slovenije
10 Gorazd Stangelj (Slo) Liquigas-Pata 
11 Bert Hiemstra (Ned) Bankgiroloterij-Batavus 
12 Bart Voskamp (Ned) Bankgiroloterij-Batavus          0.05
13 Lars Michaelsen (Den) Team Coast                    1.16
14 Edward Dunning (Ned) AXA Cycling Team               1.28
15 Jan Van Velzen (Ned) Bankgiroloterij-Batavus 
16 Thorwald Veneberg (Ned) Rabobank                    3.03
17 Laurent Desbiens (Fra) Kelme-Costa Blanca
18 Andreas Klier (Ger) Team Deutsche Telekom 
19 Gorik Gardeyn (Bel) Lotto-Adecco                    6.45
20 Joshua Collingwood (Aus) Wüstenrot-ZVVZ 
21 Berry Hoedemakers (Ned) Team Cologne 
22 Jan Verstraeten (Bel) Vlaanderen-T Interim 
23 Remco Van Der Ven (Ned) Bankgiroloterij-Batavus 
24 Matthé Pronk (Ned) Rabobank 
25 Roberto Lochowski (Ger) Team Fakta 
26 Arturas Trampauskas (Ltu) Saint-Quentin Oktos 
27 Matjaz Batic (Slo) KRKA-Telekom Slovenije 
28 Mickaël Olejnick (Pol) Saint-Quentin Oktos 
29 Oleg Kozlitine (Kaz) Saint-Quentin Oktos 
30 Allan Johansson (Den) Team Fakta 

Starters: 150
Abandons: 120
Classified: 30

Past Winners

2000 Steven de Jongh (Ned) Rabobank        212 kms in 5.11.08 (40.8 km/h)
1999 Tristan Hoffman (Ned) TVM-Farm Frites 200 kms in 5.07.43 (39 km/h)
1998 Frank Hoj  (Den) Palmans-Ideal        209 kms in 4.56.24
1997 Jeroen Blijlevens (Ned) TVM
1996 Andrej Tchmil (Mda) Lotto
1995 Olaf Ludwig (Ger) Team Telekom
1994 Vjatcheslav Elimov (Rus) WordPerfect
1993 Rob Mulders (Ned) WordPerfect
1992 Jacques Hangraaf (Ned) Panasonic
1991 (2) Wiebren Veenstra (Ned) Buckler
1990 Wiebren Veesntra (Ned) Buckler
1989 Jean-Paul Van Poppel (Ned) Panasonic
1988 Ronny Vlassaks (Bel) Superconfex
1987 Johan Capiot (Bel) Roland
1986 No race
1985 Joop Zoetemelk (Ned) Kwantumhallen

Past winners courtesy of Mario Stiehl, Berlin