News for October 1, 2000

Unofficial Italian World's team

The Italian 'Squadra Azzurri' for the World Championships in Plouay will be finalised by the middle of next week. However, there are several candidates who are likely choices, according to Italian correspondent, Alessandro Gretter. The following list is therefore unofficial.

Elite Men

Road Race

Sergio Barbero (Lampre-Daikin)
Gilberto Simoni (Lampre-Daikin)
Mariano Piccoli (Lampre-Daikin)
Marco Serpellini (Lampre-Daikin)
Gabriele Missaglia (Lampre-Daikin)
Michele Bartoli (Mapei-Quickstep)
Paolo Bettini (Mapei-Quickstep)
Luca Scinto (Mapei-Quickstep)
Gianni Faresin (Mapei-Quickstep)
Davide Rebellin (Liquigas)
Franceso Casagrande (Vini Caldirola)
Mirko Celestino (Team Polti)
Ivan Basso (Amica Chips)
Danilo Di Luca (Cantina Tollo)
Massimo Gentili (Cantina Tollo)
Dario Frigo (Fassa Bortolo)


There are doubts about the ITT because there aren't any real specialists. The Italian
Champion Marco Velo is now out for doping. Possibilities are:

Daniele Nardello (Mapei-Quick Step)
Marco Pinotti (Lampre-Daikin)

Elite Women

Road Race:

Alessandra Cappellotto (GAS Sport Team) (?)
Valeria Cappellotto (GAS Sport Team)
Roberta Bonanomi (GAS Sport Team)
Simona Parente (GAS Sport Team)
Fabiana Luperini (GAS Sport Team)
Alessandra D'Ettore (Acca Due O)
Sara Felloni (Alfa Lum)


Gabriella Pregnolato (GAS Sport Team)
Luisa Tamanini (Alfa Lum)

U23 Men

Road Race:

Matteo Carrara
Nicola Gavazzi
Marco Menin
Franco Pellizzotti
Daniele Pietropolli
Cristian Tosoni
Lorenzo Bernucci
Federico Berta
Graziano Gasparre (European Champion)
Matteo Gigli
Stefano Guerrini


Alberto Loddo

Junior Men

Daniele Colli (ITT & RR)
Simone Meda (ITT)
Giulio Focardi (ITT)
Davide Bucciero (RR)
Simone Masciarelli (RR) and Ivan Scattolin (RR)

Junior Women

Lisa Gatto (ITT & RR)
Gloria Guarnieri (ITT & RR)
Silvia Valsecchi (RR)

Memorial Manuel Galera

The 200 kilometre Spanish Memorial Manuel Galera race today will be contested for the first time this year with professional first division teams. Having been upgraded to UCI class 1.4, the race will see the likes of Vitalicio Seguros, Fuenlabrada, Kelme, Euskaltel-Euskadi, ONCE, Festina, Jazztel-Costa del Almeria and Boavista in competition. Riders include Joseba Beloki, Angel Casero, José Luis Arrieta, Eladio Jiménez, Unai Osa, Iker Flores, and Herman Zubeldia, and Pablo Soler.

The race starts and finishes in Armilla, hometown of deceased Spanish cyclist, Manuel Galera who died in a race in Cordova. Its main difficulty is the Puerto de La Malahá, where the GPM will be decided. Prizemoney is of the order of 1.6 million pesetas ($US 8000), approximately 15 percent of the total race budget.

Team News


The rumours about a Coast-Phonak fusion are just rumours, according to Coast sports director Wolfram Lidner. In an interview with German website, Lidner said that, "I know their sports director quite well and while we were having a friendly chat at a race a reporter came along and asked 'How are you?' and we said 'Everything's alright' and then there was a 'fusion' the day after."

Weltz prolongs

Johnny Weltz has decided to prolong his sports director contract with Memorycard over the next season. He also told daily Politiken that manager Bjarne Riis is well on his way to signing a contract with "an international top name".

Müller to Fakta

27 year old German, Dirk Müller is on his way to leave Post Swiss for Danish second division Team Fakta according to daily Horsens Folkeblad. Contracts with his compatriot Robert Lochowski and Belgian Manu l'Hoir are now signed and, according to the newspaper, manager Kim Andersen is trying to give the team a German profile to get a sport on the Tour of Germany next year.

Cologne signs Kil

Second division team Cologne has signed Dutch globetrotting sprinter Pelle Kil who has been riding for American semi-pro teams as well as being seen on Australian roads where he usually prepares during the European winter. Team manager Dieter Koslar says that the team is negotiating with some more, perhaps "surprising", riders. Paul van Schalen (Batavus) and South African Ryan Cox are already signed.

In other contract news, Stephane Heulot will leave Francaise des Jeux for Big Mat Auber 93 next season, while Belgian Sébastien Demarbaix will depart Lotto to join AG2R-Prévoyance.