Schulteiss Cup - Cat. 2

Germany, October 3, 2000

De Clercq, Kupfernagel win in Berlin

Mario de Clercq and Hanka Kupfernagel were the winners of the second UCI classed cyclocross race of the 2000/2001 season, the Schulteiss Cup in Berlin. De Clercq managed to beat World Champion, Richard Groenendaal (Rabobank) - his first defeat since his win in that race earlier this year. In third place was World Espoir champion, Bart Wellens (Spaarselect).

World Champion, Hanka Kupfernagel showed no signs of jetlag after flying in from Sydney the day before to win the women's race. Riding for BRC Zugvogel, Kupfernagel beat honarary teammate, Birgit Frädrich by three minutes to win the race.


Elite Men

1. Mario de Clercq (Bel) Palmans
2. Richard Groenendaal (Ned) Rabobank
3. Bart Wellens (Bel) Spaarselect
4. Wim de Vos (Ned) Spaarselect
8. Steffen Weigold (Ger) Telekom U23 Jan Ullrich


1. Hanka Kupfernagel (Ger) BRC Zugvogel
2. Birgit Frädrich (Ger) BRC Zugvogel
3. Inge Veldhuis (Ned)