Superprestige Round #3 - Cat. 1

Sint Michielsgestel, Netherlands, November 19, 2000

Groenendaal wins in home town

World Champion Richard Groenendaal won the third round of the cyclocross Super Prestige trophy in his home town of Sint-Michielsgestel, the scene of his World Championship win earlier this year. He finished 20 seconds in front of a fast improving Sven Nijs, who is rapidly approaching his best form. Belgian Bart Wellens (Spaar Select) took third place.

The pair of Groenendaal and Nijs started out very strongly during the first half. Nijs couldn't quite hold the pace and dropped back to the second group, with Wellens, de Clercq and Volckaerts to prevent them closing the gap on Nijs' Rabobank teammate Groenendaal. That's how it remained until the finish, where Nijs put time into the rest to secure second place.

Groenendaal now leads the Super Prestige points score with 85 points, ahead of Peter Van Santvliet on 55.

Erwin Vervecken (who placed fourth in yesterday's World Cup in Tabor nearly nearly didn't make it to Sint Michielsgestel. On his way back from Tabor (Czech Republic) he had problems at Frankfurt airport where he was stuck in an elevator for 45 minutes. He had to stay in Frankfurt overnight and only got the plane on Sunday morning. He finished 12th, 2'16 behind Groenendaal.



1 Richard Groenendaal (Ned) Rabobank	     1.01.56
2 Sven Nijs (Bel) Rabobank			0.18
3 Bart Wellens (Bel) Spaar Select		0.33
4 Mario de Clercq (Bel) Palmans-Ideal		0.42
5 Kipcho Volckaerts (Bel) Jonge Renners		0.43
6 Marc Janssens (Bel) Palmans Ideal		0.53
7 Tom Vannoppen (Bel) Vlaanderen 2002		0.54
8 Peter Van Santvliet (Bel) Spaar Select	1.11
9 Jiri Pospisil (Cze)				1.20
10 Gerben De Knegt (Ned) Rabobank		1.33
11 Daniele Pontoni (Ita)
12 Erwin Vervecken (Bel) RVS Liege 		2.16
13 Arne Daelmans (Bel) Den Tip Vorselaar
14 Gretenius Gommers (Ned) WTC Woerden		3.21
15 Christophe Morel (Fra) Besson Chassures	2.30
16 David Derepas (Fra) Phonak 			3.03
17 Wilant van Gils (Ned) Uden			4.34
20 Wilfred Veldkamp (Ned) WTC Woerden		4.03
23 Thijs Volker (Ned) 				6.17
24 De Kinkelder (Ned)				6.18
25 Van Houtum (Ned)				6.33
26 Alain Van Katwijk (Ned) MGI Fietsen		6.36
27 Schader (Ned)				7.15
28 Bunning (Ned)				7.19
29 Van Oorschot (Ned)				7.24


1 Daphny van der Brand (Ned)		       28.53
2 Debby Mansveld (Ned) Farm Frites-Hartol	0.48
3 Inge Velthuis (Ned) Trek-Sjef van Bergen	1.22
4 Stans (Bosch en Duin) 			1.50
5 Leyten (Schijndel) 				2.16
Superprestige standings after round 3:
1 Richard Groenendaal (Ned) Rabobank		85 pts
2 Peter Van Santvliet (Bel) Spaar Select	55
3 Tom Vannoppen (Bel) Vlaanderen 2002		46
4 Bart Wellens (Bel) Spaar Select		46
5 Mario de Clercq (Bel) Palmans-Ideal		45
6 Kipcho Volckaerts (Bel) Jonge Renners		43
7 Marc Janssens (Bel) Palmans Ideal		37
8 Sven Nijs (Bel) Rabobank			36
16 Maarten Nijland (Ned) WTC Woerden		17
20 Gretinus Gommers (Ned) WTC Woerden		 7
22 Wilant van Gils (Ned) Uden			 6
22 Wim de Vos (Bel) Spaar Select		 6
28 Wilfred Veldkamp (Ned) WTC Woerden