Duinencross - Cat. 1

Koksijde, Belgium, November 25, 2000

1999 Results    Past Winners

Vervecken from Wellens in a sprint

Erwin Vervecken (RVS Liege) won the Duinencross in Koksijde for his fifth win of the season, beat Spaar Select's Bart Wellens in a sprint. In third place was Sven Nijs (Rabobank) at 22 seconds, while Mario de Clercq and Richard Groenendaal placed fourth and fifth.

Nijs, Vervecken, Wellens and Groenendaal rode a hard tempo early on, and Vervecken and Wellens managed to drop Nijs, who said he was "feeling very good and had a chance of winning. I also came back strongly in the last lap, but Vervecken was better - he is a sand specialist."


1 Erwin Vervecken (Bel) RVS Liege      1.01.59
2 Bart Wellens (Bel) Spaar Select         0.04  
3 Sven Nijs (Bel) Rabobank                0.22  
4 Mario De Clercq (Bel) Palmans-Ideal     0.36  
5 Richard Groenendaal (Ned) Rabobank      
6 Peter Van Santvliet (Bel) Spaar Select  0.50  
7 Kipcho Volckaerts (Bel) Jonge Renners   0.51  
8 Marc Janssens (Bel) Palmans Ideal       1.08  
9 Arne Daelmans (Bel) Den Tip Vorselaar   1.16  
10 Gerben De Knegt (Ned)  Rabobank        1.43   

Past winners

1999 Sven Nijs (Bel) Rabobank