Canadian National Championships - CN

Okotoks, Alberta, Canada, November 4-5, 2000


Held on a 2.5km course in the grounds of Strathcona-Tweedsmuir School, this year's Canadian cross nationals saw un-crosslike weather for the first day, with temperatures in the teens (Celsius!) and blue skies until the junior men's race, when more usual rain and flurries set in. Despite the worsened weather, Ryan Roth beat George Hedegus in the final sprint.

The Elite Men's event was a hard battle between the eventual top three, with Kona's Peter Wedge triumphing only on the very last lap. Second placed Ruedi Schnyder was the early leader, going hard from the start and being chased by Wedge, Josh Hall, Carter Hovey and Andreas Hestler. Hestler succumbed to a fatal mechanical on lap three -- his bottom bracket unscrewed -- and on lap four Wedge put in a fierce attack to take the lead. At one point Wedge was 35 seconds ahead but he was caught by Hovey on lap six, only to regain the lead and take the win in the last lap.

In the women's race Shauna Gillies-Smith led practically from the gun, taking over a minute per lap from Lisa Licis.

Results, Day 2

Elite Men

1 Peter Wedge (Kona Fredericton) NB                         1.01.22
2 Ruedi Schnyder (Norco Bikes Roberts Creek) BC                0.10
3 Carter Hovey (Redline Bicycles Victoria) BC                  0.23
4 Josh Hall (Jetfuel Coffee Waterloo) ON                       2.03
5 Kevin Tearle (Pedalhead Edmonton) AB                         3.14
6 Rob Brandrick (Bicisport Calgary) AB                         3.56
7 Peter Morse (Trek/Kiro Toronto) ON                           4.59
8 Troy Woodburn (Independent Victoria) BC                      5.19
9 Daniel MacDonald (Basic/Back to Back Chiropractic Victor     5.40
10 Jesse Collins (Bicisport Calgary) AB                        5.48
11 Rafal Kuncewicz (Team Alberta Edmonton) AB                  5.48
12 Cory Forrest (Team Saskatchewan Waskesui) SK                6.22
13 Aaron Whitfield (Bow Cycle Republik Calgary) AB            10.56
14 Jeff Smith (Bow Cycle Republik Calgary) AB                 10.58
DNF Daniel Ward (Team Bike Shop Calgary) AB
DNF Andreas Hestler (Ford - Devinci Victoria) BC
DNF Chris Check (Pedalhead Edmonton) AB
DNF Guri Randhawa (Pedalhead Edmonton) AB
DNF Dave Ellis (Pedalhead Edmonton) AB

Elite Women

1 Shauna Gillies-Smith (NEBC Cycleloft Lake Louise) AB        32.14
2 Lisa Licis (Team Alberta Edmonton) AB                        2.53
3 Shannon Hood (Team Saskatchewan Saskatoon) SK                4.52
4 Lynne Despres (Bow Cycle Calgary) AB                         9.40

One lap behind:

5 Pamela Wallace (Basic/Back to Back Chiropractic Victoria)

Espoir Men

1 Stuart Hughes (Bow Cycle Republik Calgary) AB               11.32
2 Roddi Lega (Green Mountain Cycle/Salmon Arm Edmonton) AB     0.38
3 David Frisch (Rebound Cycle Canmore) AB                      2.23
4 Enrico Traini (Trail Blazers Toronto) ON                     2.23
DNF Dave Kennedy (Bow Cycle Republik Calgary) AB
DNF Drew MacKenzie (Independent Victoria) BC

Master Men A

1 Sean Barr (Team Alberta Edmonton, AB 39)12                  39.12
2 Newell Hedstrom (Bike Doctor/Cycledelia Saskatoon) SK        0.43
3 Greg Achtem (Team Alberta Calgary) AB                        1.21
4 Peter Toth (ERTC/River Valley Edmonton) AB                   2.03
5 Christopher Paton (Gears/MBRC Oakville) ON                   2.18
6 Brent Hambleton (Bicisport Calgary) AB                       2.18
7 Andy Achuff (Pedalhead Edmonton) AB                          2.49
8 Colin Walsh (Eurotech Calgary) AB                            3.14
9 Matt Dawe (Bicisport Calgary) AB                             3.38
10 Brian Licis (Sports Shack Croakers Edmonton) AB             4.03
11 Dan Beird (Bicisport Calgary) AB                            4.35
12 Carl Moreau (Lethbridge Headwinds Canmore) AB               5.32
13 Brian Kullman (Eurotech Calgary) AB                         6.51

Master Men B

1 Bob Hawboldt (Cycledelia Saskatoon)  SK                     41.30
2 Derrill Shuttleworth (Velocity Cycling Club Edmonton) AB     0.09

Master Men C

1 Thomas Steenaerts (Eurotech Cycle Calgary) AB               49.18
2 Rob Galbraith (Bicycle Works Campbellville) ON               2.51

Results, Day 1

Junior Women

1 Cydney Galbraith (Kona Bicycles Campbellville) ON            36.25
2 Rachel Morris (Independent Red Deer) AB                       2.57
3 Rebecca Morris (Independent Red Deer) AB                      4.43

Junior Men

1 Ryan Roth (Woodstock CC Brighton) ON                         46.53
2 Gergely Hegedus (Team Alberta Red Deer) AB                    0.03
3 Shawn Bunnin (Saskatoon Cycledelia / Trek Saskatoon) SK       0.44
4 Buck Miller (St.Catherines CC Niagra Falls) ON                1.28
5 Marc Bomhof (Lethbridge Headwindes Lethbridge) AB             1.41
6 Jay Acheson (Sports Shack Croakers Edmonton) AB               1.55
7 James Kriek (Waterloo CC/The Flying Dogs Waterloo) ON         2.48
8 Peter Steenaerts (Eurotech Cycle Calgary) AB                  3.06
9 Steve Amos (Waterloo CC Waterloo) ON                          5.29
10 Carl Morrison (Sports Shack Croakers Ft. Saskatchewan) AB    6.07
11 Jamie Sparling (Olympic Oval - Bike Shop Calgary) AB         6.44
12 Damian Stachura (Sports Shack Croakers Edmonton) AB          7.41
13 Jimmy Oneschuk (Team Saskatchewan Saskatoon) SK              9.02
14 Keegan Eastmead (Sports Shack Croakers Edmonton) AB         10.50

One lap behind:

DNF Ryan McKenzie (Olympic Oval - Bike Shop Calgary) AB
DNF Drew Gregory (Olympic Oval - Bike Shop Calgary) AB

Master Women

1 Sarah Robbins (Team Saskatchewan Saskatoon) SK               37.18
2 Susan Sutherland (Eurotech Cycle Calgary) AB                  3.02


1 Jeff Sparling (Olympic Oval - Bike Shop Calgary) AB          38.18
2 Bonnie Gratton (Saskatoon) SK                                 5.46