Superprestige Round #2 - Cat. 1

Asper-Gavere, Belgium, November 12, 2000

1999 Results    Past Winners

Van Santvliet meets the challenge

Peter Van Santvliet won the second round of the Superprestige series, held in Asper-Gavere, Belgium, his first ever Superprestige win. He beat World Champion and series leader, Richard Groenendaal (Rabobank) and Erwin Vervecken (RVS Liege) after an hour of racing.

Tom Vannoppen (Vlaanderen 2002) was the first to attack, with Van Santvliet and Vervecken following closely. However, it didn't take long for Van Santvliet to hit the lead and the three maintained their gap to the rest of the field. Mario de Clercq and Richard Groendaal were the strongest chasers, and managed to bridge the gap when Vanoppen started to fade.

Groenendaal came within 10 seconds of Van Santvliet, but was slowed by a puncture and had to drop back to Vervecken and De Clercq. After a bike change, he dropped the pair again to eventually finish second.

The race also saw the comeback of Sven Nijs, who rode consistently for 10th position despite also suffering a flat tyre.


1 Peter Van Santvliet (Bel) Spaar Select     1.00.15
2 Richard Groenendaal (Ned) Rabobank		0.45
3 Erwin Vervecken (Bel) RVS-Liege		1.03
4 Mario de Clercq (Bel) Palmans-Ideal		1.05
5 Tom Vannoppen (Bel) Vlaanderen 2002		1.40
6 Jiri Pospisil (Cze) Morati			1.55
7 Arne Daelmans (Bel) GB-Den Tip Vorselaar	2.25
8 Kipcho Volckaerts (Bel) Jonge Renners		2.40
9 Daniel Pontoni (Ita)				3.00
10 Sven Nijs (Bel) Rabobank			3.03
11 Christophe Morel (Fra) Besson Chaussures 	3.20
12 Bjorn Rondelez (Bel) Spar-Oki    
13 Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Mez Team     
14 Maarten Nijland (Ned) WTC Woerden
15 Wim De Vos (Ned) Spaar Select
16 David Derepas (Fra) Phonak 			4.30
17 Roland Schatti (Swi) GS Mephisto Romers
18 Gerben De Knegt (Ned) Rabobank
19 Matthew Ellis (Gbr)     
20 Marc Janssens (Bel) Palmans Ideal
21 Tom Pijnaert (Bel)     
Superprestige standings after round 2:
1. Richard Groenendaal (Ned) Rabobank		55 pts
2. Peter Van Santvliet (Bel) Spaar Select	42 
3. Tom Vannoppen (Bel) Vlaanderen 2002	32 
4. Daniel Pontoni (Ita) 			30 
5. Kipcho Volckaerts (Bel) Jonge Renners 	27 
6. Mario de Clercq (Bel) Palmans-Ideal		27 

Past winners

1999 Richard Groenendaal (Ned) Rabobank