2nd Tour of Germany - 2.3

Germany, May 26-June 1, 2000

1999 Results    Start List     Past Winners

The Stages

  • Stage 1 - May 26: Bonn-Wiesbaden, 179 km
  • Stage 2 - May 27: Wiesbaden-Pforzheim, 203 km
  • Stage 3 - May 28: Pforzheim- Bad Dürrheim, 216 km
  • Stage 4 - May 29: Bad Dürrheim-Stuttgart, 184 km
  • Stage 5 - May 30: Stuttgart-Ansbach, 188 km
  • Stage 6 - May 31: Ansbach-Herzogenaurach, 103 km
  • Stage 7 - May 31: Herzogenaurach, ITT, 36 km
  • Stage 8 - May 1: Potsdam-Berlin/Ku'damm, 139 km


This year marks the second edition of the revamped Tour of Germany, now a UCI Class 2.3 race. Commencing in Bonn on May 26, it contains eight stages, finishing in Berlin on June 1.

Last year's winner, Jens Heppner will once again head the German Telekom team, after a year spent mainly off the bike. Although he wasn't a victim of the race's crashes last year, his teammates Rolf Aldag and Jan Ullrich who were, will be at the start. Erik Zabel and Andreas Klöden will be along, as will domestiques Udo Bölts, Gian Mateo Fagnini and Jörg Jaksche. The Telekom team will be the team that everyone wants to beat, and there are plenty of contenders.

Mapei-Quick Step, probably smarting from the fact that Telekom have overtaken them in the latest UCI rankings, will field a team built more for stage wins, with Tom Steels and Max Van Heeswijk getting able support from the likes of Johan Museeuw, Michele Bartoli and Paolo Bettini, with the latter probably their best GC chance.

Festina will be trying for sprint wins with Marcel Wüst, while Guiseppi di Grande will be most likely targetted for the GC. Saeco have the in-form Laurent Dufaux, who will be trying to ease himself into Tour shape, as will Polti with Richard Virenque. Several division II teams will be looking at making headlines, especially Gerolsteiner and Team Nürnberger, who both have very strong lineups.

Marcel Wüst would love to win a stage in his "home tour", especially if he can manage to knock off Erik Zabel - "If I beat Blijlevens, it's only worth a few lines in the newspaper. If I beat Zabel, it's worth half a page," he commented to DPA about the treatment he often receives by the German media. Zabel will be the one to beat of course, as Blijlevens is still in Italy.

It will be an important race for the Danish team, Memorycard-Jack & Jones, who have their strongest line up ready for their last chance at getting a wildcard entry for the Tour de France. With the final three teams to be announced May 31, the Danes, headed by Michael Blaudzun, Martin Rittsel, and Rene Joergensen will be very aggressive in the early stages. Their other top riders, Nicolaj Bo Larsen, Tristan Hoffman, and Michael Sandstød will be off to the USA to contest the First Union Series.

Start List:

Deutsche Telekom                 Mapei-Quick Step
1 Jens Heppner (Ger)             11 Michele Bartoli (Ita)
2 Rolf Aldag (Ger)               12 Johan Museeuw (Bel)
3 Udo Bölts (Ger)                13 Paolo Bettini (Ita)
4 Gian Matteo Fagnini (Ita)      15 Tom Steels (Bel) 
5 Jörg Jaksche (Ger)             16 Wilfried Peeters (Bel)
6 Jan Ullrich (Ger)              17 Max Van Heeswijk (Ned)
7 Andreas Klöden (Ger)           18 David Tani (Ita)
8 Erik Zabel (Ger)               19 Bart Leysen (Bel)

Saeco-Valli & Valli              Festina
21 Laurent Dufaux (Swi)          31 Angel Luis Casero (Spa)
22 Daniel Atienza Urendeze (Spa) 32 Rafael Casero (Spa)
23                               33 Sascha Henrix (Ger)
24 Jörg Ludewig (Ger)            34 Jaime Hernandez Bertran  (Spa)
25 Armin Meier (Swi)             35 Felix Garcia (Spa)
28 Christian Wegmann (Ger)       36 Jonathon Hall (Aus)
29 Massimiliano Mori (Ita)       37 David Plaza (Spa)
30 Igor Pugaci (Ita)             38 Marcel Wüst (Ger)

Memorycard-Jack & Jones          Team Polti
41 Bo Hamburger (Den)            51 Richard Virenque (Fra)
42 Jesper Skibby (Den)           52 Rossano Brasi (Ita)
43 Michael Blaudzun (Den)        53 Pascal Hervè (Fra)
44 Allan Johansen (Den)          54 Mateos Perez (Spa)
45 Rene Joergensen (Den)         55 Fabio Sacchi (Ita)
46 Mikael Kyneb (Den)            56 Stèphane Goubert (Fra)
47 Michael Steen Nielsen (Den)   57 Michele Colleoni (Ita)
48 Martin Rittsel (Swe)          58 Mirco Crepaldi (Ita)

Lotto-Adecco                     Farm Frites
61 Mario Aerts (Bel)             71 Peter Van Petegem (Bel)
62 Jacky Durand (Fra)            72 Jans Koerts (Ned)
63 Paul Van Hyfte (Bel)          73 Andreas Klier (Ger)
64 Kurt Van Lancker (Bel)        74 Guennadi Mikhailov (Rus)
65 Glenn D'Hollander (Bel)       75 Dirk Ronellenfitsch (Ger)
68 Peter Wuyts (Bel)             76 Glenn Magnusson (Swe)
69 Koen Beeckman (Bel)           77 Geert Van Bondt (Bel)
                                 79 Gerben Löwik (Ned)

Alessio                          Phonak Hearing Systems
81 Alessandro Bertolini (Ita)    91 Pierre Bourquenoud (Swi)
83 Davide Casarotto (Ita)        92 Christian Charriére (Swi)
84 Martin Hvastja (Slo)          94 Renè Stadelmann (Swi)
85 Endrio Leoni (Ita)            96 Jochen Summer (Aut)
87 Marco Magnani (Ita)           97 Alexandre Usov (Blr)
87 Serguei Outschakov (Rus)      98 Lukas Zumsteg (Swi)
89 Stefano Casagranda (Ita)      99 Matthias Buxhofer (Swi)
90 Leonardo Guidi (Ita)          100 Jerôme Delbove (Swi)

Agro-Adler-Brandenburg           Team Coast
101 Andreas Kappes (Ger)         111 Alexander Aeschbach (Swi)
102 Andreas Beikirch (Ger)       112 Bekim Christensen (Den)
103 Mario Bolz (Ger)             113 Hans Kurt Brandt (Swi)
105 Roberto Lochowski (Ger)      114 Anton Chantyr (Rus)
106 Christian Lademann (Ger)     115 Jason Philips (Aus)
107 Mathias Kahl (Ger)           117 Malte Urban (Ger)
108 Ronny Lauke (Ger)            118 Klaus Mutschler (Ger)
109 Enrico Nikolai (Ger)         119 Simone Mori (Ita)
Team Cologne                     Vlaanderen 2002-Eddy Merckx
121 Bert Grabsch (Ger)           131 Erwin Thijs (Bel)
122 Bert Hiemstra (Ned)          132 Wilfried Cretskens (Bel)
124 Raymond Meijs (Ned)          133 Kris Gerits (Bel)
126 Soren Petersen (Den)         135 Tom Stremersch (Bel)
127 Michael Schlickau (Ger)      137 Jurgen Van Roosbroeck (Bel)
128 Tiaan Kannemeyer (RSA)       138 Wesley Huvaere (Bel)
129 Jos Lucassen (Ger)           139 Davy Daniels (Bel)
130 Björn Glasner (Ger)          140 Björn Leukemans (Bel)

Team Gerolsteiner                Team Nürnberger
142 Svein Gaute Hölestöl (Nor)   151 Artour Babaitsev (Rus)
143 Volker Ordowski (Ger)        152 Dirk Baldinger (Ger)
145 Olaf Pollack (Ger)           153 Bert Dietz (Ger)
146 Michael Rich (Ger)           154 Thomas Liese (Ger)
147 Torsten Schmidt (Ger)        155 Jörn Reuss (Ger)
148 Tobias Steinhauser (Ger)     156 Raphael Schweda (Ger)
149 Sven Teutenberg (Ger)        157 Jürgen Werner (Ger)
150 Peter Wrolich (Aut)          158 Jens Zemke (Ger)

Post Swiss Team                  Wüstenrot-ZVVZ
161 Pierre Ackermann (Swi)       171 Renè Andrle (Cze)
162 Bruno Boscardin (Swi)        172 Slavomir Heger (Cze)
163 Christian Heule (Swi)        174 Tomas Konecny (Cze)
164 Dirk Müller (Ger)            175 Milos Pejcea (Cze)
165 Stephan Gottschling (Ger)    176 Mat Anand (Can)
167 Christian Siedler (Swi)      177 Cszelaw Lukascewicz (Can)
168 Marcel Strauss (Swi)         178 Ondrej Slobodnik (Svk)
169 Roger Beuchat (Swi)          179 Martin Prazdnovsky (Svk)

Past Winners

1999 Jens Heppner (Telekom)