15th Clásica Internacional de Alcobendas - 1.4

Spain, May 7, 2000

1999 Results    Past Winners

Vogels' second win in Spain

Henk Vogels wins in Spain
Photo: © AFP
The US Mercury team recorded another victory today in the Spanish 1.4 Clasica Alcobendas, run over 181 kilometres. Once again it was Australia's Henk Vogels who prevailed in a very tough edition of the race where only 26 riders finished. Vogels won a stage in the Vuelta Rioja last week and is currently enjoying some good form.

The terrain was not easy either, with the climbs of Puerto de la Sierra and the Alto de Canencia to be overcome. The first climb was in the first 50 kilometres, but by this stage a break of 26 had already escaped, doing so at the 20 kilometre mark. They had 2 minutes and all the major teams were there, inclduing Mercury with Vogels, Jesus Zarate, and Steve Zampieri.

The Puerto de la Sierra saw the leaders at eight minutes, although things split up on the climb with Kelme and Euskaltel driving. It came back together on the descent in time for the category 2 Puerto de Canencia, although by this stage it was down to 17 riders. Vogels, Zarate, and Abraham Olano had to put in a big effort to bridge up to these before the climb began, and they left behind 6 riders.

Coming back to Alcobendas, an attack by Banesto and Vitalicio sent 2 riders clear, but Czech Jan Hruska soon dropped his Banesto partner. He was caught just a few kilometres from the finish, as Vogels and Angel Vicioso (Kelme) closed the gap by themselves, with two more Vitalicio riders (Juan Carlos Vicario and Francisco Cerezo) sitting on.

With 200 meters, Vogels stomped on the pedals, leaving the other two in the dust while Vitalicio had to settle for 2-4-5 (Vicario, Cerezo, and Hruska). Angel Vicosio finished 3rd.

In an honourable gesture after the race, Henk Vogels donated his winning flowers from the race to promising Spanish cyclist Roberto Alcaide, who had his foot amputated as a result of an accident in an amateur race.

Results - 181 kms

1 Henk Vogels (Aus) Mercury Cycling Team               4.32.18  (39.882 km/h)
2 Juan Carlos Vicario (Spa) Vitalicio Seguros              0.02
3 Angel Vicioso (Spa) Kelme-Costa Blanca 
4 Francisco Cerezo (Spa) Vitalicio Seguros 
5 Jan Hruska (Cze) Vitalicio Seguros 
6 Marcos Serrano (Spa) O.N.C.E.-Deutsche Bank              0.41
7 José Luis Arrieta (Spa) Banesto 
8 Iñigo Chaurreau (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi 
9 Steve Zampieri (Swi) Mercury Cycling Team                2.58
10 David Cañada (Spa) O.N.C.E.-Deutsche Bank
11 Alvaro Gonzalez de Galdeano (Spa) Vitalicio Seguros
12 Cesar Solaun (Spa) Banesto
13 Iker Flores (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
14 Abraham Olano (Spa) O.N.C.E.-Deutsche Bank
15 Angel Castresana (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
16 Jesús Zarate (Mex) Mercury Cycling Team                 5.25
17 Corrado Serina (Ita) Mobilvetta Design-Rossin          10.19
18 Christophe Brandt (Bel) Saeco-Valli & Valli
19 Santiago Botero (Col) Kelme-Costa Blanca
20 Segismundo De La Torre (Spa) MX2
21 Antonio Tauler (Spa) Kelme-Costa Blanca
22 Oscar Laguna (Spa) Fuenlabrada
23 Carlos Golbano (Spa) Costa de Almeria
24 Danny Pate (USA) Saeco-Valli & Valli
25 Rafael Mateos Perez (Spa) Team Polti
26 Pablo Lastras (Spa) Banesto

Past Winners

1993: 176 kms in 4.34.51

 1. Laurent Jalabert (Fra)
 2. Angel Edo (Spa)
 3. Alberto Leanizbarrutia (Spa)

1994: 182 kms in 4.14.37
 1. Abraham Olano (Spa)
 2. Alberto Leanizbarrutia (Spa) 
 3. Paolo Lanfranchi (Ita)

1995: 161 kms in 4.00.47

 1. Federico Colonna (Ita) 
 2. Gianmatteo Fagnini (Ita)
 3. David Etxebarria (Spa)

1996: 150 kms in 3.38.46

 1. Stefano Cembali (Ita) Cantina Tollo
 2. Simone Biasci (Ita) Saeco
 3. Stefano Dante (Ita)  Cantina Tollo
1997: 184 kms in 4.19.47

 1. Sergej Smetanine (Rus)  Cafis Toscaf
 2. Angel Edo (Spa) Kelme
 3. Alexander Gontschenkov (Rus) Roslotto

1998: 179 kms in 4.20.03

 1. Juan Carlos Domínguez (Spa) Vitalicio Seguros
 2. Unai Etxebarria (Spa) Euskaltel Euskadi      		1.14 
 3. David Etxebarria (Spa) ONCE					1.15

1999: 185 kms in 4.14.01

 1. Juan Carlos Dominguez (Spa) Vitalicio Seguros   	     
 2. Miguel A. Martin Perdiguero (Spa) ONCE-Deutsche Bank	0.05
 3. Candido Barbosa (Por) Banesto 				0.05