Start List Preview & History

Results & Reports

Course Map & Profile






Varazze to San Remo



Primavera Rosa World Cup

Milan, Italy, March 18, 2000

Preview    Start List   Past Winners


La "Primavera Rosa" is the female equivalent to the famous Milan-San Remo, and was the first European World Cup event for Women in 1999. It was also the first time that Italy had hosted a Women's World Cup race since the inauguration of the competition in 1998. This year, there will be nine rounds to the compeition, three more than last year, and the racing will span three continents: America, Australia and Europe. Following this race, the World Cup heads to Belgium for the Flèche Wallonne (April 14), then Canada and the USA. The final 3 rounds are in France, Netherlands and Switzerland.

At 118 kilometers, the race is less than half the length of the men's race, however it still takes in the major difficulties of the latter. The riders leave Varezze for San Remo at 12:00 noon, tracing the route of the Men's Classic to the finish in San Remo at approximately 3:00 pm.

This year's race will see a hard fought contest, despite the absence of some of the teams that contested the first round in Canberra. The winner of that event, Anna Wilson (Aus, Saturn) will be at home riding the national time trial championships, while her Saturn team is in the USA competing in the Sea Otter Classic.

However, the field will contain the likes of Sara Felloni (Ita, Alfa Lum) who won last year's event, teammate Edita Pucinskaite (Lit), the Acca Due O - Lorena team (Diana Ziliute, Zoulfia Zabirova and Marion Clignet), and Hanka Kupfernagel (Ger) who would like to get her number one ranking back. Also prominent on the start list are Mirjam Melchers (Ned), Alessandra Capellotto, Gabriella Pregnolato, and Sigrid Corneo (Ita), and Karen Kurreck (USA, Edilsavano).

Complete Starting List


Past Winners

1999 1. Sara Felloni (Ita) 3.02.52 (38.717 km.h)

back to top