24th Route du Sud - 2.3

France, June 17 - 20, 2000

Main Page    Results    Previous stage

Stage 4 - June 20: Saint-Gaudens - Peyragudes, 147.8 km

Brozyna successful in mountainous finale

Tomasz Brozyna
Photo: © AFP

The final stage of the Route du Sud was always going to be the decider. Held in the Pyrenees over a 152 kilometre course between Saint Gaudens and Peyragudes, the stage involved three first category climbs. Yesterday's leader, David Millar (Cofidis) tried hard today but was ultimately beaten by Banesto's Polish climber, Tomasz Brozyna, who came third in the stage won by teammate Francisco Mancebo.

Not only was the stage mountainous, it was also very hot as is typical in southern France at this time of year - 40 riders abandoned on the last stage. Millar was in contention over the Aspin, but lost a little over the Col de Val Louron-Azet (48 seconds down) and still more on the final climb of the Peyresourde. He succumbed to the attacks of Banesto and finished 4.05 down in 11th position, taking 9th overall.

Francisco Mancebo was ecstatic with his win, as he also finished second on GC to Brozyna. In third place overall was French climbing champion, Patrice Halgand (Jean Delatour), who took out the mountains jersey.


1 Fernando Mancebo (Spa) Banesto                       4.08.52 (36.767 km/h)
2 Ramon Gonzalez-Arrieta (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
3 Tomasz Brozyna (Pol) Banesto
4 Patrice Halgand (Fra) Jean Delatour                     0.19
5 Jose Javier Gomez (Spa) Kelme                           0.30
6 Sébastien Demarbaix (Bel) Lotto-Adecco                  0.49
7 Kurt Van De Wouwer (Bel) Lotto-Adecco                   2.23
8 Grzegorz Gwiazdowski (Pol) La Française des Jeux
9 Iker Flores (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi                     3.12
10 Andrea Peron (Ita) Fassa Bortolo                       3.49
11 David Millar (GBr) Cofidis                             4.05
12 David Delrieu (Fra) Ag2r-Prevoyance                    4.22
13 Alexandre Botcharov (Rus) Ag2r-Prevoyance
14 David Moncoutie (Fra) Cofidis
15 Jamie Burrow (USA) US Postal Service                   5.09
16 Fabrice Gougot (Fra) Crédit Agricole                   5.26
17 Serguei Yakovlev (Kaz) Besson Chasseures
18 Dariusz Baranowski (Pol) Banesto
19 Stéphane Heulot (Fra) La Française des Jeux            6.20
20 Xavier Jan (Fra) La Française des Jeux

Final general classification:

1 Brozyna Tomasz (Pol) Banesto                        16.46.57
2 Mancebo Francisco (Spa) Banesto                         0.12
3 Halgand Patrice (Fra) Jean Delatour                     0.37
4 Demarbaix Sébastien (Bel) Lotto-Adecco                  1.52
5 Gonzalez-Arrieta Ramon (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi          2.01
6 Gomez Jose Javier (Spa) Kelme                           2.02
7 Gwiazdowski Grzegorz (Pol) La Française des Jeux        2.34
8 Van De Wouwer Kurt (Bel) Lotto-Adecco                   3.09
9 Millar David (GBr) Cofidis                              3.22
10 Flores Iker (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi                    3.52
11 Moncoutie David (Fra) Cofidis                          5.13
12 Botcharov Alexandre (Kaz) Ag2r-Prevoyance              5.21
13 Delrieu David (Fra) Ag2r-Prevoyance                    5.27
14 Baranowski Dariusz (Pol) Banesto                       5.39
15 Yakovlev Serguei (Kaz) Besson Chasseures               6.05
16 Gougot Fabrice (Fra) Crédit Agricole                   6.08
17 Burrow Jamie (USA) US Postal Service                   6.17
18 Ekimov Viatcheslav (Rus) US Postal Service             6.24
19 Peron Andrea (Ita) Fassa Bortolo                       7.02
20 Jeker Fabian (Swi) Festina                             7.03