50th Vuelta a Colombia - 2.5

Colombia, June 11 - 26, 2000

Main page    Results    Previous stage

Stage 14 - June 24: Chía-Villa de Leyva, 157 km

Stage profile

Stage 14 Profile: © www.elcolombiano.com

Live Report

Chía, 9:30 a.m. (local time). Yesterday evening and this morning the riders boarded the buses that brought them from Soacha to Chía. Both are towns not far from Bogotá on the vast plateau that is called "La Sabana de Bogotá". The riders are finally dry after yesterday's stage which was contested practically the whole way in a miserable drizzle. At the finish line G.C. leader Palacio shook with cold waiting for his team vehicle. In a stage that several thought to threaten his tri-colored jersey, Palacio and company actually gained some time on 3rd and 4th. "Four kilometers from the finish line I saw that Mesa (Urbelino) and Rojas (Alexis) were tiring, so I told the boys to shake the tree", said Raúl Mesa, 05 Orbitel team manager. The few seconds gained on Mesa will give Palacio some space in tomorrow's trime trial.

Today's stage skirts that vast "sabana" (plateau). It is mostly flat, with a couple of stiff climbs to remind the riders they're in the mountains. The general feeling among the riders is that the last great test of Palacio's leadership will come tomorrow in the TT, while today will be one more chance for the sprinters.

Villa de Leiva 2:00 p.m. (local time). Jairo Pérez was not be denied today. Jairo Pérez (Aguardiente Néctar) who sustained a long breakaway in yesterday's stage and came in behind winner Rúber Albeiro Marín, went off on his own breakway today, winning today's stage. Minutes after his win he was awarded a personal computer by a local company, an unexpected prize for this win.

"It was raining again, but I felt good, and was able to put my experience into this win", he said in an interview on Caracol Radio. Yesid Camargo (Lotería de Boyacá) came in 2nd, at 1'06"; Daniel Rincón (05 Orbitel) third, Victor González 4th, and several minutes later the pelotón led by Rúber Marín (winner of yesterday's stage), and Raúl Montaña (Aguardiente Pérez). Palacio retained the tri-colored jersey, with no changes in the top three of the G.C.


1. Jairo Pérez (Col) Aguardiente Nectar	     	     3.56.35
2. Yesid Camargo (Col) Lotería de Boyacá		1.06
3. Daniel Rincón (Col) 05 Orbitel
4. Jorge González (Col) Mixto Tolima-05 Orbitel-LM-IS	2.53
5. Ruber Albeiro Marin (Col) Nectar-Selle Italia	5.25
6. Raul Montaña (Col) Aguardiente Nectar	
7. Alexis Rojas (Col) Aguardiente Cristal-Chec 
8. Ariel Martínez (Col) Aguardiente Antioqueño-LM
9. Giovanni Torres (Col) Mixto Tolima-05 Orbitel-LM-IS
10. Germán Ospina (Col) Aguardiente Antioqueño-LM

General classification after stage 14:

1. Héctor Iván Palacio (Col) 05-Orbitel      	    52.12.03   
2. Elder Herrera (Col) 05-Orbitel		 	1.09
3. Uberlino Mesa (Col) Lotería de Boyacá	 	3.46
4. Héctor Manuel Castaño (Col) 05-Orbitel	 	3.56
5. Dubán Ramírez (Col) 05-Orbitel		 	5.11
6. Alexis Rojas (Col) Aguardiente Cristal-Chec   	6.29
7. Julio César Aguirre (Col) 05-Orbitel		 	7.34
8. Jair Bernal (Col) Lotería de Boyacá		 	8.23
9. Federico Muñoz (Col) Ciclistas de Jesucristo        11.47
10. Ubaldo Meza (Col) Lotería de Boyacá 	       11.56