Cyclocross World Cup #4 - CDM

Zolder, Belgium, December 17, 2000

World Cup Standings     Results

Nijs, Kupfernagel on top in Zolder

After a tough last few months suffering from a knee injury, Belgian Sven Nijs finally came back to his best form to win the fourth World Cup race in Zolder, Belgium. Nijs beat the consistent Petr Dlask (Czech Republic) and Belgian Bart Wellens (Spaar Select), with Richard Groenendaal finishing behind Tom Vannoppen in 5th place.

Nijs had everything go his way on the fast, dry parcours and he led from the start, while Groenendaal suffered from mechanical problems on two occasions. Groenendaal was looking towards second place behind his trade teammate Nijs, when the second mishap occurred. Others had problems as well, such as Erwin Vervecken who lost nearly a minute, however Nijs said afterwards that he had "earned the win".

Groenendaal admitted it as well, saying that "Nijs was very strong and he earned the victory." However, he wasn't too happy with the crowd at Zolder, who were quite partisan and booed the Dutchman. "What do the people pay an entrance fee for in order to boo? This is professional sport."

Nevertheless, Groenendaal kept his comfortable lead on top of the World Cup table, with two races to come.

Only one rider was not allowed to start on Sunday: Frenchman Régis Duros. He recorded a hematocrit of over 50 percent and was given the standard 14 day suspension for health reasons. In total, 24 riders were blood tested from Slovakia, Great Britain, Denmark, France and Italy.

In the women's race, German Hanka Kupfernagel showed her form to win from Daphny van den Brand (Ned) and Louise Robinson (GBr). It was Kupfernagel's first win after confirming her contract with Farm Frites-Hartol last week, and she said that it had given her a positive effect. "I'm glad that everything is OK for the coming season. Now I can concentrate on cycling," she said.

Second placed Daphny van den Brand was similarly inspired. She will sign with Farm Frites this coming week.



1 Sven Nijs (Bel) Rabobank                 1.02.53
2 Petr Dlask (Cze) Czech Republic             0.05
3 Bart Wellens (Bel) Spaar Select             0.08
4 Tom Vannoppen (Bel) Vlaanderen 2002         0.15
5 Richard Groenendaal (Ned) Rabobank          0.28
6 Erwin Vervecken (Bel) RVS Liege             0.58
7 Arne Daelmans (Bel) Den Tip Vorselaar
8 Dominique Arnould (Fra)
9 Beat Wabel (Swi) K2 Pro Flex                1.30
10 Kipcho Volckaerts (Bel) Jonge Renners      1.42
11 Peter van Santvliet (Bel) Spaar Select
12 Luca Bramati (Ita)
13 Mario De Clercq (Bel) Domo-Farm Frites
14 Jiri Pospisil (Cze) Czech Republic
15 Wim De Vos (Ned) Spaar Select
16 Gerben De Knegt (Ned) Rabobank
17 Kamil Ausbuher (Cze) Czech Republic
18 Roland Schätti (Swi) GS Mephisto Romers
19 Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Mez Team
20 Björn Rondelez (Bel) Spar-Oki
21 Roger Hammond (GBr) Collstrop
22 Vaclav Jezek (Cze) Czech Republic
23 Henrik Djernis (Den)
24 Camiel Van Den Bergh (Ned) Van Vliet-Weba
25 Thomas Frischknecht (Swi)
26 Christian Heule (Swi) Post Swiss Team
27 Valeriano Vandelli (Ita)
28 Gretenius Gommers (Ned) WTC Woerden
29 Tadeusz Korzeniewski (Pol) Ekolog
30 Thomas Bonne (Den)
31 Radomir Simunek (Cze) Czech Republic
32 Igor Tavella (Ita)
33 Marc Janssens (Bel) Palmans
34 Stephen Knight (GBr) Great Britain
35 Robert Glajza (Svk)
36 Stephane Toffoletti (Ita)
37 Tobias Nestle (Ger)
38 Michael Baumgartner (Swi)

1 lap behind:

39 Matthew Ellis (GBr) Great Britain
40 Marek Cichosz (Pol)
41 David Derepas (Fra) Phonak
42 Tommy Nielsen (Den)
43 Pavel Medved (Svk)
44 Francis Mourey (Fra)

2 laps behind:

45 Jens Reuker (Ger)
46 Pawel Cierpikowski (Pol)
47 Daniusz Gil (Pol)
48 David Collins (GBr)
49 Radoslaw Czapla (Pol)
50 Vaclav Metlicka (Svk)

3 laps behind:

51 Gusty Bausch (Lux)
52 Christian Wasmer (Ger)


1 Hanka Kupfernagel (Ger)
2 Daphny van den Brand (Ned) Be One          0.56
3 Louise Robinson (GBr)
4 Inge Velthuis (Ned) Trek-Sjef van Bergen
5 Vermeiren (Bel)                            2.26
7 Debby Mansveld (Ned) Farm Frites-Hartol
8 Leijten (Ned)
9 Hormes-Ravenstein (Ned)
11 Elly van Boxmeer (Ned) Trek-Sjef van Bergen
13 Ilona Meter (Ned)
18 Heijnen (Ned)

World Cup standings after round 4:

1 Richard Groenendaal (Ned) Rabobank     205 pts
2 Bart Wellens (Bel) Spaar Select        173  
3 Erwin Vervecken (Bel) RVS Liege        150  
4 Mario De Clercq (Bel) Domo-Farm Frites 148  
5 Petr Dlask (Cze) Czech Republic        123  
6 Tom Vannoppen (Bel) Vlaanderen 2002    110
7 Sven Nijs (Bel) Rabobank               106