Ciclocross International Ermua - Cat. 2

Vizcaya-Ermua, Spain, December 8, 2000

Jezek pushes out Seco

Czech Vaclav Jezek upstaged local hope, David Seco Amundarain by winning the Ciclocross International de Ermua in Vizcaya-Ermua. It is the second time that Jezek has won the event, and his Czech teammates were a strong force, placing 3rd, 5th and 7th in the top 10.

Jezek dominated the race from the beginning, establishing a gap as soon as the gun went off which he grew each lap. David Seco, who hails from Vizcaya, suffered a puncture on the first lap, but recovered well to finish second eventually.

Mechanical failures also prevented Frenchman Regis Duros (winner of the Durana 'cross) from making a challenge. Also, Czech Kamil Ausbuher broke his right pedal after rolling a tyre when he was in second place. He still finished 5th. It looks like that the two pit changes allowed per lap by the UCI's new rules are finding some use.


Elite Men

1 Vaclav Jezek (Cze) Czech Repbublic      58.03
2 David Seco (Spa) Euskaltel-Kuips         1.02
3 Vladimir Kyzivap (Cze) Czech Repbublic   1.30
4 Wilant Van Gils (Ned) Uden               2.26
5 Kamil Ausbuher (Cze) Czech Repbublic     2.55
6 Josť Manuel Osuna (Spa) Spiuk            3.07
7 David Kasek (Cze) Czech Repbublic        3.29
8 Thijs Verhagen (Ned)                     3.34
9 Fran Mena (Spa) Spiuk-Bizkor             4.52
10 Zugaitz Ayuso (Spa) Orbea               5.22


1 Koldobika Agirre (Spa) Iberdrola        39.59
2 Marco Wesseling (Ned)                    0.42
3 Gerden De Vries (Ned)                    1.15

Results courtesy of Ciclismo en Espana