Main Page

- Live reports
- Stage profiles
- Climbs


Overall Map













55th Vuelta a España - Grand Tour

Spain, August 26 - September 17, 2000

Report & results   Past Winners    Previous Stage    Next stage

Stage 4 - August 29: Valdepeñas-Albacete, 159 km

Stage four is an undulating 159 kilometre haul from Valdepeñas to Albacete. This should be the chance for the sprinters so far to take a stage before the race takes an upward turn tomorrow.

Albacete has about 130,000 inhabitants is the most populous city of the Castilla La Mancha region. It is situated at nearly 700 metres above sea level on a vast plateau and is the capital of its province (total pop. 360,000). Its important economies are knives, timber and agricultural products.

Stage profile


Past Winners in Albacete

1942 Julian Berrendero (Spa)
1947 Delio Rodriguez (Spa)
1956 Miguel Poblet (Spa)
1961 José Peréz-Francis (Spa)
1973 Gerben Karstens (Ned)
1982 Domenique Arnaud (Fra)
1985 Sean Kelly (Irl)
1986 Jon Eguiarte (Spa)
1987 Sean (2) Kelly (Irl)
1988 Mathieu Hermans (Ned)
1989 Stefano Allochio (Ita)
1990 Uwe Raab (Ger)
1992 Djamolidin Abdujaparov (Uzb)
1993 Jean-Paul Van Poppel (Ned)
1996 Laurent Jalabert (Fra)
1999 Marcel Wüst (Ger)

Past winners by Mario Stiehl, Berlin


back to top