Results and Reports for December 12

US 'cross Nationals

Presidio, USA, December 11, 1999

Courtesy of Rich Wanninger

Colorado riders Alison Dunlap and Matt Kelly, successfully defended their national cyclo-cross championships on Saturday at the Saturn/United States Cycling Federation (USCF) Cyclo-Cross Championships at the Presidio in San Francisco.

Dunlap, who is second in the international women's mountain biking rankings, won her event in 43 minutes and 50 seconds to finish 15 seconds ahead of Ann Grande (Seattle, Wash.). Grande has won five of six races during the SuperCup Series, and is set to take out the overall points score by a big margin. In August, Dunlap also captured the national cross-country (mountain biking) title. With the victory, the 19996 road cycling Olympian earned a spot on the USA Cycling Women's World Championships squad. Next month marks the debut of women's cyclo-cross in world championship competition.

Meanwhile, Kelly, the reigning junior world champion, posted his second victory in as many weeks with a 35-second triumph over Justin Thompson (Avondale, Pa.) to win his second consecutive junior national cyclo-cross title. A year ago, Kelly became the first U.S. cyclo-cross world champion in the 50-year history of the event.

Marc Gullickson (Boulder, Colo.) held off late challenges from Bart Bowen (Albuquerque, N.M.) and Tim Johnson (Middleton, Mass.) to earn his inaugural USCF national cyclo-cross championship. Gullickson is the leader in the SuperCup point standings (10 points over Bowen) entering Sunday's finals. Johnson was crowed the national espoir (under-23) champion for the second successive year. He also won the bronze medal at the 1999 World Cyclo-Cross Championships in Slovakia.

Alicia Genst (Jamestown, R.I.) also captured her first national championship as she defeated a field of riders that included defending cyclo-cross champion Sarah Uhl (Perkasie, Pa.) and reigning road race titlist Allie Warfel (Millersville, Pa.).


Elite Women
1. Alison Dunlap (Team GT), Colorado Springs	 	       43.50
2. Ann Grande (Redline Racing), Seattle		  		0.15
3. Shari Kain (RLX Polo Sport), San Jose	  		0.49
4. Rachel Lloyd (Gary Fisher/SAAB), San Anselmo   		2.02
5. Carmen Richardson (Wheelworks/Cannondale), Colorado Springs	2.08
6. Ruthie Matthes (Trek/Volkswagen), Durango
7. Kathi Riggert (Independent Fabrication), Concord		3.10
8. Gina Hall (Clif Bar), Richmond 				3.26
9. Candy Angle (Bicycle Link), Weymouth				3.39
10. Jodi Groesbeck, Keene					3.48

Elite Men

1. Marc Gullickson, Boulder
2. Bart Bowen (Saturn), Albuquerque
3. Tim Johnson (CCB Volkswagen), Middleton
4. Mark McCormack (Saturn), N. Easton 
5. Frank McCormack (Saturn), Leicester
6. Peter Webber (Independent Fabrication), Boulder
7. Damon Kluck, Boulder
8. Justin Robinson (Voo Doo/Real Wheel), Santa Cruz 
9. Travis Brown (Trek/Volkswagen), Boulder 
10. Dale Knapp (Kona), Tacoma

Junior Women (16-18)

1. Alicia Genst (Richard Sachs), Jamestown		       46.00
2. Allie Warfel (Team grimace/Fuji), Millersville		1.31
3. Alice Pennington, Hood River					2.29
4. Megan Elliott (Abo Cycle Club), Tama 			2.59
5. Sarah Uhl, Perkasie						1 lap
6. Alyson Lowery, Salinas
7. Amy Lowry, Mertztown
8. Jody Sutton (Ritchey/SRAM), Calif

Junior Women (10-15)

1. Magen Long (Specialized), Oklahoma City 		       53.36

Junior Men (16-18)

1. Matt Kelly (Trek/Volkswagen), Colorado Springs              46.41
2. Justin Thompson (Team Devo), Avondale 			0.35
3. Toby Swanson (Rad Racing NW), Puyallup  			0.39
4. Alan Obye (Team Grimace), Mendon				0.40
5. Dustin Rademacher (CRCA/Hot Tubes), Mason			1.10
6. Josh Anthony (Essex County Velo), Beverly 			1.28
7. Dameion Donais (Redline), Seattle				1.36
8. Jeremy Vanschoohoven (, Williams			1.43
9. Sterling Magnell (Ritchey), Occidental			1.48
10. Walker Ferguson (Team Devo), Norwood			2.17

Junior Men (10-15)

1. Jesse Anthony (Essex County Velo), Beverly

Women's 'C'

1. Jennifer Wassif, Fresno				       37.22
2. Carrie Edwards, San Francisco				0.02
3. Tiffany Joy Espinosa, Santa Rosa				0.41	
4. Tracy Lea, Queen Anne					1.22
5. Kerry Combs, Wallingford					1.24
6. Heather Miller, San Francisco				2.13
7. Abby Cunningham, San Anselmo					2.32
8. Jessica Groen, Santa Cruz					3.00
9. Gerri Moriarty, Hudson					3.53
10. Elia Meza, San Francisco					1 lap